We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town, Great Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gaffney
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A work assignment took me to Gaffney, SC for the Annual Farm Equipment Exhibit and Antique Bikes on Main event in Chesnee, SC.

Familiar with many small towns throughout the eastern US, I didn't expect much. What I got was a super clean room, friendly staff and a quiet. Sure, that's what you think you're always paying for, but rarely does a property do all the little things so well.

I was especially impressed with Crystal in Housekeeping (the life blood of a property) and Jennifer at the front desk. I highly recommend the Red Roof Inn in Gaffney.

Room Tip: If available, and not needed by differently abled travelers, the handicapped accessible rooms are ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gaffney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are always glad to hear from our guests. It is very important to us that our guests feel that we have a clean property with friendly employees. I will pass your compliments along to Crystal and Jennifer, and I am sure that they will be happy that they were able to make your stay more pleasant. We will be looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Our room bathtub needed draino, no fitness center, no elevator, but good service, clean, and near good restaurants. Gaffney is a small town but, growing and changing. This Red Roof Inn should upgrade and change with the rest of the chains. It has a good staff running it already. With more money put into it for updated features, it will be great for people to stay and return again. For now it is basic, better than sleeping outside.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed overnight on our way to DC.
Sympathic staff, nice rooms, quite....good continental breakfast....nothing negative to say.
Good rate for the service offered (travel coupons).
I do not have anything negative to say.
Would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The beds are horribly hard and uncomfortable,flat pillows,dirty carpet and walls and very noisy. Can hear screaming children and footsteps. Not impresses and wont be back. Was disturbed and asked to move my truck when it was already parked properly. No coffee in room. Only good thing is very nice flat screen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosuper84me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I just recently stayed in this hotel due to unfortunate circumstances and I have to say that the employee working helped us out tremendously. The room was very much satisfactory, the bed was comfortable and when we asked for an extra pillow we received one. The third shift employee even had coffee ready for us earlier than the allotted time for breakfast. I was extremely pleased with every one at the hotel and thankful for their service, next time we are travelling thru we will definitely be staying with them. Thank you for making a horrible night turn into a good one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh P, Owner at Red Roof Inn Gaffney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that we were able to help you with your emergency accommodation needs. We always do our best to make our guests comfortable and happy. Please feel free to come back and see us anytime, even if it isn't an emergency! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is in a nice location but needs to be remodeled. The carpets and walls were dirty. I think my allergies kicked in from the dusty room. The mattress was mushy, sloppy, and flat. One pillow looked like it was used. The table was dirty. The breakfast was ok, the waffles and donuts were great but the coffee was like water. I've stayed in much nicer Red Roofs. My advice: stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decljust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Gaffney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. We are in the process of updating and remodeling our hotel. All of our queen mattresses have already been replaced, so I am assuming you are referring to one of our king beds. They will all be replaced within the next few months, and new paint and carpet will be added to the rooms in the near future. I can assure you that your pillow was not used. We pride ourselves on our customer service here, and we feel badly that you were not pleased. We did not receive a complaint from you, so we did not have the chance to make it right. If you decide to return I am sure that we could make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

RED ROOF INN. 132 New Painter Dr. Gaffney Sc. AT check in I did not receive bottle of water per the redi card agreement or one each day i stayed,The first room #119 was unacceptable to stay in the bathroom floor had not been swept or properly cleaned there was built up urine on the toilet , dust on the furniture. The second room #117 the carpet coming up from the floor at the bathroom door and ragged and stained the floor had not been vacuumed the because there was m&m on the floor, two of the lamps were unplugged had to pull out the night stand to plug in lamp there was trash and dirt behind it.. The refrigerator made so much noise i had to unplug it to sleep. I would have moved to another hotel but unable to find one available in the area. I told the front desk about all the problems she said sorry they just hired three new maids that obviously they need to be trained and checked behind , I told them i stay here every time i come to Gaffney South Carolina and i will not stay here again and hope this is not problem with all Red Roof Inns. With the disable car with no tag on it on blocks in parking lot , stains on the linens. This hotel needs a lot of repair AND NEW MANAGEMENT THAT CARES

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paresh P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gaffney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

I'm very sorry that you did not like our hotel, but calling it a "crack" hotel is a bit much. The rooms you said were so terrible have been rented before and since by nice, clean customers, and no one has complained. The issues you mentioned were not found in the room. You declined housekeeping for the duration of your stay. We would have been more than happy to clean your room while you watched to be sure it was to your satisfaction, but you chose to have no one clean it. We go out of our way to please our guests here, and that is why we have so many regular guests. There were plenty of other places to stay in Gaffney, but you chose not to check out and go someplace else. Availability in Gaffney was wide open for the entire time you were here. If you would have given us a chance to make everything satisfactory for you, we would have. In any case, I hope your further travels are more to your liking. If you decide to come back in the future, we will make sure you are happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaffney
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn-Gaffney
Quality Inn-Gaffney
#1 of 8 in Gaffney
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 8 in Gaffney
59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaffney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaffney
Hampton Inn Gaffney
#2 of 8 in Gaffney
403 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Gaffney
Super 8 Gaffney
#7 of 8 in Gaffney
126 reviews
16.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gaffney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gaffney

Address: 132 New Painter Dr, Gaffney, SC 29341-2626
Region: United States > South Carolina > Gaffney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gaffney
Price Range: £54 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gaffney 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn of Gaffney is conveniently located off of I-85 on exit 90. We are very close to Premium Outlets (formerly Prime Outlets) and the Gaffney Entertainment Center, which features movie theaters, bowling, and an arcade. There are several restaurants on this exit, including Outback Steakhouse, Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Clock Restaurant, fast-food, and the food court at the mall. There is a Dairy Queen and a Starbucks within walking distance to satisfy your cravings. We are also within a few minutes drive of both Limestone College and Garner-Webb University. Many local businesses which concern and cater to truckers are nearby as well, such as Freightliner, Jetliner, Nestle, and Brown's Packing Company. We do offer discounts such as AAA, AARP, Seniors, CDL, and various corporate rates, along with discounted rates for Limestone College. Red Roof Inn of Gaffney accepts your pet at no extra charge! We offer many room types, including smoking and non-smoking and jacuzzi rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gaffney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaffney Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing