We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Housekeeping not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Housekeeping not very good”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a beautiful property in quaint downtown Greenville, walking distance from everything you would want. The hotel has that old charm feel to it. Reception and bell staff are very courteous and the food quality is excellent.
The one area where this hotel is lacking is housekeeping. We were several people in a group that stayed for 10 days and everyone was frustrated by the same issues, so it is not a one time issue but rather a general problem.
To begin with, rooms are not vacuumed daily. We would all come back to our rooms to find that they had not been vacuumed and the bathroom floors had not been cleaned. The vanity in my bathroom was not cleaned twice. Housekeeping would take away used towels and forget to replace them, so you were left with just a couple of towels. They would leave three or four new soaps each day, but no shampoo. If I left a bottle of water in my room, when I came back it was gone. If I used a glass to drink, they would take it away and not replace it, so nothing to drink in.
The A/C thermostat in my room was at 68 degrees and the room was barely cool. My friends complained that the a/c in their rooms were not working properly either and that their rooms were extremely humid, which thankfully was not the case in mine.
Walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the room next door and from the hallways. Housekeeping knocks on every door every morning and I could hear them doing this at the other side of the hallway from inside my room.
If Management trains their housekeeping staff and is able to fix these issues, then this would be a very nice hotel to stay in, but as it is now, I find that I cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms as they tend to be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22travelMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    262
    83
    41
    16
See reviews for
253
393
56
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We recently celebrated a multi-year high school reunion at the Westin Poinsett in beautiful Downtown Greenville, SC. Thanks to Rachel and the entire staff of the Westin Poinsett for helping to make our night a great success. The food was delicious, too. Whatever we needed, the staff was there to make sure we had it. They even came to help with our check-in process if we needed it. Since I was one of the planners of the event, I cannot tell you how much easier they made my life. I would highly recommend this venue for your next event. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I attended a friends wedding reception at this venue and was very pleased with the level of service. From walking into the door the staff was very helpful. They made sure we knew exactly which room our even was in. I even had one offer to lead us to the right destination. The service only got better from there. The food was delicious and the servers were very friendly and made sure that we had everything that we needed in a timely manner. I look forward to the next time I return to this hotel because of the excellent level of service I received.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Attended a wedding reception at the hotel and the service was great and friendly, location and banquet rooms were ideal and food was great. Our server went out of her way to help us and personally showed us to the right place, got us drinks that weren't offered, and made it a great night. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Dick, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Only six parking spots for arrival checkin / checkout... all FULL with unattended vehicles all the time. Four concierge staff standing around doing nothing do not care unless customer pays them $18.. Parking garage too far from hotel. Must double park on street to check into hotel then $6 extra-charge parking garage card did not work in machine. Made three trips in wheelchair back-and-forth from street / parking garage to hotel desk. The six spots were all full of unattended cars upon check-out. When asked "WHY?" the concierge shrugged shoulders. Extra-charge parking card did not work upon checking out either! Had to back up, re-park, unload wheelchair, wheel through garage, up elevator, through bank, into hotel to desk. The Westin is a lovely old hotel but guest service and especially senior/handicap service is a total FAILURE.

Room Tip: NOT for Seniors or Handicapped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear guest,
Allow me to sincerely apologize for the lack of service that you have received. The Poinsett team has a great reputation for excellent service and the occurrence that you described has been fully investigated and followed up on. Again, my heart felt apologies. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Location on Main street, can walk to all the bars and restaurants, Starwood has spent millions on the refurbishment and it shows. Excellent service and wonderful staff. Had a room with a their heavenly bed and it WAS!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our stay at the Westin downtown Greenville, SC was wonderful. The room was spacious and the decor was very warm and inviting. The king bed was comfortable and the linen was sooo cozy!!
The Concierge was excellent very knowledgeable, she gave excellent recommendations for entertainment and restaurants; she was also very friendly, and outgoing! From the time we checked in until we checked out the entire staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. We definitely will stay at this location again!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randolph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Starwood, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing