We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”
Review of Waters Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waters Edge Resort
Reviewed 15 April 2013

A family friend owns 2 condo's here and offered us a week's stay. The ammenities include an indoor, heated pool, an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and the most beautiful, clean beach with views from every single unit! Very friendly, clean throughout. A mix of guests-families and "snowbirds". The unit we stayed in had everything we needed-washer/dryer, cooking and cleaning supplies, beach necessities. We LOVED our stay! The weather wasn't what we wanted but obviously no one can have control of that. We found alot to do.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIslandgirl120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Waters Edge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

My family and I decided at the last minute to take an overnight trip to Garden City to celebrate the holidays with my sister and her family. We had a party of eight, so we needed a large condo unit. After searching several search engines, we came across the Waters Edge Resort, and a 3BR unit for a very reasonable price. Having lived down at Garden City for many years, I was familiar with the location, and to get a large unit like this that was not only oceanfront, but available for just one night, seemed to be the perfect answer to our accommodations' needs.

First, the positives. Despite check-in time being at 4pm, we arrived around 1pm and were warmly welcomed by the staff and able to check in early, which was a pleasant surprise. We also discovered that the on-site bar and cafe were both open during this time of year, which we did not expect with it being the down season. After taking an elevator ride up to the 7th floor, we attempted to enter our unit, but struggled with the entry lock/key. After several attempts, we had to send someone back down to the front desk to request assistance. Maintenance was dispatched to our unit, and he showed us the "secret" to these locks, which was a little unorthodoxed. However, we were able to finally get into our unit, and what a pleasant surprise it was. The condo was layed-out in a very comfortable and spacious way, with a "shotgun" hallway leading to all three bedrooms. The kitchen was clean and modern, and the unit itself was painted in a tropical, festive blue with furniture that was a bit outdated but comfortable. The bedrooms were of good size, especially the master, which sported a king-sized bed and a balcony overlooking the ocean. When they say oceanfront, they mean it! The water was literally lapping at the edge of the property.

The beds were a bit soft; you could tell that economy was more prevalant than expense, but the beds slept fine for the one night that we spent. There were two full baths, plus a half-bath in the hallway that ended up being very convenient for our guests. The view was spectacular from the living room balcony, and the balcony itself was very spacious, unusual for an condo like this. In addition, having a washer/dryer was also a benefit after a swim in the pool/hottub.

While we didn't have time to take advantage of the bar and cafe, we did stop in for a peek. The bar seemed to be nice, and that night they were having a two-person accoustic show, which was again unusual for the time of year. Had we not have made previous plans for the evening, we would have definitely taken advantage of the opportunity to sit oceanfront and listen to a good band while enjoying a cocktail. In addition, the cafe menu was posted on the door, and there seemed to be a nice selection of simple foods (burgers, chicken, etc.) at very reasonable prices for a resort location. Even the breakfast menu was very appealing, though we didn't take advantage.

The indoor pool was a great positive, and it was much larger than expected. It was very warm, and the kids really enjoyed it. The hot tub inside was also very nice, although the large hottub outside was ever nicer - if you could stand the cold air getting out to it! The whole pool experience really made the vacation nice for the kids.

Now, the negatives. The front door to our unit was covered in rust - looked like the door had not been touched in years. Just a very disappointing first impression for us. In the third bedroom, the heat did not work, and on this particular night, temperatures dropped into the upper 30's. I had the misfortune of being assigned to this room, and it was a very cold night of sleep to say the least. Unfortunately we did not discover this until late in the evening, when we closed the door to the room, and at that time it was just too late to call maintenance. Overall, the unit was "cozy", but definitely could have used some upgrading. There were TVs in the master and third bedrooms, which was nice, but having one in the 2nd bedroom would have been nice also. The television in the living area was an old 25" tube-style, and while I know most people don't watch a whole lot of TV while at the beach, having at least a 32" flat screen would have made viewing TV at night a lot more enjoyable, given the low prices of those units these days. And just a small note, but maybe having one of the bedrooms with two double beds instead of a queen would be a big upgrade, considering that most families that stay here have children.

Overall, this place has a lot of potential, and is somewhere that we will give a lot of consideration to for a return visit in the summer. The room layouts are very nice and spacious, the views great, and the location couldn't be more convenient. If the ownership would just put a little money into some minor upgrades (exterior of property, inside units), it could be one of the nicer venues on the south end of the beach, especially for the price. We will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: We had an end unit that had a very large balcony. Also, the views are breathtaking, so request a hig...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nightowl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed in room 401, and were very impressed. Good wifi, stocked kitchen with utensils, plates, etc. the beds were comfortable, and very spacious for 4 people.

The best asset was the patio that overlooked the beach -- it was accessible from both the master bedroom and the living room, and easily had room for 8 or more people.

The beach is literally steps from the door, and going to bed while hearing the waves crash below is a real treat. Will definitely stay he again!

Room Tip: All of the condos are different, but I can tell you that 401 was awesome.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CreativeLinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I first stayed at Water's Edge when I was five, and later eight years old, with family. Eleven years later, I decided to go back with friends. We stayed in room 1410, and it kept the three of us very comfortably. Master bedroom was very big, with a nice, large en suite washroom. The common washroom was very clean and updated as well. No weird smells, or stains, or broken equipment. Some pots and pans had loose handles but that's nothing to cry about. We lucked out, staying the last week of October, we had cloud-free mid 80's weather. It also had a mature crowd, mostly retired seniors, as appose to a bunch of wild teenagers and little kids being all loud and what-not. Ocean was very warm, and the waves were just as big as I remembered as a kid. The outdoor pool was sort of chilly as I imagine they do not put the heater on during the off seasons, however, the indoor pool was great, along with both jacuzzis. They had also in the past few years, updated the elevators, which I remember as a kid were super slow. We paid just a tiny bit over $100.00 a night. Try to find another oceanfront condo for that price. Also, it seems as though they clean the hell outta the room after each rental, because the cleaning crews were going at the rooms next to us (which had people recently check out) for several hours.

Things that I would note, on the "bad" side of things:

-At night, a few large beetles would fall into the hot tub, and some other debris

-Our room didn't have wi-fi, it DID have high speed internet, however not wireless. Some rooms do have wireless, however, along with the hot tub/bar area has wireless, so you'd have to go downstairs to use it.

-Cable in the master bedroom didn't seem to work on the TV, but we never looked into it at all, could have simply just been unplugged, or just using the remote wrong.


If you are having doubts about this place, please set them aside. We had an amazing week, everything was just simply amazing. If you happen to land a room you are unsatisfactory with, just go speak to someone in the office I'm sure they will help you out. If you get a room like I did and don't like it then you are simply just expecting way to much for what you are paying, go rent a million dollar home across the street instead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

"Stayed 7 days at Waters Edge room 110 .. great view , up dated , and comfortable bed. Pool was open until 12 which was nice as others close at 10. You do not have to drag your luggage across the road as the parking garage is attached, The view was amazing and you were on the beach as close as i have ever been in a ocean front .. No traffic and it was quite peaceful area .. i have stayed at other resorts and paid much more they were fancier in furniture and public areas but not as peaceful and relaxing. Staff were nice the security guard was helpful and tried to help us get the internet working at midnight when maintenance was not there and the maintenance man was great the wireless was not working in our room and he made 3 trips to fix it with out a complaint.. Staff were pleasant and helpful ..i was very worried when i read the reviews prior to getting to Waters Edge and when i seen the lobby area however once in the office and our room this had to be the nicest stay in Myrtle Beach. There were no timeshare people bugging you and the beach was not packed, people were friendly. If you want touristy , board walk loud , and young drunks screaming don't stay here. If you want peace and relaxation and friendly people and staff stay here. oh and the lady in the gift shop is awesome."

Room Tip: If you dont like your room ask to see another staff is very friendly and helpful
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom unit. Wonderful experience. Service was great. room was comfy and clean.Beautiful views of the ocean. Looking forward to returning. We booked this little get a way through bookit.com. Got an excellent rate

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katyshak36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I just want to start off by saying that I stayed in Unit 1112 (which was a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath unit with a kitchen and a spacious family room). The units appeared to vary by owner and I'm not sure how nice all of the units are so beware...I got the feeling that some units were not nearly as nice as the one that we stayed in. All units in this complex feature a balcony facing out to the ocean...from our balcony, I saw dolphins on multiple occasions. The community aspects of this complex were fairly nice and clean. The outside pool and hot tub were considerably more appealing in terms of cleanliness than the indoor poor and hot tub. The location of this complex is probably a half mile to the pier where there is live music at night. I would definitely stay in this unit or another unit owned by Mel and Belinda because they really do take care of their property and make the unit feel welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#4 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
64 reviews
9.2 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
10.0 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,891 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Address: 1012 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-8799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garden City Beach
Price Range: £107 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waters Edge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the finest in one, two and three bedroom fully furnished condos ( all oceanfront ) for the price of a regular hotel room. All suites include fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves washer and dryers and private balconies for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Garden City Beach
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing