We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and good!”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun and good!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I looked up restaurants on google and it said this was one of the best. We were staying at the Tides hotel so it wasn't but a few blocks from there. It was really good. I had shrimp and scallops and they were cooked just right. My husband had the whole flounder and it was huge but it must have been good because all I saw was bones when he finished. Really fun atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krashzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you!! Our mission is simple. Build relationships & Exceed expectations in a fun relaxed atmosphere. So glad that ya'll enjoyed the seafood and we hope to be able to serve you and your husband on your next visit. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    333
    141
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lenni, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great $10 specials/ awesome Crabby Mary”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stopped in Folly Beach's Crab Shack, and had a great lunch. I was very impressed with their Crabby Mary, which came with a Snow Crab leg as a garnish! Their Mahi Mahi basket was one of their lunch specials, and was very good. Jack had a Palmetto lager and their Calabash basket. Beachy atmosphere, good food, and a nice beer selection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandcastlelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review! The Crabby Mary was our way of taking a classic Bloody Mary and giving it a Crab Shack twist. Crab legs & Bloody Mary's are amazing together. So glad that you were able to enjoy our two for 20.14 deal, we do that every January to show our appreciation for our loyal guests! Thanks again & we hope to see you again soon! Ron Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Catfish bites & whole fried flounder”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The "SHACK" on Folly knocked one out of the ballpark as the catfish bites appetizer along with whole fried flounder were "DELISH" Keep up the good work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Bart, Thanks for taking the time to let us now about your visit. It means so much to me and our team to hear that you and your guests enjoyed everything. The whole fried flounder and the Mahi bites are two of the local's favorite items. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Folly Beach. Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“We ate like pigs!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This food was so good and our waitress was outstanding that we just ate ourselves silly! The bloody mary bar was super yummy and crazy cheap...I had two. My brother-in-law has never waited tables and always runs the wait staff ragged to the point of table embarrassment. I am pleased to report that our gal was polite and very accommodating to his every ridiculous request and "emergency" need. I have seen many eye rolls and deep sighs from other servers when he gets cranked up!
Make sure to check Yelp because this place offered a free crab dip when you checked in with the app. Yummo...and free!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisherrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words! I will pass them along to all our team members. It's our culture to serve with a servants heart. I personaly love the "Make your own Bloody Mary Bar" We hope you see you again soon! Working on a new brunch menu now:) Sincerely, Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food once again!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff is always friendly and helpful at this place. The prices are OK and the food terrific! I had the shrimp and grits, which was delectable! My wife had a crab cake and a cup of she-crab soup: delicious! Good beer selection, too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you not only once, but twice!!! Most people will stop and write a review if they are not pleased, few will write when it is great, but you took the time to let us know about both your visits! So glad that ya'll enjoyed everything so much! Please let us know the next time you are visiting. follybeach@crabshacks.com We look forward to serving you and your family again soon. Sincerely, Ron & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing