We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Y'all have a good view of this mom and pop home”

The Shaw House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shaw House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Yes, it's cluttered and there's no separate guest spot. But I stayed here before coming to live in Georgetown for a time, and Mary and Joe could not have been sweeter. Totally interested in me and my life, they did seem like a new elderly Southern aunt and uncle. I ended up settling in the neighborhood and Mary came to shop our yard sale. She told me all about her children and their life, and was perfectly happy for me to get my binoculars and bird watch the marsh that fronts their home.

So, en fin, for Souther hospitality, y'all can't beat the Shaw House. If you want a fancy breakfast and uncluttered surroundings, find a different place in G'town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitaowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Charming place, wonderful hosts. Amazing view and walking distance to the historic waterfront. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ILMDUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I felt exactly like I was visiting my aunt and uncle. The aunt and uncle who loved me; were always glad to see me and made me feel at home. The ones who always had time to sit down, talk and spend time with me. The same ones who had the time to spend with me because they let their house go! If you want to visit with the wonderful, aging, sight impaired inn keepers, in their home, this is the place for you! If you want a well run, dusted, cleaned, clutter free B& B, with a decent breakfast you better keep looking! The bed was clean, I think, and comfortable, but take your own clean pillow and just have coffee for breakfast.
View of the old rice fields from the large screened in porch is breath taking!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lucy30740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

As mentioned by another reviewer every flat surface had something on it. The plumbing was a bit dated and the room had a slight mustiness. Probably due to the fact that the house seems to ajoin a wetlands area. The breakfast was not much better than hotel breakfast. I did choose this rather than a hotel due to it being our anniversary, I wish it had been better. We did walk downtown and they were filming a movie which we watched for a while which was fun.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cnlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The innkeepers were both sweet and accommodating folks. We enjoyed our single night stay and wish we could have stayed longer. The bed was one of the more comfortable ones we have slept in in our travels. View over the old rice plantation fields was amazing, with a variety of birds that inhabited the immediate area. Georgetown is up and coming, new restaurants are opening on the water. A nice departure from the more tourist driven towns like Charleston. Reminiscent of Beaufort but on a slightly larger scale.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Staying alone, I chose the Shaw House over a hotel/motel for safety and was ever so pleased. While I am a young grandmother myself, I felt as if I was coming home each evening to my grand parents. The Shaws were such a welcome sight every evening and morning. The house was absolutely lovely; the view across the marsh wonderful and I don't know how they managed it, but the deer grazing in the back yard was the sprinkle on the cup cake as my daughter would say! The breakfast prepared each morning was delicious as well. Thankfully, I live in Charleston, and next will have the opportunity to see the Shaws during my visits Georgetown and hopefully stay with them the next time I have overnight business there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjaskiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We were very disappointed with this bed and breakfast. The house is in much need of updating and at the very least, a good paint job. It was just too cluttered--there was no room to set down any of our personal items--every surface was covered with stuff. The breakfast served in the morning was practically inedible--old fruit, a stale croissant and days old quiche. The hosts were very nice, but the house seems to be getting away from them.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColoradoSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
10.7 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#3 of 6 in Pawleys Island
207 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
13.2 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baxter's Brewhouse Inn
Baxter's Brewhouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Georgetown
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shaw House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shaw House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 613 Cypress St, Georgetown, SC 29440-3349
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range: £49 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing