We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service”
Review of River Room

River Room
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The River Room has served delectable coastal-influenced fare to a tremendous following of loyal patrons since 1984.Moderately-priced lunch items include our World Famous Shrimp and Grits, Shrimp Creole and Pecan Chicken Salad served with apples and grapes.The dinner menu features fresh, grilled fish such as Carolina grouper, yellow-fin tuna and Atlantic salmon. Chef specialties include Herb-crusted Grouper, McClellanville Crab Cakes and Twin Filets of Beef with Blue Cheese ButterThe River Room is located in the historic J.B. Steel Building.In 1888 when the J.B. Steele Building opened, it housed two businesses known as the Steele-Moses stores. Downstairs, customers inspected dry goods and groceries displayed on massive hardwood counters, and upstairs they could be fitted for custom-made hats.Today, the building’s history is evident throughout and is enhanced with tasteful nostalgic décor. The dining room extends 50 feet into the Sampit River; its panoramic windows offer expansive harbor views. Nautical and turn-of-the-century antiques are on display, and an intimate bar showcases the restaurant’s wine collection.Children will surely make a beeline for the giant reef aquarium filled with colorful sea life.
Reston
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We are staying in Surfside, SC, and had dinner here with family. It was a very good experience. The grouper was especially good as were the crab ball appetizers. Service was good and the views of the river were great. Would definitely recommend. Georgetown was about a 30 min drive from Surfside. Nice town to visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donducker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    168
    52
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service, cold food”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We are a British family travelling up the coast from Florida to Washington DC. We were very much looking forward to our stay in Georgetown and particularly our planned meal at the famed River Room. While the scenery is great, the wine was nice, the bread tasty and the blue cheese and scallion homemade chips delicious, we were really let down by the main courses. Unfortunately, after having shared a starter, it took over an hour for our main courses to arrive. Our party had a pear and blue cheese salad, a "bubba gump" shrimp pasta dish and my entrée was the wasabi tuna. Whilst the salad and pasta were okay, my wasabi tuna was "rare" to the point of being raw (and I like my tuna rare), the mashed potato cold and the "sautéed" vegetables under-microwaved. We didn't bother with dessert as we had lost our appetite by that point, which was a shame because the peanut putter pie looked promising.

I will say that the waitress took my tuna off the bill, which was fair. However, there was no apology for the extremely slow service and the waitress' explanation for the undercooked tuna was that "well, the chef does like it very raw - too raw, in fact" which is fine if the chef were going to eat it! In any event, "rare" does not mean cold and chewy in the middle: that's raw!

Sadly, I couldn't recommend the River Room to anyone because, whether the restaurant was simply having a bad day, there seemed to be a bit of complacency about the food from the waiting staff, which wasn't really warranted.

Just my two cents.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rascacielossoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fried is the way to go.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Sometimes I just crave fried shrimp and oysters. This is the place to go. Great cold slaw. Kids will like watching the boats on the river and the fish tank. Good family place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View, Delicious Food...Plus”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've visited Georgetown numerous times but it has always been off-season when many of the local shops are closed. This year we vacationed in June, so in addition to dining at the River Room which is our favorite restaurant in the area, we were able to enjoy strolling the river boardwalk and browsing all the quaint shops along main street.

The River Room specializes in a vast array of delicious, freshly made seafood dishes. There are also options for those who prefer poultry or meat. We love the seafood as well as the fact that they will prepare items to meet your personal dietary needs (broiled versus fried, etc.) if requested. Desserts are yummy too! The atmosphere is very comfortable, staff is friendly, responsive and eager to please, portions are plentiful, pricing is reasonable and you get a great view from several sections of the restaurant....What can be better? Can't wait to return!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I would go back but this time”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just had lunch there today. Pretty views of the river from most tables. Open & friendly atmosphere. We both ordered salads - husband Cesar was good & perfectly dressed; me shrimp veg salad was full of vegs as represented and the herb dressing was flavorful AND they removed the shrimp tails, thank you. Our water & tea glasses were kept full by a busy, but very efficient waitress. Food did not take as long as we expected - there were only 3 empty tables when we walked in on a Tuesday just before 1 pm and not an empty table when we left. Sandwiches looked great & that's what we'd order next time with the only thing we would do differently is NOT to order the shrimp & grits. While presentation nice, grits were good, shrimp cooked perfectly (and without tails thank you) we were not happy with inexpensive Kilbasa, it really needed sausage or bacon. Shrimp & grits were better at Rice Paddy's up the street. Nice touch with huge bouquet fresh flowers in the ladies room.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quasibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Room also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing