We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under-whelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Under-whelming”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed at this property 4/23/12 - 4/27/12. Hotel was under remodeling. Very noisy & dirty with construction scraps everywhere. Our room was one that had already been "remodeled" and it was a total joke. The only painted 1 wall, the others were filthy and dinged up. The "new carpet" already had a bunch of stains, and the carpet kickboard was falling off. Bathroom had pink mold growing on floor/tub area. Also around toilet was nasty like it just hadn't been cleaned. Hair in the tub. They must have re-used the mirrors as the one in the bath had the blackend edges from being old. Shower was super dark even with lights on. Shower wall was broken and glued. I guess it was only a partical remodel. But not worth the $130.00 a night we were charged. Stayed at the Wingate by airport on the night of 4/28/12 and it was only 99.00 and really really nice. We only booked the HI Express due to location as we were traveling on business and it was very near where we needed to be, and we did not spend alot of timein the room so we didn't bother changing hotels. Would not recommend this HI Express.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director ofSales & Marketing, Owner Represetnative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy the hotel. We did begin our renovations in April. The updates were done in phases. Each of our new rooms features new vanities, new carpet, all new furniture, new drapes and new paint. Additionally we are updating the lighting throughout the hotel and new corridor carpeting and wall vinyl. We will also be renovating our fitness center and meeting room, as well as lobby and breakfast area. Based on the photos you have posted your room only had the accent wall painted. Our new carpet is brown. We will update our images on all our sites as soon as the renovations are complete. I would like to invite you back for one night, as our guests, when our rooms are complete so you can experience a finished new guest room. Renovations are always a challenge to manage through and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do hope to be able to make amends and earn your future business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    107
    24
    10
    15
See reviews for
71
72
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I choose this location because I had wanted to stay at a downtown location. The hotel was very close to everything. I was not certain how close it was until I was actually there. When we first had checked it I was assigned to a room next to the the elevator which I did request to be moved and was! We were then given one of the newly remodeled rooms which were nice. One suggestion that I do have is that a better job be done on the houskeeping of the room. Other than that I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville. We appreciate your sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community. I am delighted to see that our team made you feel welcome. We are currently under renovation so next time you visit us you will enjoy a "like" new room. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartwell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We chose this hotel out of many downtown b/c it had free parking and free breakfast. It is located within walking distance to just about anything downtown you would like to go to. We enjoyed our stay the only thing on the negative side would be that our room could have used a little updating and more lighting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveytech13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went to Greenville for a wedding, chooing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown. We were greeted by two very personable attendants, who informed us that no rooms were ready yet as they hotel had been full the night before. When I mentioned we were in Greenville for a wedding and would need to change our clothes within the next hour or so, these ladies went all out. They called the maid staff to see if they could make up a king room pronto, which they did. We waited in the breakfast area for about ten minutes and then were given our keys and sent on our way. Any interaction we had with the staff, from the desk clerks, to housekeeping, to the breakfast attendant was pleasant and they all made sure to tell us that they appreciated our business and hoped we would come back. The hotel is in the process of renovation, but the little bit of "dust" did not affect our stay at all. WE would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiabigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales and Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am so to see that our team took great care of you and worked with our housekeeping team to get you in a room quickly so you had the time you needed to get ready. We are very excited about our renovations and can’t wait to see the finished product. Thank you so much for being understanding of the “dust” while we go through our updates. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is in a great location. It was the only decent hotel in the downtown area within my company's price range so I decided to stay. The hotels and rooms were fairly basic and plain. The only upgrade to my room was a flat screen TV. The beds were a little hard, but sleepable. My only major complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom. Part of the ceiling was saturated in water and was sagging. There was globs of dust all over the fan and the shower head was covered with scum. The cleanliness of the bathroom was pretty disgusting. I would maybe stay here again if it was my only option.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocknrollchica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you had a good experience overall. Renovations are currently in progress. Our guest rooms should be completed next month and then we will begin work on public space. So next time you come to Greenville you can stay downtown and in a “like-new” room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The staff was friendly and well kept. It was decorated nicely. The cookies at the front desk are delicious! Overall it was clean except for some marks on the walls. The hallway carpet was wrinkled and needs to be replaced. There was no light in the shower. The location for downtown Greenville was perfect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katzwustl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Booked a single night in this hotel in order to receive double points on a long stay already scheduled. What a wonderful surprise.
When visiting Greenville, i have usually stayed in a peripheral hotel because we have a large family and needed a lot of room. But because I already had an extended stay in a HI brand hotel scheduled, and to get double points needed to stay one night in another HI property beforehand to get double points, chose this location when making a necessary one night stay in Greenville. WONDERFUL CHOICE! Just off the beaten path, but in very easy walking distance, of downtown Greenville, the location for the price cannot be beat. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast staff and selections were superb! This is my new "go-to" in Greenville. I just wish I had found it before my Furman student was a junior!!!
The only downside is that the decor is a bit dated. Of that matters to you, so be it--to me the location and the service totally trumped whether the bathroom sink was Corian or granite.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermom844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Greenville. I am delighted to see that you had a good experience with us. We do appreciate your feedback. We are days away from some very exciting updates to our hotel so next time you come back to see us we will have new surprises for you, but the same great location and outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Address: 407 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing