We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay i ever had” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Lodge

Homestead Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestead Lodge
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gaffney
gaffney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst stay i ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Never again. Rather spend a little more money to make it a good night at another mottel. don't stay in the one in gaffney south carolina. well if you love roches,slipery tubs shower head don't work, and towels with holes.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie198069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    1
    2
    9
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I just spent my second stay at the motel and again found it a good value at $39.99. A very clean, large room, comfortable bed and quiet. They seemed about to open the pool, had a new big roadside LED sign and had added a K Cup coffee maker to the room. I usually stay at Hiltons but for that rate I passed the Hampton by. Nice comfortable weel maintained older property.

Room Tip: I always ask for a nice quiet room with a coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

I have stayed at Homestead Lodge in Charlotte several times and was happy with an airport room for $49 so thought I would try this one. Older property ,nice lobby, clean room but furniture was worn. I was pleased for $35.

Room Tip: I just told them I needed a super clean quite room. I mentioned having read of a bug problem and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

First of all they are not a good price and have a pool that is drained and molded. The rooms smell like moth balls. The beds are so uncomfortable! They had roaches and let me tell you, house keeping and customer service is the worst. They cursed me and my daughter to get out cause i was ten min past check out time. I am livid about this nasty dump and will make sure they are reported. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisO63
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The folks at the front desk were nice but it's rough once you leave the office. You get what you pay for. I was on a tight budget but shoulda paid $10/nite for a cleaner room.

Room Tip: Don't stop. Keep going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I have read several reviews about this hotel. Unfortunately, I was in a situation where I had to get hotel rooms quite frequently & it is expensive. I had no better choice but to stay here, and I stayed several times, so my opinion isn't based off of one or two stays. The owner was always very very nice to me, but as for ANYONE and EVERYONE else.. rude. Rude, rude, rude. And absolutely nothing professional about them, whatsoever. I also experienced always being told that there were no single rooms left, and had to always pay for a double. Once, we were put in a room where the a/c didn't even cool. They had to put us in a bigger room for the same price. They never even bothered to see WHY the other a/c wasn't cooling. The hotel is very poorly maintenanced. The a/c's have probably never ever been looked at, and absolutely have not ever been replaced. The hotel does have bugs. I would leave all my things in my car, and go down each morning any grab clothes before showering. Also, room service is very poor. Im unsure of how often they wash their sheets and blankets, and when I ran out of toilet paper, or clean towels, I either had to go to the front and get it myself, or wait til the next morning at around noon for room service to bring new ones. I do not ever plan to return, and hate that I was ever in a situation where I had to stay there. The location is decent, not far from restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores, but if you have the extra money, i'd go for another hotel in the area. There are several nicer ones. As a former reviewer said, if u just need somewhere to crash, it will do the job. Just check for bugs when you leave.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizzybugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Ok its about the cheapest place to stay when your money is low. But if that is your case bring your roach spray because this is truly the roach motel. Everyone (staff) was very nice but my suite cases are still out on my porch until I have time to shake out everything and fumigate. Stale smelling rooms, raggedy towels, smoking burns on rough blankets. One good thing is the location. Bathroom was clean - but the roaches just put a damper on everything. I paid for one guest = not the roach family! How hard or expensive can it be to exterminate!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FaithfulTravelerNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaffney hotels
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
Red Roof Inn Gaffney
#3 of 8 in Gaffney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaffney
Hampton Inn Gaffney
#1 of 8 in Gaffney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn-Gaffney
Quality Inn-Gaffney
#2 of 8 in Gaffney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaffney
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Gaffney
Super 8 Gaffney
#7 of 8 in Gaffney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 8 in Gaffney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Lodge

Property: Homestead Lodge
Address: 136 Peachoid Rd, Gaffney, SC 29341-2734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Gaffney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gaffney
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Homestead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing