We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third trip to Water's Edge Inn”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was my third trip to Water's Edge Inn and it was, as always, amazing. The room, "the Pacific" was beautiful and so comfortable. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne on our first night there.(I am assuming because we were return guests).
We found the breakfast and happy hour wonderful, the atmosphere is relaxing and everyone who works there goes out of their way to be helpful! As far as value, I think it was well worth the cost and the regular hotel at Folly was actually priced much higher with much less to offer.
Folly Beach isn't for everyone but we find it fun and it has excellent people watching. The proximity to Charleston is also a plus.
I would recommend Folly and Water's Edge to all!!!! If you love Key West (which we do) it's a much closer drive from Virginia and just as much fun!

Room Tip: The Pacific has an amazing view if you don't mind the stairs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmproffitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

This review made my day! We love hearing feedback from our return guests. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, breakfast and happy hour on your third visit as well. We completely agree that Folly is great for people watching. Looking forward to hosting y’all on your fourth visit and many more to come! Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Anyone who would be "disappointed" with this hotel must be a real negative Nelly. This is a lovely place with a warm, welcoming vibe. Sarah greeted us with glasses of punch and cookies and showed us to our beautiful room, the Floridian. The room was comfortable, with a nice sitting area
and room to work at the desk. The best part was the screened porch where we could look out at the marsh and local birds.
Thank you Paul for assuring us that despite the rain we should venture. Into Charleston for dinner at FIG.
We know that things cannot always be perfect and no one came to make-up our room on one of the days. The mark of true hospitality is how a slip-up is handled. We could not have asked for more - when we returned from dinner, we found a lovely note and a bottle of chilled Prosecco.
Thanks to all at Water's Edge Inn for a lovely stay...we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for this awesome review Nancy! We are so lucky to be surrounded by the amazing wildlife on the island. I am very happy to hear that after we dropped the ball on your room service you were satisfied with the recovery. Looking forward to seeing y’all again soon! Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This B&B is not what we expected from a property that has expensive daily rates. We have many stays at similar properties to make this comparison. The room we had was nice, comfortable, and of the expected quality. This was the good part.
On the other hand, the (2) breakfasts were of fast food quality, and not prepared to order as most quality B&B's would do. The eating area is far too small to accommodate the guests (about 100 sq-ft for nine guest rooms plus two villas that also use the amenities). The same small area is used for the "cocktail hour", and the selection of drinks comes from a "mini-fridge" that holds so little that the drinks were not cold if you did not get the initial servings.
Most disappointing of all is Folly Beach. The business area of Folly Beach is small (located just a few block from the B&B however). This entire area needs serious "maintenance" to be considered a nice vacation area.
This area & B&B might appeal to young families (willing to overlook the high rate) , but I would certainly not recommend it for older couples expecting a quality stay for the price.

Room Tip: Steps to 2nd, 3rd floors (where sleeping rooms are located) are very steep and narrow. There is appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Richard, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. I am happy that you found your room clean and comfortable. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the inclusive breakfast and happy hour. Although Folly Beach may not be for everyone, we are very proud to be located on this beautiful fun quirky island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at Villa 15 - huge, beautiful house, so lovely that we took pictures for redecorating ideas at home. Well equipped and appointed. Loved the delicious breakfasts and the Folly Punch every afternoon at the Happy Hour. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We chose Villa 15, as it was the only one with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review one of our Villas! We are particularly fond of the decor in Villa 15 as well. Hope to see y’all again soon for another glass of Folly Punch! Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We've stayed at the Water's Edge Inn many times, and continue to come back because it's such a great place. We traveled to Charleston in early March for the Food & Wine Festival, which was great, but knowing you have a place to come back to each evening like the Water's Edge Inn really makes it special. The owner always shows us amazing hospitality, and it's so much fun meeting other folks staying there during daily happy hours.

Thanks, again, for an amazing stay at your wonderful Inn!

Room Tip: All rooms we've stayed in are great, but my favorite is the Hemingway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thanks for that awesome review Lynn! Having guests come back to stay with us again and again is such a great reaffirmation that we're doing something right and making your time with us special and memorable. Happy hour is always a great time to meet other guests from all over and enjoy their company as well as that of Water's Edge Inn staff. Hope to see you again soon on Folly Beach, aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I came down to Charleston from Maryland knowing that South Carolina is especially famous for its southern hospitality, but the Water's Edge Inn exceeded all expectations. The staff were absolutely amazing and catered to any and every need. I was suppose to stay from only Friday to Sunday, but because of how great of an experience I was having, decided to stay an extra night. Paul, you were a wonderful host and I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to explore all that Folly Beach has to offer between the luxurious room we stayed in, the beautiful sailboat ride and all around fun on "FUNDAY Sunday" with Mimosas and brunch! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

It was great getting to meet you and talk to you while you were here. I know Paul enjoyed hanging out with you guys a lot as well. Hope your drive home went alright without too many issues weather-related. Anytime you'd like to join us again we'd love to see you and as it warms up there's just that much more stuff you can partake in on the beach and downtown! You'll see a whole other side to Folly Beach in the summertime. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

First time experience with a Bed and Breakfast, and the Water's Edge Inn exceeded my expectations! This place is well worth every penny! Everything is top notch from the well appointed guest rooms to the simple but excellent home cooked breakfast. I almost forgot 'Happy Hour' with free cold beer, wine, Folly punch, and snacks. Both nights of happy hour, we enjoyed spending time with the owner Paul and several other guests. You can't get that experience at any hotel! Paul and his staff make all the difference in the world, and the property speaks for itself. 100% satisfied with our short two night stay. We will be back to the Water's Edge Inn.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Complimentary happy hours and breakfasts are great, aren't they?!! I'm glad you were able to enjoy that time fully with both the staff and other guests. We typically have a pretty fun crew here either working or also enjoying their vacations and looking to meet more people doing the same - happy hour is always a great place to make new acquaintances! 100% satisfaction is what we're always hoping for, happy that we not only lived up to but exceeded your expectations. See you again on your next stay and as a return guest you'll automatically receive 10% off future stays, aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,373 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,828 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range: £119 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing