We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secret oasis...”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“secret oasis...”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for a little "get away". I must admit, it was very hard to leave. Everything about the Inn was perfect! <3 Getting up in the morning was a task because the beds & bedding were so comfortable, but we knew there was a delicious hot breakfast waiting to be consumed in the common dining area. Everyone we came across made our stay even better. The staff and other guests were easy and enjoyable to talk with. If you want to explore around Folly they have beach cruisers and a golf cart shuttle. They start a happy hour at 4 and it runs until 7. Did I mention it's free?! They have the usual wine and beer- but they also have a delicious punch they make daily that is out of this world! Snacks and finger foods are provided as well- it almost makes you not want to leave the place at all. The only disappointment I had with the place was not staying longer. Definitely recommending this place to everyone!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thanks Jessica!! We are so glad you enjoyed Water's Edge Inn. We really enjoy it as well. The beds are heavenly and dressed in Egyptian Cotton. Thank you for posting your experience, it means a lot to us and people do book based on reading these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    62
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
396
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. agustine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The website makes it seem like a different place than it actually is. The house itself is cramped by other houses on all sides - it is NOT on the water - and the prices are ridiculous for what you get. A very small room. If you want folley beach the Tides is right on the ocean and cheaper. This is more of a B&B, but the location is not good.
Staff were great. I hate to give a bad review because they were so nice, but you can do a lot better around charleston. Over priced - terrible location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brokebroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
We are located on the marsh and within walking distance to the Atlantic Ocean (less than5 blocks). The main street is one block away with plenty of restaurant options and night life. We are located in the City of Folly Beach, a 20 minute drive to the heart of downtown Charleston. We offer complimentary parking, breakfast and three hours of happy hour. We offer beer, wine, our famous Folly Punch and a daily spread of delicious food selections. Our staff is well trained, friendly and talented. I think you were looking to stay in a hotel located indowntown Charleston based on your comments. The prices downtown are double what you paid and parking is not included. We are an Inn, not a typical hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Beautiful rooms in a quiet and romantic setting. Comfortable design, large bathrooms, good breakfast and super friendly and attentive staff. Our only regret was staying one night! Will definitely stay here again our next time in Folly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
All repeat guests get a 10% discount on future bookings. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We went on a trip through low country for my husband's birthday and this was by far our favorite place we stayed. Our room was beautiful. The staff was fantastic. When they found out it was his birthday, they sent a bottle of champagne up to the room. We LOVED the beach cruiser bikes they provided and biked to the beach every day. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Wow, thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so happy you chose Water's Edge Inn and enjoyed the bikes and champagne. Return guests get 10% off. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I have come to the Water's Edge Inn every year since 2008 and we fell in love with the place our first year. Since that time, we've felt that the quality has decreased slightly each year and the prices have increased. Being from Charleston, we had toyed with not going to the Water's Edge this year and spending our money elsewhere, but because of tradition, we booked a room. I am happy that we did, becuase we enjoyed our stay so much -- staff were pleasant, the happy hour was great, and the breakfast was good -- although I think the quality could improve if it's going to continue to be marketed as a "B & B". Our room was clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Thanks for a great stay -- we will be back next year!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Local3835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Happy Anniversary!! Thank you for staying with us for your special occasion. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your repeat business. Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay, happy hour and breakfast. If you have any special requests for your your next stay, please e-mail: info@innatfollybeach.com or call 843-588-9800 prior to your arrival. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was a beautiful place, very nice theme and ambiance, warm courteous staff, and an ideal location. This is a hard review to write for me since my guest and I differ on our opinion. I thought it was nice as a hotel, but did not fit my numerous experiences of a Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Caribbean room and I found it difficult to sleep at night having to listening to the guests in the attic above us using their bathroom and hearing them pee, flush, walk, and converse as if they were right in our room all night long. Apparently I'm not the only one who has experienced this since, there was a white noise system in our room playing ocean waves all the time. My guest however did not notice this since she is a sound sleeper unlike me. We both found the balcony, beautiful decor, grounds, and scenery very nice and well thought out. It's obvious that the management has worked hard at trying to make this a good experience for their guests. It would have been a perfect 3 day stay had the top floor (attic) not been used. Surprisingly I would still return and enjoy this wonderful Inn. I would; however, come equipped with a set of earplugs for my own sleeping comfort. I especially enjoyed listening to Jimmy Buffet when we opened our balcony door. Also thought the 4:00 punch to be a really nice touch and very fitting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmerkel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for your review. It was nice to meet you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. The ocean sound in the room comes off the clock radio and can be turned off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from three night stay and overall it was pleasant -- the young ladies staffing the Inn were very nice, but we would label it more of a small hotel than a B and B. Breakfast was pretty much microwaved frozen food, not real tasty. Rooms were nice and the location is convenient to both Charleston and the beach. All in all, a nice place with nice people, but if you are looking for a true B and B experience be sure and check out others in the Charleston area.

Room Tip: If staying during peak season, would probably avoid the Florida room -- right next to the outdoor ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodgers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We recently upgraded our breakfast selections. Everything is fresh and made at the Inn. Our menu changes daily. We hope you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,339 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,134 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing