We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food good, servers pathetic”

Loggerhead's Beach Grill
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Loggerhead's is "The Spot" on Folly Beach where locals and tourists meet to enjoy food, drink and themselves in a fun laid back atmosphere. We focus on fresh local seafood prepared to order with fair prices. Enjoy the smoke free dining room or relax on the new deck, complete with an awesome open air bar and views of the Atlantic Ocean.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“food good, servers pathetic”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The food is pretty good at this location. The servers are poor at best although they do smile and apologize for all of their goofs.
Our family won't be spending any money there again. At higher prices (expected and ok at the beach) you would expect quality service. This owner really needs to revaluate his staff. My opinion, Pathetic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BOSSDOUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    155
    56
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot at Folly Beach”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This restaurant was directly across the street from the home we rented so of course we had to try it. The conch fritters as an appetizer are a good choice--cooked perfectly. I had the shrimp hoagie and it is the best I have ever had--big perfectly fried shrimp on a bed of perfect lettuce. The hoagie roll was so soft and fresh when usually you have to fight with the bread. My husband had the crabcake meal and of course I had to taste that crabcake because it looked so good--and it was very good quality. Now it does get kind of rowdy in the late evening over there with a full bar and live music so if that's not your thing then just go enjoy the place for lunch:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice upper deck bar that is pet friendly. Nice view of the ocean as you can see it through the parking area of the resort next door. Our bartender, Meredith, was also very nice and did a pretty good job of remembering our names as we had a party of eleven!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryB172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Local bar with good food.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place is across the street from where we stay when at Folly Beach. So location is good for us.food is better than expected from a bar. Mussels were from PEI, also had clams and oysters on their board. Good burgers. The patio was too crowded so we ate inside this time. Definitely more fun on patio, but lots of TV inside for sports. A band was setting up inside when we left so I'm sure it livened up in there. Service was slow but it seems like it always is. Good burgers great margaritas! We always go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1051carolinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly place with great fish and nice patio”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our dinner on the patio where our dog was welcomed and pampered with water and his own salad! Flounder dinner delish except would ask for lemon and pepper next time becuz Old Bay seasoning way too salty. Linguine with clams excellent -- full of whole clams in the shell plus lots of chopped fresh clams and a palate-pleasing white wine sauce. Fried Oreos with vanilla ice cream were the piece de resistance!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BGElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loggerhead's Beach Grill also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Loggerhead's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing