We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good meal, Great Service”

The Wagon Wheel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Fort Lawn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good meal, Great Service”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We met a friend here for supper on a whim, but it turned out to be very good. The wife ordered a NY Strip which she said was delicious and perfectly cooked. I had the grilled pork chops of which they loaded 3 onto the plate. Naturally we had to try the fried squash and it was terrific. The salad bar was fresh and had sufficient offerings for a really nice salad. The only drawback was they do not take debit or credit cards. They do have an ATM but I was not going to pay a fee for that. I did not notice a sign saying as such when we entered, but it might have been there

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank slick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good home cooking. With MONSTER portions”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We hesitated on this one for quite a while....we had a few people tell us it was good, but the reviews were a little "all over the place"......oh, all of the meals I could have had here!!!
The fried squash was incredible (& a huge, cheap appetizer).
After seeing several reviews that called the salad bar GREAT, I was a little disappointed in what I saw, but let me tell you, what it lacked in variety (which was certainly adequate) it made up for in quality and freshness.
Oh yes my friends, we will be back and often!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiny6ft10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great out of the way place”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very fresh salad bar, yeast rolls, and fried squash are my favorites. Although many people find their steaks great as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocore food and service.”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

The menu here was a bit confusing. They had daily lunch specials, but for dinner you could also order anything that was left over from lunch. The dinner menu didn't have too many choices. The fried squash is great. I was a little scared of the salad bar. Our waitress took our order but she never came back to check on us or refill our drinks. We ended up having to get the waitress for the table beside us to get everything. It wasn't terrible, but not something I would want to go back to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meelimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath Springs, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You've got to order the fried squash”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I don't care what else you eat or order you have got to get at least one order of the fried squash. it is to die for & a must for our meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wagon Wheel Restaurant also viewed

 
Lancaster, SC
 

Been to The Wagon Wheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing