We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tides Folly Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Our experience began with Matt who checked us in with friendliness, fervor, and efficiency, and found my misplaced glasses for me!) ( he also located a bottle opener for us. We were however disappointed to find out that our request to have adjoining rooms with the others in our party was not met. First ding. We got to our room, and were disappointed at the drab surroundings. Paint chipping from the one picture on the wall, cigarette burns in the chairs upholstery, and only half a roll of toilet paper. However, all was forgiven when opening up the sliders to the Atlantic Ocean and vast sunshine! The pool was lovely and heated, with these awesome little canopies. We then had dinner at Blu, this was the absolute highlight. Even though service was slow, our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu offerings. FABULOUS meal at an affordable price.
The shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor which was problematic, we used every towell available to sop it up.
Sunday brunch was a real treat and made us forget about the room problems, We ate on the ourdoor patio, every thing we had was just simply perfect! The Bloody Mary bar was also a real treat. Very friendly and capable service.
The room was much to be desired but overall I would come back for the food and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tides Folly Beach. At Tides Folly Beach it is our goal to exceed your expectations. We regret that we fell short of this reviewer’s expectations but encouraged that they will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves on a future visit. I have, personally, passed along you compliments to Matt and the managers and staff of Blu Restaurant & Bar. We are all pleased that, despite setbacks, you were happy with the food and the level of service you received.

We pride ourselves on being able to accommodate the majority of special requests made by our guests. Unfortunately, in this case, we were unable to fulfill the request for adjoining rooms. On the day of this guest’s arrival, we did not have adjoining rooms available. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Adjoining rooms cannot be guaranteed as they are very limited but we were able to get the rooms as close together as possible.

We have researched and addressed the housekeeping and engineering issues expressed in this review and have slated these rooms for the next phase of our room renovation project that will be completed by February 16 of this year. Upon completion, all rooms will have new paint, artwork, carpet, mini fridges, TV’s, chairs, tables, beds, lamps, alarm clocks, the works!

I encourage the author of this review to contact us directly with any additional feedback and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next visit to the all new Tides Folly Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,365 - 1,371 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

What a wonderful destination location! We recently went to Charleston on business, but are going back for vacation! We had a great room; clean and spacious, with the most gorgeous view! The beach is fabulous, but even more wonderful were the staff, so pleasant and extremely accommodating. The hotel has a lovely restaurant, and there are plenty of shops and eating places within a moment's walking distance. As you enter the lobby, the view literally takes your breath away... Can't wait for our return trip!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleyann24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Thank you, very much, for writing this fabulous review! Thank you, also, for posting pictures from your visit. I have passed along your compliments to our hotel and restaurant staff and we are all very happy that you had such a wonderful time. We can’t wait for your return trip to Folly Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I will preface this review by saying if you're expecting a 5 star hotel then keep on going. With that said, we had a great weekend here and will definately be back. You walk into a funky lobby with a fun atmosphere. We were met with a big smile from Matt. He was wonderful and a great representative for the hotel. He checked us in quickly and was sure to tell us his name and asked that we call him in the event of problems. The rooms were fine. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. No great shakes when you first walk in the room, but all you have to do is slide open the curtains, open the sliders, and take that first deep breath of ocean air. The view makes the room. We slept with the sliders open (January....chilly but we kept the heat up). Waking up to the sound of the waves is the best way to wake up. We were exhausted Saturday night and called for room service from Blu. It was delivered in a timely manner and the prices were competitive with room service at other hotels. The small strip in Folly Beach is adorable with great local restaurants nearby. We will definately return! The young lady who checked us out was awesome! I'm sorry to say I may not be remembering her name right :( I think it was Melinda (red hair....if you're reading this and it's you and you're name is not Melinda I'm sorry....you were great!)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimNCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience. Matt, Miranda, and the room service staff from Blu Restaurant & Bar are particularly proud to have made such a wonderful impression with you during your visit. We are looking forward to the opportunity to be of service to you on all your future visits to Charleston and Folly Beach and remember, the next time you stay, you will be staying in our newly remodeled rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at the Tides Folly Beach for our family vacation this year it was wonderful. The front desk staff is quick, friendly and very helpful. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Our room was comfortable and clean and we loved the fact that the hotel is right on the beach. So, it is very convenient. The lobby is beautifully decorated and we enjoyed sitting on the couches, having a drink and looking out at the ocean. We plan to go back many times.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsizemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff and we look forward to seeing you and your family many times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My wife and I wanted to see Charleston, SC and decided that it would be fun to stay at the beach. After researching a little we settled on the Tides at Folly Beach as our destination. We were impressed by the location of the hotel and the amazing oceanfront rooms. The Blu restaurant was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We understood that the hotel is undergoing some extensive renovations which are not all complete, but for us the hotel atmosphere was wonderful and the hotel seemed to have a 60's era charm with a modern classy feel. The Folly beach pier is directly behind the hotel and we enjoyed walking out on it. On Saturday we watched dolphins swimming and on Sunday we enjoyed watching some surfers. We traveled five hours from NC to the hotel with no real expectations of what to expect, so when everything goes well it makes you appreciate it when staff and management really care about the guests and work hard to earn a great reputation.
My hats off to the Tides.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvardlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2010

Thank you for this amazing review! It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay and we are all very pleased to have contributed to your fond memories of Folly Beach. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This was a perfect place to go with my family and spend several nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. I have never been treated with more kindness from any staff anywhere than at Tides. Everything was great with the room and all the facilities. The oceanfront view was amazing. The amenities were all I expect and more. Additional services and food were excellent. There was a family-friendly atmosphere and the location was close to anything we wanted. The rate was less than I would have expected for the Charleston area. I will definitely go back and make this my preferred hotel on future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffkross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for the wonderful review! We enjoyed having you and your family stay and experience the Thanksgiving Holiday with us at Tides Folly Beach. I will be sure to relay your kind words to our entire staff and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Our room was clean but it was small, two doubles beds, a TV and couple of chairs. No major problems but many small things that added up. According to their website they said the rooms were remodeled. That's not exactly true, some of the rooms were remodeled. They tried to put us in an old room but we asked for a remodeled room. We were put on the 8th floor, which was OK but the water pressure was terrible while taking a shower. We chose this hotel because they advertised an outdoor heated pool. When we arrived the pool was not heated and they said the heating unit was broken. They have a nice outdoor bar but they only sell alcohol no appetizers or food. They advertised free wireless interent but it was so slow in our room I had to go to the lobby to use my laptop.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TidesFollyBeachGM, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2010

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and thank you very much for choosing to spend part of this holiday season with us. At Tides Folly Beach it is always our goal to provide excellent customer service in an environment that can be considered a home away from home. We regret that we did not have an opportunity to address and correct, in person, the issues this particular guest had during their stay. I encourage the author of this review to contact us directly with any future concerns or suggestions with how we can improve the experiences of all our guests.

Our property underwent a multi-million dollar renovation in the winter of 2008-2009. All the guest common areas and our restaurant were renovated. The foyers into the guest rooms as well as the guest bathrooms were also remodeled to reflect tile floors, granite countertops, and curved shower rods for extra bathing space in the tubs. Our website does not advertise a full renovation of all guest rooms. We currently have only two fully renovated rooms. Beginning January 3, 2011, Tides Folly Beach is very excited to begin the full renovation of all remaining guest rooms where we will install new carpeting, beds, art work, mini-fridges, desks, lamps, 32” flat screen TV’s, the works!

After checking with our chief engineer about potential water pressure problems on the upper floors of our hotel, we determined that the issue was actually with the water saver plates installed in the shower heads. The water saver plates are designed to be environmentally friendly but can be uninstalled upon request.

While the guest pool is neither a Jacuzzi nor a hot tub, it is heated year round. Unfortunately, the heating element was damaged during this guest’s stay. We apologize, not only to this guest, but to all guests that may have been affected while the heating element was under repair. The heating unit has been repaired and is working properly.

I was surprised to hear of the problems regarding our outdoor bar and food service. Aside from our Thanksgiving Day buffet and occasional special events or seasonal activities, our outdoor bar serves the same lunch and dinner menu as our dining room. Our kitchen is open daily from 7 am until 10 pm. Our outdoor bar will remain open after 10 pm depending on volume but will serve only drinks after the kitchen is closed.

The issues regarding our complimentary wireless internet have been shared with us by other guests and we are working with our internet provider as well as our technical support team to correct these problems for current and future guests.

Thank you; again, for taking the time to contribute a Tripadvisor review and we look forward to being your hotel of choice on future visits to our city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
9.6 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
12.6 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
465 reviews
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
12.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holliday inn Folly Beach
Holliday inn Folly Beach
#4 of 4 in Folly Beach
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range: £98 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nine miles from historic downtown Charleston, Tides Folly Beach is located along one of south's most beautiful beaches, offering breathtaking views and a laid back vibe. Tides is the ideal destination for your next Charleston beach vacation, wedding or get-together with friends, family or business associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing