We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're Back!”
Review of Schwaben House

Schwaben House
Ranked #26 of 907 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$36
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They're Back!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After a too long hiatus, Schwaben House has opened in their new location on Lauren's Road. The atmosphere is still charming and intimate. The food is indescribably delicious and the service is stellar! Kudos to Annette and staff. Welcome back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Runaway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    42
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have been waiting for awhile for the new location to open. We were not disappointed. We had a wonderful dinner. The decor was nice and the bar area was beautiful. The atmosphere was great with enough privacy for an intimate dinner. Our server was very informative and told us about the items that were not on the menu. I had the sea bass and it was prepared to perfection. My wife had the steak. Hers was equally good. Finished off with a delicious piece of German style cheesecake. A very nice relaxed evening that reminded me of our meals in Munich when we were not hurried at all by the wait staff. This is as good as it gets. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best in all of Greenville”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After months of waiting, this jewel of a restaurant finally re-opened. What they have done with the place is just fantastic. It is even cozier, warmer, and just better than before...and I had loved their old location. You have to see the new bar - it is a thing of beauty.

The food is what I expected - perfection. The appetizer was a simple little pickled wurst salad, and the flavors prepared my taste buds for the rest of the evening. For my main course, I had the sea-bass dish and I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Sea-bass is a delicate flavored fish and Chef Robert nailed it. For dessert, his strawberry mousse topped it all off. It was light, and tasted as though you had just bitten into a strawberry, without the seeds, yet creamy.

They have expanded their wine and beer list AND now have some awesome beers on tap.

I had the chance to talk with the owners and they have some pretty exciting ideas coming up. I won't give away anything here - but if you want to experience more original European food, keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas-0-Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelivable real German cuisine”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I visit the Schwaben House the first time. And they told me they just moved and reopened there resturant. They did a awesome job with remodeling that place.
It's warm, beautifull and everything screams "welcome" right in your face.
And the food is like it is in Germany!
... greate taste, beautifull arranged and yes German cuisine is always jusing a little more salt. And i loving it.
I'm in town for business and I will go there as often as I can.
Try it! ..you will not regret it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clemson, sc
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“German comfort food in an elegant and warm setting”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We were excited to learn Schwaben House had reopened in it's new location. We had been craving the fresh house salads, potato salad and perfectly prepared Wiener schnitzel through the cold winter months they were closed. The menu includes authentic German offerings and the food is made from fresh ingredients and tastes wonderful. The owner is always there to greet you and the servers treat you like family. The new location on Laurens Road is a bit odd, since the front entrance is actually in the back of the building, facing away from the road. But inside you will find a beautifully decorated restaurant with hidden treasures. DO be sure to call ahead and make a reservation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerlily93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schwaben House also viewed

 
Greenville, SC
 

Been to Schwaben House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing