We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn at Carowinds
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fort Mill
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night because of Tripadvisor recommendation. Very nice clean motel even if a bit old. Nicely remodeled with friendly staff and very good breakfast! Comfortable bed and nice new carpet. Bed comfortable and some new furnishings such as lights and TV. We never saw an elevator though so if you have mobility problems check with them before booking. As for us,We will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BetteWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear BettieWV,

I thank you for your comment on TripAdvisior. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at the Quality Inn Carowinds. I will let my staff know that you enjoyed your stayed an everything was up to your expectations. Unfortunately we do not have an elevator, however we would be more than happy to assist our guest with luggage if needed. We value your business and hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in town.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
p. 803.548.0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was clean, and conveniently located for Carowinds. The staff was so friendly and helpful. My ONLY complaint....no elevators! Breakfast was good, small area with tables. If there is a crowd (as there was on Sunday morning) it's a bit tight and you have to improvise and use your patience and manners in waiting. Other than that, it's a great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you can't handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear ChristyL,

I thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. I apologize that we do not have an elevator, we would have been more than happy to help you with your bags if needed. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast besides it being a little crowded at times; I will definitely get with my Breakfast Supervisor to come up with a plan to make it more convenient for everyone. We understand here at the Quality Inn Carowinds that great customer service is one of the most important keys to having happy and returning guest. I will be sure to share your comments with my staff and let them know you enjoyed your stay overall. We value your business and hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
p. 803.548.0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Room was clean and spacious, complete with microwave and mini-fridge.
Beds were very comfortable and we could not hear the traffic.
Breakfast was good - the usual cereal, toast, waffles, yoghurt, fruit, juice, coffee.

Other than the Cracker Barrel, Subway and one or two fast food joints, there are not many restaurants in close proximity.

With very little traffic, it took us about 30 min to drive to the car rental return lot at Charlotte Airport

We would stay here again and give it 4*

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLov2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear WeLov2trvl,

I thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor and for choosing the Quality Inn Carowinds for your hotel accommodations. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was up to your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with each department head. I sincerely apologize that we do not have that many restaurants within walking distance; however there are plenty just a few miles away from us. We would have been glad to recommend a variety of restaurants not too far from the hotel. We value your business and hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in town.

Warmest regards,


Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
803-548-0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is one of the rare times when I thought Tripadvisor's reviews were rated way too high for what we experienced at this hotel. First the positives (1) It is convenient to Carowinds if you're just looking for someplace to stay while you visit the park (2) You can walk to Culver's, which has really good ice cream. Other than that, there was nothing special about the hotel. Our room seemed drab and a little 'unfresh'. The large screened TV was 'old style' and only 2 of the 6 jets in the jacuzzi worked. The bathroom was cramped and dull. We were on the 2nd floor and there isn't an elevator - so we had to cart all our stuff (we were headed to a 10 day vacation on the coast) up a narrow staircase. We wouldn't stay at this hotel again. Instead, we'd drive one more exit down the interstate to Rock Hill where there were several places to choose from just off the exit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohio Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ohio-Travlier,

I thank you for your comment on TripAdvisior. I do sincerely apologize that we were not up to your expectations. I know we are an older hotel and unfortunately do not have an elevator but we would have gladly helped you with your bags. All of our rooms have been newly updated with bedding, lighting, flat screen TV’s, marble vanities in the bathrooms and new carpet throughout the hotel. I will definitely have my maintenance department look into the jets not all properly working in the Jacuzzi room you were in.

We do take pride in our location and being right across the street from Carowinds theme park. Culver’s is definitely worth the walk, they do have excellent hamburgers and ice cream.

Once again I do sincerely apologize that we were not up to your expectations and for the inconveniences you experienced while stay at the Quality Inn Carowinds. We do value your business and hope that you will consider giving us another try to meet your expectations if the future.

Warmest regards,


Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have stayed a couple times on business trips. If you are looking for a clean, large room at a reasonable price, this is the place. As a Choice Privilege member they upgraded me to a Jacuzzi room both times. While I did not use the Jacuzzi, the upgrade is appreciated. The rooms are very clean and are comparable to rooms that cost $30 to $60 more per night. The breakfast and the lobby are not great, but you should not expect anything more for this price. The location is not good as far as dining, but it is close to the highway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Michael T,

I thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We thank you for being a Choice Privilege Member. We value your business and thank you for staying at the Quality Inn Carowinds.
I sincerely apologize for the breakfast not being up to your expectations; I will be sure to have a meeting with my breakfast attendant to see how we can make it better. I know that we don't have many dining options within walking distance but there is definitely a good variety just within a few miles of the hotel.

Once again we thank you for being a Choice Privilege Member and we value your business. I hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are in town on business.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
p. 803.548.0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

No issues here. My wife and I were looking for something affordable and close to Carowinds. We spent two nights here. The room was clean, the halls were well maintained, and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was very decent as well. It's less than a mile away from Carowinds and easy to find off of a not-too-busy intersection just down from several restaurants.

Our only complaint: My wife didn't particularly love the bath tub setup. The bathroom door can be open while you're in the bath, and it covers the tub roughly half way. Pretty minor as complaints go, but it did creep her out for whatever reason.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Race R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Race R,

I thank you for your comment on TripAdvisior. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at the Quality Inn Carowinds. I will let my staff know that you enjoyed your stayed an everything was up to your expectations. I do sincerely apologize for the construction of the bathrooms; I know that can be a bit aggravating. However if your ever in the Fort Mill, SC area in the near future we would definitely like to have you has our guest again.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
p. 803.548.0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel was difficult to get to as it is located in a very busy area and very close to the amusement park at Carowinds...probably a better choice for families wanting to attend the Park. Traffic was fierce trying to get into the hotel property. Although our room was very large and spacious - we feel this hotel needs some serious maintenance - nobody seems to be checking to see if everything works in each room....needs a lot of small things done by the maintenance department..things that are inconvenient and annoying to your clientele. We also heard that the hotel was booked to capacity so I guess management does not feel the urge to make hasty and regular repairs. Front Desk was handled by a very pleasant and efficient women the day we checked in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marleyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiReed, General Manager at Quality Inn at Carowinds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Deal MarleyandMike,

I thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying at the Quality Inn Carowinds. Our property does tend to get a little busy during the weekends and during the summer because of Carowinds Theme Park, I know traffic can be a little challenging at times but I know we have SC State Troopers and Fort Mill Police Department out trying to guide traffic as smoothly as possible. I will be sure to get with my maintenance staff to go over a routine maintenance plan so that everything in our guest rooms is in working order. We appreciate your business and hope if you’re traveling though the Fort Mill, SC area in the future you will consider giving us another try.

Warmest regards,


Michelle Reed
General Manager
Quality Inn Carowinds
p. 803.548.0100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 10 in Fort Mill
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carowinds
Best Western Carowinds
#2 of 10 in Fort Mill
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
#8 of 10 in Fort Mill
253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Mill
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte/Ayrsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at Carowinds

Address: 3560 Lakemont Blvd, Lakemont Business Park, Fort Mill, SC 29708-6204 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Carowinds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our newly remodeled Quality Inn Carowinds Fort Mill, SC. Experience our new accommodations and exceptional location. Just minutes from Charlotte, NC (via I-77 North), Rock Hill SC (via I-77 South), 485 Interchange. We are located across the street from Carowinds Amusement Park, only 15 minutes from Charlotte Douglas International Airport, Charlotte Hornets NBA Arena and 30 minutes from NASCAR's Lowes Motor Speedway. Visit our nearby premier golf courses, Knights AAA Baseball Stadium, Renaissance, Ramblewood, Winget Parks and the newly developed Manchester Fields. We host our guest daily to our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. We offer microwave, refrigerator, coffee makers, complimentary local calls and high speed Internet in all our guest rooms. Wireless Internet is also available in our guest rooms and lobby. Dine at your favorite nearby restaurants such as Cracker Barrel or T-bones on the Lake Olive Garden. Finally please know that we are a perfect choice for leisure & business travelers as we support the travel needs for the following neighboring companies Mood, Leinier Healthcare, Sunbelt Rentals, American Red Cross, Averitt Express, TJX, Black & Decker and Morningstar Ministries to name a few. It would be our honor to host you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Holiday Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing