We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Villa!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Villa!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The villa was booked based on the website and went on a wing and a prayer... we were definitely not disappointed!! The pictures were exactly how the villa looked. The kitchen was well stocked and the entire villa was extremely clean!! If we needed something, all we had to do was ask and the staff was right there. Happy hour was awesome.. we spent it with a staff member, Gina, who could not be any more precious!!. It was nice to meet others as well during out time at the main house. the owner, Paul, was great.. very personable!! The grounds were well maintained and we had no issue with parking ( our group had 4 cars). It rained one entire day and it was so relaxing sitting on the screened porch watching the rain.. felt very tropical. I really can't say enough about our experience except I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so much for you kind review and sharing your experience. We truly enjoyed having you as guests at Water's Edge Inn. Don't forget, all return guests receive a 10% discount on every night booked with us. We can't wait to have you back! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    62
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
388
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Water's Edge was a great place to spend a few days after our wedding. They were incredibly welcoming and had great suggestions for the area. We felt at home but also felt like we had the privacy and anonymity you want when you're on a romantic getaway.

We stayed in the Caribbean room, which has a gorgeous bathroom and tub, a nice screened-in porch and a beautiful canopy bed. The mattress could be better quality--maybe a little less sunken-in, but otherwise everything was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
It was great to have you as guests! Thank you for bringing the bed in the Caribbean to my attention as we depend on the reviews of our guests to let us know where we can improve. I am having this looked at and corrected immediately! We hope you will join us again soon, all return guests enjoy a 10 % discount off every night booked with us! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is hands down my favorite place I've ever stayed. This was our second vacation here and I cannot wait to plan the next. Everything is perfection. The rooms are beautiful decorated with comfortable, clean linens and sparkling bathrooms. The breakfast is delicous. Happy hour is a nice touch too! The grounds are gorgeous with several places to sit and enjoy the afternoons or a cocktail. The staff has always been extremely accomidating, going above and beyond what you would typiclally find in a hotel. They gave us rides to and from the beach so we wouldn't have to tote our chairs and bags each day and offered great dining tips. The location is perfect - tucked away from the main drag tourist scene. You can still walk to most everything. If you are a couple looking for a quiet getaway with excellent amenities, this is the place for you. The villas offer more of a family setting if you're traveling with children. Thank you, Water's Edge, for another wonderful vacation! We'll see you next trip!

Room Tip: The Pacific is the largest room with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
It was wonderful to have you back to stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and we can't wait to see you again! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I, along with our 2 year-old daughter, just returned from a perfect 4-night stay at the Water's Edge Inn with 4 of our closest friends and their respective children. First, I have to voice my confusion for the negative reviews. You must be extremely picky, depressed, or generally unhappy to not enjoy yourself at this wonderful place.

We stayed in one of the villas since we were a large group and had kids (no children under the age of 12 allowed in the Inn). We also were fortunate to have the owner Paul's villa which was very nice. Speaking of Paul, this guy took care of us. The first day he drove us to the beach in a stretch golf cart and set us up with lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels, and a general lay of the land. This guy knows everything and everyone on Folly Beach. He genuinely wants his guests to have the best time and will do whatever it takes to make that happen. But it doesn't stop there. His staff shares the same goal. BIG shout out to Megan, Gina, and Kelly. These ladies were all so fun and engaging. Megan probably put 5 miles on that golf cart driving us to and from the beach multiple times.

More details: the breakfast every morning is awesome! Pancakes one morning, egg casserole the next, french toast bake after that. There was sausage and bacon twice, bagels and pastries every morning along with orange juice and coffee. Then there is happy hour every day at 4:00......we literally started a countdown once the kids went down for a nap. The husbands would go grab some cookies and "Folly Punch" to bring back for everyone. Great way to start the night on vacation.

The grounds of the Inn are safe and quiet. No problems with leaving our cars out. We even left a double stroller sitting in the drive of the villa which no one bothered.

I am so grateful our friends found this place in the Southern Living review. Also, I am so impressed and pleased with our experience that I had to get this out there for people who read the negative reviews. I understand that things can go wrong, but I know that if you go to Paul or one of his staff members they will make it right immediately.

Bottom-line: Hands down a top-shelf experience that I would easily recommend to anyone.....and I will be going back sometime soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Justin, it was such a delight to have you, your family and friends stay with us! Thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your awesome experience! It is our goal for 100 % guest satisfaction, I will pass your props on to all the ladies! We will keep the cookies baking and Folly punch waiting for you! Hurry back to visit us, all return guests enjoy a 10 % discount off of every night booked! Aloha y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to receive a recommendation for this wonderful B and B on Folly Beach. The staff made a special effort to make my girlfriend and I feel completely at home. The room we had, The Islander, was thoughtfully and creatively decorated. I understand each room has a different theme. I really liked ours. Great happy hour also. This is a must stay on Folly!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmitchell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the Islander is such a fun and spacious room! We hope you will come visit us again soon and take advantage of our 10% return guest discount! Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I saw this B&B featured in SouthernnLiving and I knew we couldn't go wrong. It was perfect... Just stepping out of the car upon arrival to hear the beach music in the parking lot put us in a great mood. Yummy breakfasts and happy hour were great! The staff were so friendly and accommodating. We got a big surprise after coming back from dinner one night to find a bottle of champagne for my birthday. What a nice surprise! We were sad when it was time to leave....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind words! We're glad to hear you had a wonderful birthday at Water's Edge Inn. Hurry back and visit us, all return guests enjoy a 10% discount! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night as a little getaway treat. I wish we could have stayed longer! The room was very clean and creatively decorated. The bed was also very comfortable and the room was quiet. It is only about 2 blocks from the beach. When we arrived, we borrowed bikes from the inn and rode them down to the beach. It was so fun and so easy! They also have happy hour from 4-7, offering beer, wine and a rum punch. Such a nice way to start your stay there. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They also serve breakfast- very tasty! This is the best place to stay. When I come back to visit charleston, we are definitely staying there again! Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Islander room and it was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend had such a fantastic time! Here at Water's Edge Inn we strive for nothing but the best and enjoy our guests as much as they enjoy staying with us! We can't wait to have you guys come back to visit, maybe next time for a longer get-away!! All of our return guests enjoy a 10% discount off every night booked with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing