We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel close to downtown Greenville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent hotel close to downtown Greenville”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is clean and reasonably well-kept. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Some of the finishings (e.g., moldings, etc.) in the room were looking worn but not enough to make the room look shabby. Had a room on the 5th floor and the wireless Internet connection was extremely poor to say the least. The only way I could stay connected was to sit by the door (on the floor) or in the bathroom. The front desk offered an ethernet cable but I have a Macbook so that wasn't an option. He did mention that they are upgrading their connection. The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Ron F,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased to know that you found our staff and room to be highly commendable. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the Internet speed may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    103
    23
    10
    15
See reviews for
69
68
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived to attend Scottish Highland festival and British car show.
Very convenient to all downtown venues. Can just park and walk even to the beautiful reedy creek area.
What made it special was Alec on front desk and Mary in breakfast area. They were so friendly helpful always smiling. Nothing they would not do to keep us happy. They are treasures.
Plenty of parking available.
Room really nicely appointed. The entire hotel was so clean.
We loved it and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We're "Hilton hotel" people, but the Hampton In downtown Greenville is way over priced. So this trip we gave the Holiday Inn a chance and were not disappointed. The property is slightly dated, but quite clean and quiet. It's on the opposite end of the downtown area, but still within two short city blocks of "the action." The staff were accommodating and professional. The breakfast buffet was better than average. The pool was small, but large enough to cool off. The cleaning staff seemed to really care about doing a good job. The towels were thick and fluffy. There were four pillows on each bed. Our room was oversized and had a frig and microwave. There were lots of TV channels to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is a little further from the falls than some of the other downtown hotels; however, it is much more affordable and still a very easy walk to the falls and other downtown businesses. (As a side note, I think many might prefer this location as you can avoid some of the craziness of crowds / events further down the strip). Free parking, wifi and breakfast. The hot breakfast was great; I enjoyed the sausage gravy, cinnamon buns and they even had some Greek yogurt a couple of days. Beds were comfortable, room and common areas was clean and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I am a IHG Priority member and you would not have know it by the service we received. No welcome gift or no extra points offered. For the price it was not what we expected. Lastly, the wifi was not working correctly and when I went down to let tell them, the attitude was oh well. Location is excellent but there are many other hotels to stay at in this area. We would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to see that you did not have a good experience and our staff did not make you feel like they were cared about your concerns. I would like to have the opportunity to learn more details about your stay so we can make sure we address each issue immediately. We just received confirmation today that the HSIA network construction work necessary to upgrade our service has been completed and that installation and activation is just days away. I can be reached at jrose@sycamoreinvestments.com and welcome the opportunity to learn more about your experience and work with you to make amends. We do value your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel (although years apart). Front desk staff is friendly. We wanted to store my husband's bicycle while we were touring colleges and driving around. They did not really have a storage room for customer belongings but they were very helpful in finding a spot in their office which we greatly appreciated. The room was at the end of the hall and was quite large. It had a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. Plenty of room for our luggage (my husband, myself and 2 teenage girls)! The room and common areas were clean and everything was working. The shower pressure was a bit low. We were awakened at 1:00 a.m. by what sounded like broad jumping in the room above us--running around and pounding. I was just debating whether to complain when it abruptly stopped. Other than that it was a quiet night. Breakfast buffet was included in the price-standard fare. Free parking. Close to all the restaurants and shops of Greenville. I thought the price was a bit high for a Holiday Inn Express but it was much less expensive than all the alternatives. So, in that respect a good price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4annmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stains on the walls
Dust bunnies on the curtains
Long dark hair on the bed on arrival
Long dark hair on the bathroom floor on arrival
Smelled like a former smoking room
Desk chair covered in food crumbs on arrival
Towel shelf covered in dust
Watched the maids drop clean towels on the lobby floor, pick them up, put them back on the "clean" cart during breakfast
Water stains, water drops on a clearly uncleaned shower

This place is dirty and disgusting, felt dirty leaving there after my one night stay. Clearly one too many.

Room Tip: Book Marriott instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcsst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to see that you did not have a good experience as our guest. We would like to have an opportunity to talk with you off line and to find a way to make amends. You can reach me at jrose@sycamoreinvestments.com or you can talk with our Guest Services Manager, Renee at 864-678-8000. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#12 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Address: 407 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing