We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When I made the reservation here I was a little concerned we were not going to be close enough to the downtown area. I was pleasantly surprised when we got there to find that we were only a couple of blocks away from the start of the downtown shopping. The room was very nice, and clean, and the staff there was very accommodating. The free breakfast was great, with a lot of variety. Parking was free here, unlike the hotels right in the middle of downtown. This hotel was a lot cheaper than staying right in the middle of downtown, and we enjoyed the 1/2 mile stroll through the city enjoying all the quaint little shops along the way. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank carrielane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was well maintained and the staff friendly and efficient. The mattresses were uncomfortable to me, but my husband slept well without complaint. The breakfast was not great, with the hot dishes lukewarm at best (dried out scrambled eggs and cold sausages) and the coffee below average. Other hot items included biscuits and gravy and instant grits packets. There were other food choices, including individual oatmeal cups and cold cereal as well as yogurt and an assortment of bread and pastry items. We came to breakfast at 7:15 a.m., a little over an hour after the food was first served.

Room Tip: The hotel was at one end of the Main Street section of downtown Greenville, and an easy walk to loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the mattress was not comfortable for you. Thank you for letting us know that some of the breakfast items were not hot enough. Even though you had breakfast an hour after it started, the items should have still been warm. I am happy to know that you did enjoy all other aspects of your stay. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.If there is anything that I can do for you please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I had a terrific stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Greenville. Upon arrival we were greeted warming by the desk manager James. He told us about the events taking place just up the street the next couple of evenings. His friendly and open manner made us feel immediately welcome. Thanks James! The accommodations we outstanding and the location hard to beat so close Greenville's classy downtown area. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DNelsonSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We were all so excited to read your review. Thank you so much for your generous praise. It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Greenville city area is clean, modern,and home to the Main Street strip that is about a mile long and full of restaurants, bars, and shops. The Holiday Inn Express Downtown is at the North end of the strip, which made it easy for us to walk down one side---and back the other. The hotel offers free parking for those of us who would rather walk around than drive---especially if we enjoy alcohol with meals. It is also along the free trolley route.

Our hotel room was modern, clean, comfortable, and had an exceptionally nice tv. The desk staff were very friendly, as was the breakfast selection with its eggs, meats, and even a pancake machine. Best of all was the price----considerably less expensive than the more upscale hotels in the heart of the strip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cisco289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our convenient N. Main Street location. Guest enjoy being able to leave their cars, in a free parking lot, and get out and explore all the wonderful things downtown Greenville has to offer. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great hotel in a beautiful downtown area. The hotel is well run, clean and up to date and ideally located in one of the most beautiful small towns I have seen. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. You can leave your car and walk to the downtown area and even all the way to the river running through Greenville. There are great restaurants downtown and even street fair during the Summer on the main street every Friday evening. A great place to see and a great hotel on Main Street.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several different rooms and all were in a good location for restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had a great experience and enjoyed our convenient N. Main location and our award winning downtown. We know you have many choices when you travel to Greenville and we are honored to have won you business. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I Came to Holiday Inn Express In Greenville, SC on June 13, 14,and 15, 2014 and Enjoyed My Stay, Alex and Mike at the Front Desk With PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!!!!! Rooms Was VERY Clean and All Stay Was Great!!! I'll Came Be Soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had a great experience and thrilled to know we have earned your return business. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is clean and reasonably well-kept. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Some of the finishings (e.g., moldings, etc.) in the room were looking worn but not enough to make the room look shabby. Had a room on the 5th floor and the wireless Internet connection was extremely poor to say the least. The only way I could stay connected was to sit by the door (on the floor) or in the bathroom. The front desk offered an ethernet cable but I have a Macbook so that wasn't an option. He did mention that they are upgrading their connection. The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Ron F,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased to know that you found our staff and room to be highly commendable. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the Internet speed may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 63 in Greenville
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#7 of 63 in Greenville
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#14 of 63 in Greenville
209 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Crowne Plaza Greenville
#27 of 63 in Greenville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: £107 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing