We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to hang out.”
Review of Snapper Jacks

Snapper Jacks
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hubby and I have been here many times before. The new menu is very nice. Still nice to hang out on the upper deck. The renovations really came out good.

We were very disappointed with the service at the bar. It took almost 20 minutes to get a drink. That is as the bar backs and wait staff stood there and saw us waiting. The bar tender only took care of the end of the bar by the steps. I sent six groups of people to that end to get a drink. One couple even left. We also saw that staff allow patrons to take the bar seating and use it for thier dog!!!!

The food was ok. My husband's wings could have been a bit crispier. I had the seafood gumbo. No seafood to be seen in it. Good thing the gumbo itself was good or I would have sent it back. If I could have gotten the bar tender.

We will go back just for the view and nice people you meet there. They really need to work on service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommybear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    104
    69
    26
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Silly tourist”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

To be fair I will start with the small fact that we didn't actually eat anything nor did we drink anything but we did get seated on the rooftop deck. We did place an order for our drinks after a while. Our young server wasn't able to make our drinks so we watched while the bartender cleaned her station for 30 minutes while we waited for our drinks, seriously that's what she was doing, our young server girl came over and apologized numerous times. We decided on what we were going to eat but then realized that the other tables around us hadn't seen there food. We told our server thanks and left and went somewhere else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank outadelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meh. Tourist food, tourist prices.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Overcooked crab (Jonah crab claws alternated between sweet crabby goodness in one claw and pasty mush in another), overcooked steamed oysters (which is a travesty). Decent beer menu, cocktails focus on slushy drinks. Not awful, but if you want real local seafood, this is not the spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ok food! Great service!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Nancy our server was great! Very friendly and upbeat for a dreary Monday. The food was just ok. I would say for food there are better spots in Folly. I ended up with a blackened chicken which was ok. My wife had the blackened shrimp salad which was ok. A little too much blackening likely to cover up the freshness or lack of for the shrimp, couldn't tell though because it was way over seasoned. Also the lettuce mix could have been a little better. The atmosphere on the rooftop here is where the party seems to be later; however we hit an off Monday and the only thing up top was 2 dollar bud lights and some well drinks for happy hour, you had to go to the bar to order drinks there are no servers on the rooftop. Also they have live music but it must not be consistent every night. Nice view from the rooftop, more lively apparently on other nights, nice server Nancy and the two hostesses were nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

First time here since they have remodeled and put out a new menu. Everything was great. You can definitely tell they put a lot of time and hard work into this place. This is my new favorite place in Folly. Love that you added frozen drinks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snapper Jacks also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Snapper Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing