We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Step Back in Time.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansfield Plantation
Ranked #1 of 3 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another Step Back in Time.....”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful experience! We were there celebrating 46 years of marriage.....and there were also 3 sets of newlyweds! As the saying goes "there were no rooms at the Inn"! Kathryn had a full house, serving a sumptuous breakfast each day to about 20 of us. The stuffed French toast was to die for!
Our room, in one of the carriage houses was lovely, comfy bed, a fridge to hold our wines and bubbly.....and leftovers! SCers know how to eat!
The property also has refurbed stables, as well as 6 original slave quarters, one of which has been brought back to originality, and the other ones are slowly being worked on. They also have the only surviving 'rice crib' left in the area. Beautiful grounds on which to meander, or ride one of their bikes around.

One 'heads up': it's a looonnnggg road in off the main entrance. Don't doubt: you WILL get there! We will definitely try them again. A lovely experience. On to "47"!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    14
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

In walking the grounds, one sees the layout of an antebellum rice plantation, including original slave cabins, in various states of decay. There are many acres to explore in a quiet atmosphere. The owners are in the process of saving the buildings. It is pet friendly but in saying that, be aware that dogs can bark at night if left unattended. The room we stayed in had low ceilings but was comfortable. The grounds are astoundingly beautiful. Breakfast was hearty and delicious.

Room Tip: If you are tall, avoid the top story rooms in the outbuildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

but we have been here a couple of times and it is one of our favorite places, ever. I have brought my parents from Colorado here, and now our best friends have shared the experience as well. You will always remember your stay here, for all the right reasons.

Beautiful, comfortable rooms. Fabulous grounds - swings, hammocks, on the water's edge, and long drive with large live-oak trees draped in moss for the approach. We had a fire both nights out on one of the patios and gazed at the stars. There is a lot of history here, and you can feel it and appreciate it. You will drive by the slave cabins and chapel on your way in and it is a great place to take a walk and explore and appreciate. They are begging for restoration and that is coming in bits as they can...

Incredible breakfast that is worth the stay by itself. You are bound to make some friends here, even if just for an hour or two.

Kathryn, thanks again for everything. You are the perfect hostess and caretaker for this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms online to see what suits you. There is a variety. Anybody with any difficulty cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent two nights at Mansfield Plantation in April, and it was just beautiful. The room was a delight, extremely comfortable with enough chairs to sit and read in the evening and an abundance of space. The grounds are beautiful, and the breakfasts are fabulous. Kathryn is a gem and bends over backwards to make everyone happy. It was not far from the historical portion of Georgetown (10 minutes) and we simply can't wait to go back. It is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: There is only one (maybe two?) room with a king bed, which we wanted. It is the Man room, and was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtoninarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent 2 nights enjoying the atmosphere and hospitality provided by Kathryn. It was a short detour from charleston with the grand show plantations. We visited Boone Hall but it was so much better to stay on a plantation and get a feel for what it was like.

The owner is restoring the buildings in which the plantation slaves lived and worked.

It is so tranquil and peaceful with the sweeping avenue of trees to greet visitors at the end of a long track leading to the house.

Rooms are in the outbuildings and are furnished to an excellent standard.

Real southern hospitality in a unique setting.

Room Tip: Look on the website for the different room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having just a few days for a trip to the coast of South Carolina, we looked at various options online. We had never heard of Mansfield Plantation and had not visited Georgetown, South Carolina. We now know we made exactly the right choice for us. We discovered that Mansfield Plantation is a destination in itself; time spent in the Georgetown area is a bonus. Kathryn Green greeted us after we drove through the magnificent oak alley to the plantation house. She showed us to our room and prepared memorable breakfasts for us on the two mornings of our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and hope we will someday have an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: If you have questions after viewing photographs of the rooms, simply ask Kathryn Green. She gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Need a little get away? This is the place to go. Treat yourself to a wonderful place to stay, relax, ride bike, or just sit in a swing or rocker to read a book. My husband and I got away last weekend and stayed in the old schoolhouse. The a commendations were wonderful. The breakfasts that Kathryn fixed were absolutely delicious! On Sunday she fixed shrimp and grits as well as stuffed French toast. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,717 reviews
11.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,834 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Plantation

Property: Mansfield Plantation
Address: 1776 Mansfield Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-6923
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield Plantation (ca. 1718) is a well-preserved, antebellum rice plantation on the banks of the Black River in Georgetown, South Carolina. Today, Mansfield still retains the old world charm and elegance of a bygone era. With over 1,000 acres of property, Mansfield Plantation offers guests the unique opportunity to step back in time and experience life on a Southern Plantation.A gourmet breakfast buffet is served each morning in the main house, with offerings such as stuffed French toast, poached pears, and Kathryn's always-changing egg bake. Mansfield is sensitive to guests food allergies and preferences, so just ask!The plantation has three surrounding properties with unique guests suites in each. The North Guest House has four private suites, while the School House has two guest rooms. The Old Kitchen House has two lower-level suites and one upstairs suite. All nine guests suites have a private entrance, private bathroom, as well as many amenities from a modern hotel (satellite TV, coffee maker, mini fridge, etc.)Rent a room and stay for the weekend, or rent the entire plantation grounds! And look for Mansfield in "The Patriot", which was filmed on-location at Mansfield.As seen in Garden & Gun, Charleston Magazine, South Carolina Homes & Gardens, on CNN, and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing