We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our group of 20+ left satisifed”
Review of Locklears - CLOSED

Locklears
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Locklear's Beach City Grill is a must for those who love amazing views, fabulous seafood, frosty drinks and a great time. Located on the Folly Beach pier, we offer a laid back casual dining experience with daily specials and a full bar.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our group of 20+ left satisifed”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband, myself and our wedding guests dined here a few weeks ago after our casual beach wedding. Our only request was that we wanted to dine somewhere nice, but casual with our immediate family members after the wedding. I spoke to the owner, Chris, prior to arrival and he arranged for our group to sit out on the patio. The weather had other plans as it was unseasonably cold, windy and rainy, so at the last minute we were moved inside. The restaurant did a great job of accommodating the change. Several in our group made special orders, and everything came out as requested. My daughter has dairy and egg allergies, and the waitress communicated with kitchen staff to ensure we got a meal she could eat. Most servers act inconvenienced by this request, but the waitress handled it with ease despite taking 20 other orders at the time, and a FULL restaurant.The food was good, and I didn't hear one person from our group of picky eaters complain. The food wasn't quite 5 star good, and the lighting was a little too dim, but it was a very satisfying meal. I would return again on a future visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lkjrlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    122
    52
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great views”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good food, lots of choices. Fried green tomatoes yummy. Suggest they consider opening for breakfast, as their website does show breakfast hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sonrisesonset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Bit pricy for subpar food, but can't beat the view!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were coming off the pier and decided to stop at the restaurant and have a drink. We got a table outside facing the ocean and it was heavenly. Can't beat the views and the relaxation. A young man was playing the guitar and singing, so even more great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and value, great food.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Took the whole family today, the food was fresh and fast, casual, family-friendly atmosphere. We sampled the menu: crab soup, corn fritters, creole grits, fried okra, french fries, and the fried sea food platter. They have some unique offerings. The crab soup was amazingly good, corn fritters very unique and tasty, everything else was very good. Only negative we found was that the sea food platter was only good, it was slightly overdone and did not taste as fresh as I was hoping, but at this price point with a view of the Atlantic it was understandable. $63 fed a family of five with plenty for leftovers later. Highly recommended, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wagnekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Would love to say it was great, but we never made it in the door. We attempted to go here for our last dinner while in Folly and unfortunately were unable to even get to the restaurant. We had someone with us in a wheel chair and the only ramp to reach them had been locked at sunset. We then called and reported this and NO ONE made an attempt to unlock it so that we may dine. The one complaint for Folly Beach and Charleston is not alot of good wheelchair access for those in need :(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davbarfinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locklears also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing