We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst bed ever - and the pillows yuk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stay in a great deal of different IHG properties - well over 50 a year - for me tis one is among the worst for sleep comfort - the mattress must be changed, its lumpy, uncomfortable and clearly past its best - the pillows are cheap, thin and very cheap. It really doesn't matter what the rest of the hotel is like, if your nights sleep sucks then its a crappy hotel. To make it worse, I was charge over $200 for a nights stay - as a Platinum IHG member there was no upgrade or even recognition of my loyal support of IHG. In fact, the guy that checked me in was rude when I asked him if there were any upgrades for Platinum members.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for making time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to learn that you did not have a good experience as our guests. I understand that you did have a conversation with our general manager while you were at the hotel and that you were able to resolve your concerns. If there is anything that I can do for you please let me know. We value your feedback and your business and hope that we were able to make amends prior to your departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is my second stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Greenville, and once again
it did not disappoint. Large-clean room, friendly/helpful staff, free internet, free parking (check some of the other downtown hotels and their parking), free breakfast, and the convenience (easy walking distance) to all the Main Street shops and restaurants. It will always be my first choice in Greenville.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lagniappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representive at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to be your first choice in Greenville, SC. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have stayed here several times and the staff at the hotel always is courteous and helpful. I am not sure how old the hotel is but it looks and feels new. Very convenient to the downtown Greenville area too.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a good experience. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We drove down to greenvile for work, down and back in 2 days. The hotel was clean, quiet and good , no issues at all. Parking was a bit tight if you get there late. There is an old cemetary across the street, very interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank schoolcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to know you had a good experience. We value your business and your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay even better, please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Again as a owner of moving company our travels take us all across the country year round.I can't go on every move and being blessed with the best employees an owner could have I try to take care of them in many ways as they are away from their families and homes.So with that said getting good rest and being comfortable is a must in this profession. This would make the 3rd stay at this hotel and each one is equally as impressive as the next Holiday Inn takes great pride in making you feel at home and welcome it is showed over 120% here at this one in downtown.Great location to walk to the entire downtown and the town itself is a hidden jewel great people wonderful places to eat and great late night atmosphere ( if you are looking for that) but can't say enough good things about either just know one thing I will stay nowhere else if my travels take me in that area thank you Greenville and more to Holiday Inn for doing things the right way.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moverman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner.Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had a good experience with us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. We wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visit Greenville, SC 4 times per year and stay at the Holiday Inn Express because of the location and value. We are within walking distance to many great resturants and the downtown area. The money saved by staying here in this clean, comfortable hotel is used for the wonderful fine dining resturants in Greenville, SC.
Special note: Mary does a wonderful job in the mornings getting everything ready and keeping everything filled for the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-Lee-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and your enthusiastic review. We can't thank you enough for letting the trip advisor community know how convenient our location is and what a great value we are in downtown Greenville. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. You may want to come back for restaurant week; January 9 - 18, 2014. Lots of great participating restaurants and we even have a restaurant week package you can take advantage of. We wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were in Greenville for our daughter's wedding and were most impressed by this hotel. The staff were kind, courteous and extremely helpful, particularly Polly, the manager. Our daughter wanted to stay with us the night before her wedding and we asked for a roll out bed and were upgraded to a suite! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was also good with a very cheerful lady to assist. The location was ideal and we were able to walk to into Downtown Greenville and enjoy many of the bars and restaurants. We would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We are honored to be part of you family's big day. Congratulations to your daughter on her wedding. Cheers to many years of happiness and success. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 64 in Greenville
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: £82 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing