We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View the Atlantic from a cozy, clean room.”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“View the Atlantic from a cozy, clean room.”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I reserved a room from Friday night to Wednesday morning in September 2011. Our first night we decided to drive to a concert in Newberry SC and stayed in a room there. Upon arriving on Saturday morning at Tides Folly I had teased my husband stating that we were staying at Bob's Motel on the beach. Told him that it was only $30 per night and he kept asking if I was crazy. I told him that it was a family owned motel and that it was part of a Travelocity deal. He was really sweating bullets. When we arrived in town, drove down the adorable street leading into the tiny town and drove up to a gorgeous high-rise hotel. Slightly out of place for this party-hippy-vibe type town. It was like a ruby set on a gorgeous sterling silver ring. Both are gorgeous and stunning but put together makes for a beautiful combination.
We stopped at the end of Center Street after passing bars, hip eateries, souvenir shops, outdoor activities shops. Here gazing up at this high-rise, my husband (I think with a tear in his eyes said "Do we turn right or left?" I told him to drive straight ahead into the Tides parking lot.
He said "ARE YOU KIDDING". He was quite pleased not to be staying at Bob's Motel. He was more pleased to be staying at Tides Folly. The first person we encountered was Sara at the reservation desk. The room was ready and they were so pleasant and eager for us to be there. We went up and were very pleased with our room. The room was obviously recently renovated. The decor was contemporary and the view was incredible. It had a Juliet balcony which was just big enough to place a couple of chairs on it. The a/c ran great, they must keep the pet rooms separate from the regular rooms and if not there was absolutely no indication that pets had ever stayed in our room. All were non-smoking rooms to boot. The room had a wonderful flat screen TV, HBO, pay per view new movies, and a very informative channel related to the hotel, Charleston, Folly Beach and popular activities and restaurants. I had Sunday Brunch downstairs at the BLU. It was delish. I had never had Chantilly cream with berries. The food was varied and all was very delish. The only thing that the waitress had to do was to fill my water glass but evidently that was too much to handle. I deliberately left a minimal tip and when I went to the restroom I mentioned to her to please save my table and my water. Upon returning, the table was dirty and my water gone. No problem, I just moved outside to a pool side chair and asked for another water. This was the most negative moment of our stay. Since it was mid September it was less crowded on the beach and around the pool. There was a formal wedding on the beach that night. People swimming in the Atlantic. The pier next door was lit all night and was stunning. Room service was good. The room had a small fridge, a hair dryer and lots of large fluffy towels. The beds were soft and scrumptious. It was a wonderful stay, especially for the view and the nice treatment. Upon checking out, Miranda helped me with my flight check-in and boarding pass. All the people who worked at the hotel seemed very happy and were extremely professional and friendly. South Carolina, folly beach in particular has a friendly southern hospitality hotel with a gorgeous view of the Atlantic.

Room Tip: There is a flat $85 charge for a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
This is one of the most colorful reviews I believe I’ve ever read! Thank you for this contribution and for painting such a vivid picture of your vacation. We have all enjoyed reading it. Thank you for your compliments of our staff, Sara and Miranda specifically. They greatly appreciate your recognition of their efforts. We’re happy that you found your room to be so comfortable, clean and cozy. Thank you for dining with us at Blu Restaurant and Bar and please accept our apologies for providing a level of service unequal to that of the rest of your stay. I sincerely hope we will have another opportunity to WOW you in every facet of your next trip to the Edge of America. Should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail, I encourage you to contact us directly and we will be happy to hear your story again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    421
    195
    89
    58
See reviews for
480
517
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is located on a really expanisve beach, and all the rooms are oceanview. Folly Beach is a really small beach community with shops and restaurants along one main street that ends at the hotel. The second largest fishing pier on the east coast is next to the hotel. The hotel staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is pleasant and moderate overall. It's restaurant, Blu, is really upscale. The food is a bit pricey, but it is absolutely excellent as they have an incredibly good chef. We happened to be there the one Thursday a month they have their "chef's selection". They paired fine wines with various small courses throughout the evening. It was an awesome experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us at Tides Folly Beach! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to contribute such a fine review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled you had the opportunity to experience our monthly Mercy of the Chef event and we hope your endorsement will encourage others to not only stay at Tides Folly Beach on their vacation but to try our Blu during their stay as well. Thank you, again, and we look forward to being your hotel of choice on your next visit to the Lowcountry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was very impressed with The Tides on Folly beach. We usually stay on isle of palms and we decided to take a last minute trip. The hotel we usually stay at on Isle of Palms was really high and did not have any Ocean front rooms. The tides was wayyy cheaper so i was a bit apprehensive. Its a much better hotel at a way better rate. It has awesome beach access and a nice pool area with big loungers and all the towels you need around the pool. The restaurant is ocean front and the prices are good! The room was clean and spacious. The only thing i wish it had that it didnt was a jacuzzi. But You cant beat the price or the location. We walked across the street to a great restaurant the first night with live music. Had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylutz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for making Tides Folly Beach your beachfront hotel of choice on your recent visit to the Lowcountry and for writing this glowing review on Tripadvisor! We are very happy that you got to experience all the various amenities at the hotel, including Blu Restaurant & Bar, as well as the town of Folly Beach. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We chose this hotel because it was the only pet friendly, oceanfront hotel we could find close to Charleston. We have stayed at many "pet friendly" hotels because we travel alot with our little dog and I have to say this was the most pet and people friendly hotel we have ever stayed at!! Most of hotels that offer pet friendly accommodations, we have found, would rather you not to have your pet in the lobby or in front of the hotel which we can understand because there are some people who do not like animals so we always felt like we had to hide and rush our little one in and out of the building. Not at the Tides. We tried to use the side door whenever possible as to not to disturb other guests but when we did use the main lobby, we were always greeted by someone at the desk and asked about our dog. I cannot tell you how wonderful that made us feel. YOUR STAFF IS GREAT!! The only problem we had at the hotel was the parking. Some nights we had to park on the street because lot was full. I was going to give a rating of 4 stars because of the lack of parking but I cannot because of, once again, THE STAFF. You have a wonderful group of employees and if I could, I would give them 10 stars!! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_Byrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! It was a pleasure having you, your husband and your little Yorkie stay with us at Tides Folly Beach. I have passed along your compliments to our entire team and they were excited to receive such high praise!

For the problems you experienced in finding a parking space, we sincerely apologize. Should you or any future guest reading this review have difficulties finding a parking space at any time during your visit, please pull into our lot and come to the front desk. One of our staff members will be more than willing to locate a parking space for you.

Again, it was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to your next visit to the Edge of America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was our first time with a water front ocean view room. Great. Everyone is so nice and helpful. FYI-pets are aloud at this hotel, but you wouldn't know it because you never hear any of them. The lobby is great to look at. Ideally set on the large flat clean beach. This is the main reason you come to this hotel is for the location. There are lifeguards right there. Bring towels for the beach (Walmart is about 10 mins away) The towels the hotel offers are more like hand towels to prevent theft I would believe. And while you are there EAT at the hotel restaurant - The Blu. EVERYTHING is great at a great price. The chef even served us at our table. 5 star restaurant at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Bring a blanket or towels for the beach. Request a room above the 4th floor to get the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princes4me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write such a great review of Tides Folly Beach and Blu Restaurant! We are all very grateful that your first memory of an oceanfront room is with us and we look forward to making memories with you for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

There were pluses and minuses to staying at this hotel, the only one on Folly. The room was refurbished but rooms and bathroom could have been cleaner (dirt on bathroom door and dried shower gel on shower curtain). Overall cheerful room and always nice to have a balcony view. Restaurant food was good though the choices have been cut down considerably. I'd been to the restaurant before and was sad to see that although there are online menus for Blu and even the room menu advertises the Shrimp Bruschetta with lemoncello, we were informed it has been taken off the menu. Lots of areas to enjoy the beach view so that was nice. You have to fend for yourself with parking and it was sometimes hard to find a spot as they alow non guests to use the parking lot at the expense of guest convenience. You also have to pay for the lounge chairs on the beach-$25 for two loungers and an umbrella run by another company-these guys were very accommodating, respectful and nice!!! We had one experience where we had eaten out and then taken a walk on the beach with the idea of having dessert at the restaurant when we returned. We returned to an empty restaurant that was open, however the hostess stated we would have to sit at the bar or in the lounge and that they were expecting a party later in the night, also she remarked that their servers were very busy and could we just sit in the lounge and they would come serve us. They seemed annoyed at our request! We went to the lounge area and waited 20 minutes but they had obviously forgotten about us so we left, no other party arrived in that amount of time and we would have been finished with dessert by this time had they allowed us to stay. Upon leaving they did not apologize or offer to assist us. My husband complained to the front desk staff who were sympathetic and offered to have dessert sent to our rooms. Sunday Brunch-food was good however "hot" foods were cold and wait staff tentative and unsure of themselves. Biggest complaint would be the choice and volume of music they had near the bar. One night was rap and hip hop focused and all nights the music was so loud you could hear it down the beach. We had to lower the a/c to ensure we would not wake up to a racket! Although we and others complained about the noise, nothing was done about it. Having said that, before the "entertainment" started, they had lovely chilled out music playing at the bar and pool/lounge area that was very nice and more suited to the location. Attention seems to be paid more to surface than details and I really hope they spring for new elevators as they sound like they are about to snap!

Room Tip: Don't go on major holidays as there are no deals on rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenedreammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for making Tides Folly Beach your hotel of choice during your recent trip to the Charleston area. We are very happy that you found your accommodations comfortable and that you enjoyed your view.

It is our goal at Tides Folly Beach and Blu Restaurant to exceed the expectations of all our guests and to provide unparalleled service in all areas of our hotel. We regret that we fell short of this goal with our service at the restaurant. All matters mentioned in this review have been addressed with the appropriate departments. I encourage the author of this review to contact us directly to discuss any further details.

Parking is for guests of the hotel only. Unfortunately, even given our best efforts and security precautions over the holiday weekend, some people parked in our lot without our knowledge. Based on the feedback from this holiday weekend, we will be moving future bands further away from the rooms where noise will not be an issue. We sincerely apologize to all the guests that were inconvenienced by the music and/or parking situations over the holiday weekend.

Thank you, again for choosing to stay at Tides Folly Beach and we sincerely hope to earn your business again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Lovely hotel - good location close to all - friendly staff - nice tiki bar - every room w/ an ocean view.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clipper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Lovely review – thank you for your compliments – looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 5 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing