We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Breakfast, Musty Smelling Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn at Carowinds
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fort Mill
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just stayed here for 2 nights as we visited the Carowinds Theme Park. We found the hotel through the Carowinds website as a "Good Neighbor Hotel". The hotel is situated accross the street from the entrance to Carowinds, so a GREAT location. The hotel felt a little dated and our room had a HORRIBLE musty smell. The carpets felt a little nasty when walking on bare feet, but the bathrooms were clean, the bedding seemed clean and the breakfast in the morning was failry good for free. The staff was very nice. Again we basically crashed here after a day at the park, so it met our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hop2It2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor, and we sincerely apologize if anything about your stay was unsatisfactory. Although we would always love to have the best reviews, customer feedback is how we learn of any issues we may be unaware of. While our maintanence teams does preventative measures in all of our guest rooms, we take every guest complaint to heart and follow up quickly. The issue of the smell and the carpet has been corrected, and we hope that you'll come stay with us again to find out! Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again!
If you'd like to book any reservations or have any other concerns or comments, please feel free to give us a call at (803) 548-0100.

Best Regards,
Janie Carpenter
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Wife, two Grandchildren and myself stayed here on 6/22/13, after a day at Carowinds. Room was clean, and the front desk people were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast the next morning was nice with waffles, eggs, cereal, muffins, juice and coffee. I did note a Cracker Barrel Restaurant just a short walk away (just in case); but fortunately, it was not needed. This motel is actually located on the extreme left side of a business park, and parking spaces are limited. Although it is across the highway from Carowinds (6 lanes of heavy traffic) it is not really easily accessible to Carowinds on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playboy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank You so much for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor, it is always great when the guest point out the great qualities of our hotel such as the friendly staff and the really great breakfast. We as a team work really hard to make sure all guest receive exceptional service and a pleasurable stay. Once again Thank You and if you need any future reservation please call us directly and if visiting Carowinds always ask if we have any special rates for Carowinds for overnight guest
803-548-0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here after a long day at Carowinds staff was great clean room and great bed would stay again.also very close to several restaurants Carowinds directly across the road can see fireworks from hotel at Carowinds .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank You so much for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. It Is always great to hear positive reviews about our hotel. Our entire team takes great pride in trying to make sure everyone's stay is a complete pleasure. Once again Thank You for choosing our hotel and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. If you need any help with reservations in the future feel free to call us directly at 803-548-0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here to go to Carowinds. You can't beat the location, literally we exited the parking lot and were looking at the Carowinds sign. The staff was very courteous and got us checked in and out very quickly. Breakfast was a nice surprise, lots of choices! Only gripe is that didn't see on hotels.com that it had no elevator so lugging our suitcases up the stairs wasn't fun, however it was just one small flight of stairs. Would like to see more than one washcloth in a king room for two guests, but we made due. Overall nice hotel, good value! We will definately use this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleigh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you, for sharing your wonderful thoughts about our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating any hotel needs you may have for the future when visiting Carowinds. Once again thank you, for choosing to stay with us here at the Quality Inn Carowinds.

Janie Carpenter
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
3560 Lakemont Blvd
Ft. Mill SC 29708
803-548-0100 P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Just Across The Street From EntranCe Of Carowinds Very Good Location. Its A Two Level Motel With No Elevator Not Fun To Unload Items And Pack Up Items With A Two Year Old. Really Miss ElevatorMakes it So Much Easier. Beds Are Very Comforterable Bathroom Is Small. But OverallgGood Place To Crash After Carowinds.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkmonk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank You for sharing your thoughts about our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are in a good location for Carowinds however with this said we also stay very busy during the Carowinds season, which makes assigning rooms much more strategic as to which floor we assign each guest. However we always honor Special Request first for guest that may have small children or just can’t make the one flight of stairs for whatever reason one might have. I do apologize for the inconvenience of having no elevator and I do hope that if you’re in the area, you will stay with us again. Please feel free to call myself or one of our friendly Guest Service Agents to book your reservation at 803-548-0100. Once again thank you, for choosing to stay with us here at the Quality Inn Carowinds.

Janie Carpenter
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
3560 Lakemont Blvd
Ft. Mill SC 29708

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay. It is a smaller property and they have some more renovations to finish. The pool and pool area were very clean and well kept. Our room was comfortable but had a few things the AC unit gave us a bit of trouble and the paint was a bit mismatched. (I reported to front desk the next AM and they were very nice and thanked me for letting them know). Beds were clean and comfortable. The location is near Carowinds but yes go ahead and get a parking pass for the day. It is great to spend the morning at the park go check in the hotel and rest/swim/eat and head back over to the park. (You just show your parking receipt when you go back so you dont have to pay again.) Breakfast was great!!! A little something for everyone. Other travelers were pleasant to speak with. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Housold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor post, it is always great to hear our guest views about our hotel. Our staff works very hard to accommodate every guest and we are very excited to know that you found our hotel enjoyable. We look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to Carowinds and hopefully exceeding any and all your expectations of a great hotel stay. Once again thank you for your review and if you need future reservations myself or one of our friendly staff members will be more than happy to assist you.

Thank you
Janie Carpenter
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
803-548-0100 P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Have been staying at this hotel for a while on business. Appears owners are wringing the money out of the place. Instead of maintaining the fitness room, they are closing it down! Rooms still have old CRT televisions, although the room I got this time was quite clean and had the upgraded showerhead with the needle-sharp spray. WiFi is still fast enough for Netflix and TV Channel line-up includes all the cable/SAT stuff.

Staff seems to turn over a lot, except for the managers, who are nice folks.

Rate increased a bit this last time, probably due to the Carowinds amusement park opening up.
Will probably start looking for a newer place in the South Charlotte market. This one is just drifting out of my standards.

Quite a few restaurants within 5 miles; a couple within walking distance. Cheap SC gas station right there.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the back (South) side will be e bit quieter, but this is actually in a pretty quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiecar, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for posting your comment here on Tripadvisor, I am sorry to hear that our hotel has failed to meet your standards. Closing the fitness center was a hard decision to make however we are trying to make arrangements with a local fitness center that would offer much more of a variety of modern equipment. We have started our renovations and they are going to be quite extensive, new carpet in the hallways, fresh new colors of paint on the outside of the building, new mattresses, all new bedding from pillows to bed skirts and coverlets, resealed parking lot, new pool furniture and last but not least new flat screen 32” TV’s in all the rooms within two weeks. You also mentioned rate and our rates do increase during the Carowinds season but I’m sure we could set a negotiated rate for your company, since you’re traveling on business instead of visiting Carowinds. As for the staff we have hired several new employees to help with the Carowinds season so you may see some new faces waiting to greet you. With all of this said, we value each and every guest that enters our hotel and it saddens me to know that we could loose a valuable guest has yourself. I hope you will continue to stay with us and if you need reservations please call and we can discuss the rate 803-548-0100.
Thank You
Janie Carpenter
General Manage
Quality Inn Carowinds
3560 Lakemont Blvd
Ft. Mill SC 29708
803-548-0100 P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 10 in Fort Mill
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carowinds
Best Western Carowinds
#2 of 10 in Fort Mill
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
#8 of 10 in Fort Mill
253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Mill
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
Hampton Inn Rock Hill
#2 of 24 in Rock Hill
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at Carowinds

Address: 3560 Lakemont Blvd, Lakemont Business Park, Fort Mill, SC 29708-6204 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Carowinds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our newly remodeled Quality Inn Carowinds Fort Mill, SC. Experience our new accommodations and exceptional location. Just minutes from Charlotte, NC (via I-77 North), Rock Hill SC (via I-77 South), 485 Interchange. We are located across the street from Carowinds Amusement Park, only 15 minutes from Charlotte Douglas International Airport, Charlotte Hornets NBA Arena and 30 minutes from NASCAR's Lowes Motor Speedway. Visit our nearby premier golf courses, Knights AAA Baseball Stadium, Renaissance, Ramblewood, Winget Parks and the newly developed Manchester Fields. We host our guest daily to our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. We offer microwave, refrigerator, coffee makers, complimentary local calls and high speed Internet in all our guest rooms. Wireless Internet is also available in our guest rooms and lobby. Dine at your favorite nearby restaurants such as Cracker Barrel or T-bones on the Lake Olive Garden. Finally please know that we are a perfect choice for leisure & business travelers as we support the travel needs for the following neighboring companies Mood, Leinier Healthcare, Sunbelt Rentals, American Red Cross, Averitt Express, TJX, Black & Decker and Morningstar Ministries to name a few. It would be our honor to host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Holiday Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing