We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Water's Edge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Folly Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
charleston,sc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Folly beach has a charm all it's own. The hosts of Water's Edge Inn know all about the unique character that IS Folly. Each suite is designed with its own " beachy" flair.
The inn is small and elegant; you're not just a "key card" here.
Great anniversary spot, especially off season!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grneyedldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience! Providing a fun, laid back experience is key, and I am so glad to hear we hit the mark! Remember, all of our return guests receive 10% off. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    62
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
388
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I and our two 20-something aged daughters just returned from our vacation to Folly Beach and Charleston. While in Folly Beach we had the great fortune to stay at the Water's Edge Inn at one of their villas for four nights. It was a truly wonderful experience all the way around. First, the customer service and hospitality was exceptional. We arrived in the middle of a drenching rain storm and elected to wait it out in our car before trying to venture into the inn's check-in area. Within minutes of making that decision there was a tap on our car window. Low and behold, two of the inn's staff were there with umbrellas ready to usher us inside. From there on, the staff was always at our service to take us to the beach or into the town at a moment's notice in the inn's golf cart or to provide us a cold drink or just nice conversation.

As for the villa, we stayed in Villa #1. It was beautifully decorated with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, plus a garage. We absolutely wanted for nothing with our fully equipped kitchen and a TV in every room. We most loved our screened porches (2 of them!!). The only possible and slight negative is that our view from the porches was of a smaller, modest beach home so we felt for a nanosecond like we were a little close to the neighbors, but that feeling quickly dissipated as the décor and the company made us instantly relax and feel transported.

While we could have happily spent our entire time just in the villa, we did venture out and were pleasantly surprised that the town of Folly Beach and the beach itself were all within comfortable walking distance. And I say that coming from the perspective of a heavy set, middle-aged woman with bad feet. When we didn't want to walk, there was always the inn's staff there to take us by golf cart.

One thing to keep in mind is that the villas and the inn are designed in the low-country style of home, which means lots and lots of stairs. I don't know if they offer a housing option for people who are physically challenged. If stairs are a problem, then you might check with the inn regarding your needs.

I absolutely recommend this place to couples and families with older children. We would delightedly go back here!

Room Tip: If having a good view is important to you, ensure you let the staff know this. Some of the villas h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momwriterlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience! We strive to provide the best guest experience, and it is so wonderful when we are able to deliver. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Keep in mind, all of our return guests receive 10% off.

Aloha, Ya'll!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Water's Edge Inn for 5 nights to celebrate our first anniversary. From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated like honored guests. We were greeted with an ice cold glass of their World Famous Folly Punch and a cool towel to wipe off the travel grime. The owner's daughter was working the desk and she couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. She showed us to our room and we discovered a complimentary bottle of champagne and a Happy Anniversary note. We had not asked for this, nor did we expect it. It was just another example of what a great job the staff does to make you feel like a special guest. We stayed in the Caribbean and were very happy with the room. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was large and clean and had a jetted tub, and the screened in porch was a very nice place to sit. I really loved that we could hear Jimmy Buffet and other island music almost everywhere on the property during the day, it really helped us get into the vacation mood. The breakfast was great! We didn't go out to eat breakfast one day! Happy hour was also a favorite time of the day. Great wine, cold beer, and of course Folly Punch were accompanied by a variety of snacks. If you don't drink or have underage folks in your group, don't worry! They also have bottled water and soda to enjoy at any time of the day. Our first day at Happy Hour, we met the owner, Paul. We introduced ourselves and without having to check the computer or guest book he knew that we were there on our anniversary trip and asked us how we liked the champagne. We thanked him for it and he simply replied that having us there was his pleasure.
The inn has a golf cart that will shuttle you to and from the beach or restaurants. My wife and I didn't really use this because it is just a short walk to the beach and downtown (maybe 5 minutes), but if you have a lot of beach gear or physical limitations it is a great option. You can also rent bicycles, which we did, for $10 a day or $20 for your whole stay. We cruised all over the island on them and even rode them up to the lighthouse. When you finally return to the inn for the evening, you are missing out if you don't grab a fresh baked chocolate chip cookie on your way up to your room! From start to finish, our stay at Water's Edge could not have been more perfect. The staff was super friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had an amazing time. It was such a departure from the usual hotel stay. We will definitely be back at the Water's Edge Inn. I don't think I could stay anywhere else in the Folly Beach/Charleston area. If you are planning a trip to that region, do yourself a favor and call Water's Edge Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful time at our intimate, romantic inn. We are so honored you chose us to host your special trip. Don't forget you get 10% off your next stay. We look forward to seeing you for your 2nd anniversary :)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I went to Folly Beach for 4 days & stayed at the Waters Edge Inn. We stayed in the Regatta. It was such a nice room & it was great having our own private entrance. There were always cold drinks available, a happy hour everyday, & of course a delicious breakfast. We will definitely be going back. The staff was so friendly which added to the ease of the stay!

Room Tip: The regatta is nice because it has it's own entrance & is right beside the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenSC823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience :). What could be better than cold drinks on a hot day? So glad we could be a part of your special getaway! We look forward to seeing you again!

Aloha, Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would like to start by saying we really enjoyed our stay at the Water's Edge Inn. Me and my husband stayed here for a short (3 night) honeymoon. It was warm and inviting and the staff is AMAZING! The happy hour is such a nice perk and something everyone should make time for. Breakfast was good and what I expected but if you are a BIG eater you might need to let them know to put more out (and they would be happy to) or go out for breakfast. There was always something warm for breakfast but it's not a huge meal. We always took our breakfast back to the room and ate it on our porch overlooking the marsh. It was a great way to start the day! The rooms are nice and clean and the bathrooms are so great! I took a long plunge in the jetted tub as soon as we arrive. It was so relaxing and just what I needed after a long car ride and a crazy wedding week. This was our first time in a bed and breakfast and I didn't think about it but you can hear others. It wasn't a big deal because none of the other guest were loud but we could hear doors. Like I said, wasn't a big deal but something to make note of. The Inn is close to the beach but you can't see the ocean. It is an easy walk but when you have a bag, chairs, and it feels like 95 out side walking is the last thing you want to do. When I first came to this conclusion I was a little put out but don't worry because Water's Edge and their staff makes up for it. As soon as we walked downstairs we told who ever was at the desk we need a ride to the beach and by the time we made it outside there was someone there to take us the short 2 second ride on the golf cart to the beach. Then when we were ready to come back I just called and let them know as we were packing up and they were there waiting on us as we exited the beach. It was such a nice perk! You really feel like you are being taken care of at Water's Edge Inn because there is a small number of guest and the staff is really there to help! If you are looking for place to relax on Folly stop looking because you found the place!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a marsh view! We stayed in Hemingway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so honored you chose us for such a special occasion, and I am so happy to hear we lived up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing an intimate and romantic atmosphere, where our guests are treated like family. We look forward to your next stay!

Congratulations and best wishes!!!

Aloha, Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was the second time visiting the Water's Edge Inn, and once again it was an outstanding visit. Paul and his staff provide great customer service and go out of their way to make your visit outstanding! They treat their returning guest with a very generous discount! Thanks to the Water's Edge Inn for another great trip to Folly Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had the best time at the Inn. It was quiet, safe, and a great value. The bed was soft and the shower was awesome. We took advantage of their package for renewing our wedding vows for our tenth anniversary. They worked with us to tailor the ceremony to what we wanted. The staff was caring and interested in our plans for each day. I will stay here again next time we go to Folly Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWalkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WatersEdgeInn_12, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are so honored you chose our property for such a wonderful, special event! Providing a great experience is the heart of our business, and we are so thrilled when we are able to assist in providing such great memories. Congratulations on 10 great years of marriage, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Aloha Y'all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Property: Water's Edge Inn
Address: 79 2nd Street West, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 miles from historic Charleston, Water's Edge Inn offers a truly unique experience. We are in walking distance to Folly Beach, and we're located just one block off the main strip. Offering eight beautifully appointed guest rooms featuring fireplaces, heavenly queen size beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, plasma TV, 24-hour jacuzzi, wireless internet and much much more! The pristine beaches of the Atlantic are just 2 short blocks away and are accessible with our complimentary bicycles or shuttle service. Beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach are available to rent. Enjoy evening cocktails during our complimentary Happy Hour between 4pm-7pm, offering beer, wine, and our Famous Folly Punch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Water's Edge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Folly Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing