We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of Belgian Beers and great mussels”
Review of The Trappe door

The Trappe door
Ranked #6 of 927 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Gastropub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great selection of Belgian Beers and great mussels”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you love Belgian beer and mussels, then The Trappe Door is the place to go. They always have a great selection of beer on tap and even more by the bottle. You can't go wrong with any of the mussels. Tuesday's are all you can eat mussels. Quickly becoming one of my favorite spots in Greenville.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corduroy910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    174
    38
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good beer menu”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The beer list was much more impressive than the limited food menu. The atmosphere was dark, and the food was just average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jdubbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service was bad, food still good, even though menu change omitted favorite”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Corvina is off the menu was wife's favorite item and the seafood pot dish has changed and doesn't sound as good as the previous one on the menu. The Carbonades Flamandes (Flemish beef stew) with flavored mayonnaises is still very good. Service was atrocious. My wife asked about desert and response was " we don't have that any more" and walked off. She never came back except for check. That was typical for service for the night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Too neat to pass up!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The locals all had nothing but great things to say about it, so we were delighted to have selected a great restaurant to try. The ambiance was wonderful and felt European. The beer list- wow! Amazing Belgium beers and an unbelievable server that was both knowledgeable and attentive. Tried an array of bites and all were delicious. The brussels were yum! We tried the onion soup, which we were advised is a curry base. I am personally not a huge fan of curry dishes and really enjoyed this one. It was unique and not as powerful as other curry dishes I have tasted. A real treat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious beer and food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Totally impressed by the Trappe Door! The ambiance was so fitting for the amazing selection of beers and food. Only Belgian alcohol available which made for a fun time selecting and sampling different types, the waitress was very informative of the food menu but also the beer selection too. She recommended us great tasting ones according to our domestic, speciality brew favorites. The food was amazing and the presentations were beautiful too. We had to stick around for dessert of which was just as fantastic as the beer, appetizers and entrees. If anyone is looking for a twist on their typical cuisine and beer, must check this place out! Ill be sure to visit again when I'm in town.

Helpful?
Thank ALMEMA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trappe door also viewed

 

Been to The Trappe door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing