We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff nice; breakfast lousy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Very helpful front desk staff brought me an internet cable connector and replaced a stained, too-low desk chair immediately upon request. Agree that the parking lot view is ugly, but the marina view is lovely Big complaint was the breakfast: eggs nearly inedible; NO breakfast meat (I asked for bacon or sausage and the attendant was shocked! Funny-- the next night I stayed in the Hampton Inn in Charleston and they serve ham with the buffet). Also, you have to ask for REAL butter. One lousy flavor of yogurt:raspberry. Anyone ever hear of strawberry, banana or whatever? Maybe I was spoiled by the superior breakfast that the Fairfield Inn provides, also free.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ludyjynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

The bed was comfortable although I would prefer a pillow-top mattress for a better night's sleep. The bath and shower were fine. I was disappointed in Georgetown in that there is a stinky paper mill and steel mill looming over the historic district.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebVPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

This is still the best Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in! I stayed here one year ago and again this year.

Very clean rooms with crisp and clean beds. The rooms and building are well maintained all around especially considering it is a waterfront property.

The hotel is on the water overlooking the marina below and the river. You get nice views on the waterside, but there's nothing special to see from the other side of the building. This is a great location to arrive by boat and stay in the hotel, which is what we did. The marina has carts to bring your stuff to the hotel. There is a small pool (wish it was heated!).

The hotel is about one mile from historic downtown. You can walk or take a taxi. There's a restaurant next door and a Taco Bell a half mile down the road, but no other stores right there.

The staff at the front desk, breakfast area, and maids are all extremely friendly and trying hard to do a good job.

Breakfast is as good or better than other Hampton Inns with cereal, donuts, fried eggs, waffle maker, and fruit. The seating area is large enough.

I'm looking forward to coming back next year if not sooner! This is an excellent hotel for the price.

Stayed: April 2009
1  Thank crunchie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Great location,sooo clean,lovely rooms,great hot breakfast,large breakfast room,the lady who cooks breakfast was so nice and efficient and keeps the area so clean. The girl who runs the desk was sooo helpful and had a great attitude. Lovely beds and so comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Stayed at the Hampton Inn for a business trip. Its a good half way point between Charleston and Myrtle Beach. The hotel was a typical older Hampton. I stayed in a waterfront room, but since there was only a non-opening window, it really didnt matter.

The room had a musty smell, but thats typical on the water. Not much to do in Georgetown, but maybe everything is closed on Sunday.

Nice beds, nice breakfast. Good stay at the Hampton.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cruze-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Between the cookies in the afternoon, the great breakfast and clean and comfortable room you can't miss here. I stayed at the hotel for a week on business and the staff was very helpful for making recommendations, and extreamly friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, although the bed wasa little hard for my tastes. They are centrally located and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank MDMORG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

The Hampton in Georgetown is not very good. There were several problems: The AC in the room cycled on and off too often, so I had to put it on fan mode so I could sleep. There were pieces of the bed sticking out that I scraped my leg on. The fluorescent lights in the bathroom took a while to turn on. The toilet did not flush well, requiring the handle to be held down. There was some mold and mildew in the bathroom in the adjacent room my parents were in. The continental breakfast had very few choices. However, the location is very good and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jnelson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Georgetown
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
13.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,905 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina

Address: 420 Marina Dr, Georgetown, SC 29440-2409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range: £81 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing