We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - loved our private balcony!”
Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay - loved our private balcony!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We really enjoyed our first stay at Water's Edge and we'll definitely go back! The rooms were comfortable and the private, screened-in balcony was wonderful! Happy hour and breakfast were nice touches, as well as the ability to rent bikes and umbrellas for a small fee. We'll try to get a room on the back side of the inn next time so we'll have a little bit nicer view of the inlet (our balcony overlooked the front garden/parking area, which wasn't bad, but not as scenic). Would highly recommend for any couple who is trying to get a retreat without the kids. Walking distance to great restaurants, the beach and just a short drive to downtown Charleston. We're so glad we found this place - it was worth sacrificing an oceanfront view for the quality of the service and the rooms.

Room Tip: Pick a room on an upper floor - the two bottom rooms of the Inn have no balcony. The top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am happy to hear we were able to provide you with a wonderful getaway. It is great to hear that we are providing a great environment to relax and enjoy you trip. We hope to see you again soon!

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    62
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
51
397
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Water's Edge is a top notch bed and breakfast. We stayed for 4 nights for our honeymoon and it was perfect. Great location on the island just a short walk from the beach and center street. Highly recommend it to those heading to Folly. We will definitely be staying here again when we have the chance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcpruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience. We are honored you chose us to share your special time with your new spouse :). We hope to see you again soon!

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, ny
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the waters edge in for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time! The resort was beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Our villa was clean and the perfect size for our group of six, we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdrosenberg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon! All return guests receive a 10% discount, so don't forget to mention you have stayed with us before. Can't wait to see you again!

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently stayed in the Regata room for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We absolutely love Folly Beach, as it is only a two hour drive from home. However, The Waters Edge Inn was thoroughly disappointing to the two of us.

Our room was literally five feet from the 24 hour hot tub. We were kept awake until past 2:00am by two intoxicated couples using the hot tub.

I have also never seen pillows as thin as the ones in our room. Absolutely ridiculous for the price of the room. Please pack your own pillow and a pair of earplugs.

Unlike other reviews, we found the breakfast to be well stocked and delicious.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RN530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I am sorry to hear your experience with our Inn was disappointing. I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We are constantly working to create a better guest experience and your feedback is crucial to this process. It is nice to hear the improvements we have made to the breakfast options are well received. I hope in the future, we are able to provide a more intimate experience for your romantic weekend.

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Acres, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I absolutely LOVE it here. I've stayed here 3 times in over the past year. It's perfectly located away from the busy crowd but within walking distance to all the restaurants and the beach.Recently we took the bikes out and biked from one end of the beach to the other. I've stayed in The Hemingway room every time so it almost feels like my home away from home. I love the inlet view and screened balcony. The entire staff is very friendly and the breakfast and happy hour are delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience! We are so honored that you return time and time again to stay with us. We strive to provide an intimate guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've been to Folly Beach many times, and this was my first time at Water's Edge.

It's very clean, inviting, and the room felt more like a home than a hotel. The people we met were very nice also.

Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmoothCrimina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in a villa and also in a single guest room for my boyfriends birthday weekend. It was amazing! We and our guests all fit comfortably in the villa that we stayed in for the one night. We did take a trip downtown to venture out a little and it was not a bad ride. Pretty close to all downtown Charleston has to offer! We also ventured out on Folly and it is not your typical beach town. A quirky beach town with great restaurants/bars and the beach is definitely a plus! On our second night we stayed in a ground level guest room. It was nice to be separated with our own entrance. Ours was newly renovated. I loved the decor! The rain head shower was also a plus. When in Rome! I definitely will be back in the future. The service is so friendly and no request is too large! They make anything happen! Thanks to the staff for having us and we will see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We love to hear all these wonderful things. We do our best to provide an intimate, memorable experience for all our guests that sets us apart from the larger hotel options in Charleston. Thank you for sharing your great experience, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,359 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing