We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Folly Beach Crab Shack - Southern Living Was Right”

Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Relaxed laid back Island Restaurant. Featuring Local Grilled, Steamed & Fried Seafood! Outside Dining & Raw Bar. Voted # 1 by Folly Beach Local's & Voted Best Seafood Spot, Southern Living Magazine,2012. Live Steel Drums every Thursday night! Relax, Slow down, It's Folly Beach!
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you're looking for great seafood at the Edge of America, look no further than the Crab Shack on Center Street. The atmosphere is open, beachy & welcoming, with friendly service, nightly entertainment & an eclectic mix of islanders, Charleston locals, day-trippers & out-of-state tourists. Oh & the oyster shots are fun, too. Enjoy... \m/

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I will pass along your kind words to all our team members. Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,004 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you want excellent seafood this is the restaurant for you. Casual atmosphere, indoor and outdoor seating, menu offers something for every appetite. Love the fried platters and steam buckets. My husband loves the red rice instead of fries. We've been going to Folly for about five years. This is the first restaurant we tried and we go back every trip, every meal is prepared to perfection, portions are good and seafood is fresh..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank nstabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We are so glad that ya'll enjoyed everything so much and look forward to serving ya'll again on your next visit to Folly! Safe travels, Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The first place we ever ate in Folly Beach at 9 PM after a horrible flight was the perfect antidote to real life, exhuastion, and flagging spirits. At the bar, Elizabeth made us a "special pink drink" to lift our spirits, and then we were whisked away to our "bucket" table outside to the sound of music we actually knew and enjoyed! Our food was Southern perfection, and was followed by an oreo dessert which transcended reality. What a great beginning to the fun of Folly Beach!

3  Thank JmlJourneyJots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much! I am so proud of my staff (Family) Elizabeth is awesome as well as my whole staff that shares my passion. We love serving others and it shows in this review. I will pass along your kind words and we hope to see you again soon. Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved eating at the Crab Shack. The owner ,Ron, was very friendly as well as the whole staff. meal was great. Will defiantly go back as often as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kholland74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks so much for your review! We look forward to serving you again soon! Looks like you live on Folly, you should check out our Local Loyalty program. You should also join our local table. You will meet the best people on Folly. Sincerely, Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have been vacationing at Folly about 16 years and we always go to the Crab Shack. Had about 20 people, adults and children, in our party. Tables were quickly rearranged to accommodate our large group. Orders were taken and drinks and appetizers were quickly delivered. Food was very good. We had crab cakes, calamari, shrimp and grits, fried seafood platter, seafood boil, She bCrab soup, and mushrooms stuffed with crab meat. One person ordered a cheese burger as she does not eat seafood. Shrimp in shrimp and grits were large and customer would have preferred smaller shrimp. Because our group was large we went at 5:30 pm to beat the crowd. There was a line when we left. Can't wait until next year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed everything so much! What a great family tradition, with everyone enjoying folly beach. We are proud to be a small part of your vacation. It's all about Making Memories! We hope to serve you and your family again next year! Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing