We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, very interesting.”

Kaminski House Museum
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Guided tours take place at: 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM. Museum Shop is open from 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Located in historic Georgetown, South Carolina, the Kaminski House Museum offers antiques, architecture, and history all wrapped up in a bow of Southern hospitality. Meticulously preserved, you will experience life in Georgetown from the 18th Century though the two Great Wars as you take a guided tour and listen to intriguing tales of South Carolinians.
Menifee, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tour, very interesting.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband went to play golf at Wedgefield Plantation so I went to Georgetown nearby. The Kaminski House is in the Historic downtown district. The tour guide Diane was a delightful lady that really knows the history of the house. It isn't a giant plantation house but the antiques inside are beautiful and you get to see the house next door too. Nice way to spend the morning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    23
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic home and museum”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Excellent tour of an historic home on the waterfront in Georgetown. We had a fairly knowledgeable guide. This home was right across the street from our B&B.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay, if you want to kill some time.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Small Museum with lots of memorabilia. Good if you want to kill an hour or so. I like the Original log books, very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank momofcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting house tour”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The house tour includes the history of the house and family, as well as the period furniture. I would recommend this tour as part of a day spent in Georgetown, SC.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pme55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped by to waste a little time before a tour we had scheduled later on in the day. We were immediately taken by the charm and kindness of the ladies in the museum store. Our docent was kind, engaging and knowledgeable. She kept by two boys (ages 6 & 17) involved throughout the tour. The house and the antiques were breathtaking and I learned a great deal about Georgetown and rice plantations. This is a do not miss tour if you are in Georgetown! We will come back and do it again next year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Antebellum806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaminski House Museum also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminski House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing