We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time”

Hopsewee Plantation
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hopsewee Plantation is an original lowcountry rice plantation on the North Santee Rive built between 1735 and 1740. Birthplace of Thomas Lynch Jr., Hopsewee is one of just 12 remaining birthplaces of Signers of the Declaration of Independence. The home has not been modified from its original design and is furnished with 18th and 19th century antiques. Two original slave cabins remain on the property. The guided tour explores the history of the Patriots and Planters who lived at Hopsewee while you explore the architectural features of the house from Attic to Cellar. Enjoy the hour long tour or just come for lunch in The River Oak Cottage Tearoom with Lowcountry favorites such as Shrimp and Grits, Pulled Pork, Soups and Sandwiches and our Southern Tea service modeled after a British Afternoon Tea.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This original rice plantation home is unchanged on the outside since before the civil war. The house is set in lovely grounds overlooking the river. We arrived and shared the full southern tea so that we each got a taste of the exquisite home cooked savoury plates and cakes. There were over 50 teas to choose from, I really enjoyed my Buckingham Palace Tea as served at the Queens garden parties. The family still live in the house and were in the tearoom when we were there. Friday was a good day to go as it was quiet and there were only six of us that went on a guided tour of the house. After the tour we explored the grounds and went in the original slave cabins. When we returned to the beautiful tearoom, the owner made us feel very welcome. This experience gives you a real feeling of bygone days and not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    97
    30
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Statesville NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, interesting place”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The guide was very good, and provided a lot of interesting information. It's a lovely old home that is still lived in. Beautiful grounds, and view of the river.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real step back into history and what a beautiful cafe!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The house was built in 1735 near Georgetown, South Carolina and is the birthplace of Thomas Lynch, Jr., a signer of the Declaration of Independence. It was a Low country rice plantation, known far and wide for its particular brand of rice. The beautiful house stands next to the North Santee River. It's been beautiful maintained and is a fine example of a Carolina plantation house, showing West Indian influence, with its double-tiered piazza and dormered hip roof. It's not as big as the Antebellum plantations that ran the cotton industry, but it still stunning. We were told that slaves were bought at a premium to work on SCarolina rice plantations because they brought with them specific knowledge of rice production from West Africa that made them very valuable to the rice plantation owner who depended on their knowledge, skills, and strength to work on the plantation.

The current owners, Frank and Rajean Beattie lovingly tend this historic site. Hopsewee also boasts a fantastic tea room in the River Oak Cottage, where you will enjoy an elegant Tea in the English tradition with flavorful Southern inspiration. You have to try the scrumptious selection of savories, scones and sweets, with over a dozen varieties of English teas. We had a marvelous lunch there. They even have gluten-free options - real treat! Here's a link for more info: http://www.hopsewee.com/about.php

Great spot for families, couples and friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank YvonneMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Tour, Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Historic very old small rice plantation home still lived in, on the river. Enjoyed the tour given by knowledgeable Jean. No photos allowed inside. Many period pieces. Then ate at the Tea Room. Shrimp 'n grits were yummy as was the side spicy southern rice. Fancy dishes, serving pieces and china tea cups atop white crisp table cloths were a lovely touch. Would return again for lunch. Tour is $17 pp. Lunch is also additional.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rncarol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“We're ready to move here!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Hopsewee home is located in a beautiful setting on the river, but the mosquitoes were fierce....think they were on steroids! Thankfully, there was a basket with lots of bug spray located near the parking lot. Our tour guide, Sophia, was very nice and informative....we learned a lot from her. She was great!
This is a beautiful home with 4 rooms downstairs, 4 rooms upstairs, a main hall and cellar. There is a separate Tea Room on the property; we didn't eat there as we had just had breakfast.
Don't miss this beautiful place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hopsewee Plantation also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hopsewee Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing