We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weather, great area.”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weather, great area.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel was extremely helpful with all of our needs, and the staff was wonderful. One of the best family vacations we've had. Plenty of action and activities all around the place. Love the proximity to the beach and area restaurants. We've been coming here for years and each time it gets better and better.

Room Tip: Elevators are used a bit. If you can be on 1 or 2, it's easier to hustle in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for continuing to vacation on Folly Beach and for making Tides your home-away-from-home. Thank you for your compliments of our entire staff and know we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    426
    200
    91
    60
See reviews for
485
523
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we got a 2nd floor room. Seemed clean and nice. Took a nap woke up to a 2inch size palmetto bug in the bathroom. The staff came right up and helped out killing the bug! They sprayed the room and we left while they did it. Next day they moved us up to the 9th floor saying that the bugs get into the rooms on the lower floors. Well we are now on the 9th floor on our last night and walked into the room with two new inch long bugs hiding in the bathroom! Don't know if I would come here again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank NJMotherof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Pest control is of the utmost importance to us at Tides Folly Beach. Having exterior corridors presents unique challenges but our on-site standards and external contractors are very diligent with their efforts. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience and know, despite the experience of the author of this review, this is not the standard to be expected at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We decided that this was a good half way point from South florida and NY. I drove with my daughter from south florida, my sis is flying from NY. So far so good. Beautiful view of the ocean. The staff is very nice. Great location from downtown and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
I am very happy that the three of you had such a great time during your visit. Thank you for sharing the start of your experience here and we hope to be your half-way hotel of choice during future reunions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What could have been a five star rating for a wonderful stay in the funky fun paradise called Folly Beach was lost in the ebb of The Tides. The lovely lobby became our home for over an hour as we arrived at 3 PM as instructed to find that check in would really be by 4:15 - guaranteed. Upon arriving at our room in the only, very slow, stuffy elevator working for three days straight, we had to laugh at our balcony which was actually more a ledge with a railing. It had no furniture, and the railing is unsecured at the top so that one certainly should not lean against it. The bathroom had no vent fan to whisk away dampness, and needed additional hooks for hanging towels. The AC was either insufficient during the day or frigid at night. The room needed an area rug at the entry, or a swiffer sweeper to control sand which inevitably sneaks into the room. Securing the room from sand was not our greatest worry. The door to our room had obviously had the locking mechanism replaced at some time in the past so that the door would close, but not be locked without pulling the door into the frame with some effort. We were so concerned that the door would not be secured, we limited the days our room was cleaned and rechecked the room when cleaned to make sure the room was actually secure. The bed was adequate, but not really comfy. The internet only worked half the time we were there which was quite inconvenient as both my husband and son had business to conduct. One night we tried to watch a movie, but the system was defunct. The limited parking kept us from venturing out except at hours we thought would return us to the hotel before spaces ran out. The pool also needs a bit more care during the course of the day to filter out hair and other debris which accumulated to the point of nuisance. So needless to say, these details detracted significantly from our usual enchantment with anything Folly Beach.
To the credit of The Tides, I will heartily endorse their location within walking distance of all that Folly Beach has to offer (except the Lighthouse, of course). The restaurant with its beach side seating is a pleasant spot for a grand buffet or a simple parfait for breakfast. The pool side service (which would generate a great deal more money if the staff would circulate and offer beverages and food), was a relaxing location for delicious sandwiches for lunch. The outdoor bar actually served passable Mai Tais with music on Fri. and Sat. nights. Access to the beach with wave riders, surf lessons, and life guards is exceptional.
I would particularly like to commend maintenance as they promplty resolved a threatening plumbing issue. I should also mention the staff checking us into the parking lot as very welcoming and engaging. Otherwise, staff was polite and helpful when asked, but not particularly friendly, engaging, or informative. Let's hand out a flyer on the week's activities or suggest the outdoor bar for a drink while we wait for the room. Or how about setting up some ice water with lemons as we all wander in waiting for our rooms after long, hot drives? Just a little TLC and attention to details could turn The Tides into a coveted experieince. As for my family, we would stay here again if other ocean front accommodations were not available, but we will not be expecting paradise!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and have excellent ocean views from the room. If you choose to be near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JmlJourneyJots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel location was excellent, the staff was friendly and courteous but had to say "sorry for the inconvenience" to many times, and the cleanliness of the room was acceptable although we had to ask that the room be cleaned earlier than 4:00 on our first day. The hotel itself was old, the noise level between the rooms was much to loud, the elevators were either not working or extremely slow, the beds were hard and uncomfortable...for the rate we paid I would have expected them to be at least as comfortable as a Hampton Inn...they were not. The hotel has obviously updated fixtures, art, and appointments in the room but would have been better served to put your money into the function and comfort of the room rather than its appearance. Unfortunately we will not be recommending this hotel to any of our friends and we wont be staying with you again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dsvalois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent vacation and for you compliments of our location, décor and especially our staff. I appreciate your feedback and your candor regarding your stay. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations during your trip. Unfortunately we did meet with some unusual challenges during your visit but we will use those experiences as learning opportunities and continue to make improvements for all our future visitors. It is my hope that the author of this review will reconsider giving us a second opportunity, perhaps in the off-season when rates are lower. Should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail, I encourage you to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very enjoyable stay at the Tides. Exceptional staff involvement beginning with initial arrival in the parking area thru reception hospitality and housekeeping. In the center of activity!! Great amenities: pool, dining, and easy beach access.

Room Tip: Request upper floors for unrestricted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chappie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Happy Belated Birthday! Thank you for celebrating with us at Tides and for your compliments of our staff and town. I am very happy to hear that you had such a great time and we look forward to many celebrations to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

All the employees we encountered while staying here were exceptionally friendly and made you feel like a member of their community. They were always smiling and very helpful. The whole area is very pet friendly and to me that is a plus. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff’s efforts in making your stay at Tides Folly Beach a memorable experience! Thank you for your endorsement and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you on future visits to Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
431 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Property: Tides Folly Beach
Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing