We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antique that has been reborn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Antique that has been reborn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Location on Main street, can walk to all the bars and restaurants, Starwood has spent millions on the refurbishment and it shows. Excellent service and wonderful staff. Had a room with a their heavenly bed and it WAS!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weezee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    251
    81
    41
    15
See reviews for
246
378
53
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our stay at the Westin downtown Greenville, SC was wonderful. The room was spacious and the decor was very warm and inviting. The king bed was comfortable and the linen was sooo cozy!!
The Concierge was excellent very knowledgeable, she gave excellent recommendations for entertainment and restaurants; she was also very friendly, and outgoing! From the time we checked in until we checked out the entire staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. We definitely will stay at this location again!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randolph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

First the location is excellent, but that's the only good thing I can say. I was so disappointed, as I've stayed in Westin hotels before and they've been lovely.
This hotel needs some SERIOUS updating. It's old. It's old, everything is beige, it's musty, and it feels like a step back in time to the 1950's. The rug in my room looked so dingy I was afraid to walk on it with bare feet. I also had only 1 window in my room, which was to the left of the head of the bed. Odd. Bathroom a bit more modern but uninspired. The staff were OK but nothing stood out. It's one of those hotels where you take an elevator up to the lobby, then a different elevator goes up to all the rooms. I never like that kind of setup, no particular reason. I would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riviera Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My stay at the Westin in Greenville,South Carolina was fantastic. Did you know that they have the most comfortable beds EVER. Whats more, a fantastic group of people that make you feel very special with their personal touches they put on everything. The robes they provide have that crisp, comfortable,and very cozy feel.Not to mention the location, in the heart of a fantastic city itself, that provides so much to do and see. The city offers an abundance of restaurants,thearters, interesting shops, and sporting events. Did I mention the best cupcakes the south has to offer!! Yum,yum... On Saturdays during the summer,hearty greetings come from the city's finest venders from farm raised eggs to gourd craft bird houses.Something for everyone. Whats not to love in Greenville, South Carolina? Try the Westin Poinsett and see for yourself.

Room Tip: TIP: Ask for Janice Smith, Guest service manager, she will provide you with all your needs and desir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Westin Poinsett is an experience to be realized and then afterwards , treasured. Located directly on MAIN STREET in downtown greenville, this grand old hotel reaks of OLD WORLD CHARM. I was honored to stay at this gem for an entire week, a birthday gift to me from my family. The location, helpfulness of the Concierge, and friendlyness of the staff make this visit one to remember. I was greeted immediately with a smile upon check in. I stay on the 5th Floor ( out of 11 floors) in room 504. The room was large with the most comfortable HEAVENLY SLEEP bed, a large tv, and a fabulous view overlooking the bricked courtyard and very large water fountain below. Anytime I had a question about the local restuarants, shopping, or daily activity, Janice Smith at the concierge desk was genuinely elated to assist me. Outside the hotel doors are tree lined streets resplendant with art shops, ice cream stores, cup cake bakery, exotic popcorn poppery, gift shops, and restuarants of all styles. There is a CVS pharmacy just one block away should you require, and you simply must , as often as possible, take the time to walk down to Liberty Bridge, and stroll along the soothing banks of the Reedy River. The falls are a fantastic sight and not to be missed. The lobby area had fresh baked cookies, live piano music, and there is a bar and restaurant. The hotel possess GRAND BALL ROOMS for your special events, and the thoughtfulness of the Concierge extended to chocolate convered strawberries being delivered to my room in celebration of my birthday. For one night , for one week, or better yet a longer extended stay, the Westin Poinsett in Downtown Greenville sets the standard for quality, customer care, and comfort. Take my advice, stay here and enjoy the pleasant memories for a lifetime. Thanks WESTIN POINSETT. I hope to see you again soon. Lonnie Branch

Room Tip: I enjoyed my upper floor overlooking the bricked courtyard and fountain. It was wonderful to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatCityCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Love this property! Everything about it says CLASS....Rich History.....feel like u may fall asleep.....wake up to .....late 1800s.....love this place......the service was impeccable....beds and linens were amazingly comfy! we are starwood members and this is one of our favorite properties!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This Westin has a lot of great charm and character that so often alludes the Westin model. I love the Westin chain, because you always know what you are going to get. But in that formulaic portfolio everyone once a while an old grand hotel sneaks in and manages to hold onto that romanticism of hotel now past. This is one of those hotels.

Stairways here and there. Knobs on old doors. You enter through a lower lobby, that serves as opening act to the grand reveal when the elevator doors open and the grand lobby welcomes you. It doesn't need to do any of the modern tricks of the trade like a water wall, techno lights, it just embraces you and seduces you with its southern charm that simply says "welcome".

You have two eating options here. The first is at the hotel, which is more reserved much like the grand dame herself. However, connected to the hotel is another restaurant called Nose Dive. If you locked the outside world for a second you would swear you were in the middle of Melrose in LA. Where these hipsters live outside of the restaurant I don't know, but they certainly match the quality of the food and atmosphere. This is a must do attraction as part of the hotel.

The rooms are great. King size compared to any Manhattan alternative. But it is Greenville, so no pay-per-view to watch with discretion here. But they do have really fast and free wi-fi. Yes, it's free and it's fast. This any business traveler will tell you is like a surprised treat for dessert. Yes the beds are heavenly. How they make it feel like you are sleeping on a cloud where at any minute a Care Bear will pop up to fluff your cloud I don't know, but they do it. The room does not seem to have a electrical socket at every turn like some newer hotels do, but seriously a minor inconvenience here.

The gym is very good. Yes, it is in the same Westin gym pattern, but presented in a spacious way where everyone is not on top of each other. The layout is reminiscent of the types of gyms you tend to find when a spa is adjacent (although no spa is here).

But Westin just started this feature, or at least it's new to me, where through a deal with new balance they will lend you workout gear: shoes, socks, shorts, shirt ( the socks you get to keep but everything else is returned). I didn't use the shoes, because I had my own, but I did use the rest. Seriously, this is an awesome feature and I will never pack gym clothes again when this option is offered. The clothes were clean and extremely comfortable with the latest dry fit technology. At the end there is no packing damp, smelly clothes in your luggage. You just put it all back in the sack and return it to them.

Finally, there is a free shuttle service to the airport in a brand new BMW. Not a bad way at all to make it back to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guest, allow me to express my sincere appreciation to you for the thorough and detailed review of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, touching on so many services we provide. Thank you, from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#18 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing