We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week to remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week to remember!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Poinsett Hotel in Greenville, SC for one week. What a joy! Clean & friendly with an elegant ambiance. Two marvelous employees remain in our memory. Linda Johnson who was our hostess at breakfast and took time to explain the many available selections of the breakfast buffet, always with a smile and a warm greeting. The other employee was Barbara who prepared eggs to order. This hotel is extremely well-run, with the entire staff very accommodating and professional. We believe much credit for the hotel's success should go to a gentlemen we have not met, but is responsible for the overall operation of Westin Poinsett, Mr. Fabian Unterzavher.
We only have one regret: not having been able to stay longer.
Needless to say, we must highly recommend this hotel.
Marc & Beverly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Marc,
It is a sincere pleasure to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your week-long stay at the Westin Poinsett! It was our pleasure to serve you and we are glad the accommodations and ambiance were to your liking. We always try our best to ensure that every aspect of your stay is satisfying. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well as the service provided by Linda and Barbara. On a personal note: I thank you for your compliments about the management of the hotel and look forward to meeting you personally when you return next. Our best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    255
    81
    41
    15
See reviews for
248
380
55
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the heart of the city center. Short walk to shopping, fine dining, fun bars, and best of all Bon Secours Wellness Arena where we went to see Lady Antebellum. The hotel exterior is strikingly beautiful. It shows its age and history inside but is being carefully and lovingly maintained. They were sold out and probably a little understaffed as the check -in was backed up and rooms were not ready but they offered complimentary beverages at the bar and we were not in a hurry. We requested a large king to accommodate a rollaway for our kids. The room was clean and comfortable. Some amenities I have grown accustomed to were missing (like bottled water or mini bar) but we only stayed one night and with everything you could need with-in a few minutes walk, we didn't spend much time in the room. Would definitely stay there again when visiting Greenville.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Sandra,

It is nice to hear that we were able to host a fun getaway weekend for you and your family. I am glad you were able to get a little taste of what our award winning city has to offer and that you enjoyed the concert, how fun! Thank you for your patience during the check-in process, your feedback is very helpful and has been taken into consideration as we prepare for other busy weekends ahead! Thank you for the kind recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a great experience at the Westin. The rooms were clean and up to date. Everyone was very helpful and eager to help. We did experience an issue when trying to leave the parking garage but we went inside and got an employee and they came right out and helped. We couldn't get our room key to scan in the machine to allow the lift gate to rise so we could exit but it was quickly corrected. It is conveniently located beside everything down town. We walked to the Peace Center one night and had dinner across the street. The next night we walked to the Bilo Center for a concert. It was a perfect location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Tiffany,

I am delighted you enjoyed a fun weekend at our centrally located Westin property in the heart of downtown Greenville! Location is key to a great time, so we are happy you chose to stay with us. The Poinsett Parking Garage is owned by the city and we have informed them about the difficulty with the gate. I am glad someone was able to assist you. Thank you again for your generous recommendation and for complimenting our accommodating staff. We hope to see you all again for the next Greenville get-a-way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I just spent a quick weekend in Greenville and stayed at the Westin Poinsett. Overall, I have no complaints ... the staff was professional and helpful, the location was perfect for walking to all that downtown Greenville has to offer, and the amenities were all great. The hotel is in a beautifully renovated historical building, one of the first hotels built in the area. However, it was hard to feel that this room was worth well over $200 for one night. It was small, with very little closet / clothing space (which didn't matter for a one night stay). The bathroom door seemed to open in the wrong direction, and there was little counter space in the bathroom. Of course, the bed was a comfy "heavenly bed" so no complaints there, but otherwise, this was just a very plain hotel room, and I would have been very unhappy staying s there for more than one night or so (as I really like to be able to "settle in" for extended stays). I also appreciate a mini-fridge in hotels rooms; this one did not offer one.

There was one robe provided (2 of us were staying there). All in all, for our one night stay it was perfectly fine, but honestly, we've stayed at another hotel down the street for a little less money and felt it was a more comfy room. I DID really enjoy the restorations done in this beautiful old building. I guess small rooms are always a tradeoff in older hotels.

I suppose this review sounds more negative than intended -- if you don't mind a small room with minimal extras, it's a lovely, convenient, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emptynesters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind and candid review of the Westin Poinsett Hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy our perfect location in the heart of downtown Greenville as well as our Heavenly beds. As we have several room types and configurations, we will gladly accommodate you in one that perfectly fits your needs when you return for a longer stay. We sincerely look forward to hosting you and your husband again soon! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Poinsett this February during the bad storms, and what an amazing group of employee's that work there. The Hotel, itself is beautiful, and has everything one could ask for.

The staff was amazing. they treat each guest as a special person, and cannot do enough to make one happy and comfortable. We were there for 3 nights, during the storm and the town was shut down, and most restaurants were closed. The Westin was open and had quite an overflow of people, who had no where else to go. The entire staff handled this situation with such grace and charm , that it was completely transparent, they were that busy. The employee's all worked as a team to ensure the guests were happy. Some were filling in for employee's that could not get to work, due to the danger on the roads and were doing jobs that had not been used to, but you would never know it.

If you have not stayed there, you are missing an exceptional experience. We cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Junior suites are lovely with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannedavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Susan,
We are so glad you were able to weather the storm with us at the Westin Poinsett and that your experience was so enjoyable! Thank you for your flattering review and complimenting our hardworking associates. We pride ourselves in making each Greenville stay an exceptional experience for our guests despite occasional, unusual circumstances! Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to having you back when the weather is much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The entire team at the Westin was professional, easy to work with and efficient. They made it very easy to plan a black-tie event for over 150 guests. Somers, the catering manager was very helpful in planning and giving suggestions. The guests of the event were very complimentary. I would be very comfortable in hosting another event at the Westin. The location is also ideal because they have valet parking right in the middle of busy downtown Greenville. You can stay the night and very easily walk to all of the wonderful restaurants, the Peace Center, and Falls Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Ashley,
I am delighted to hear you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed your black-tie affair at the Westin Poinsett. It is our sincere pleasure to efficiently deliver premium service to our guests as the only historic four diamond hotel in the heart of downtown Greenville. Somers is thrilled that your event went so smoothly and looks forward to hosting your next reception. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We had heard about the unique charm of Greenville, SC...and everyone was right! It has a wonderful downtown and the Westin in the perfect location. The Westing Poinsett is in the center of Main Street and near outstanding restaurants. We parked our car for three days and walked to every location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and included all of our favorites...and complimentary wifi. A lovely way to spend Valentine's Day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AngCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your romantic weekend with us at the historic Westin Poinsett Hotel. I am delighted we could help make your Valentine’s Day a memorable experience in our charming city. We are one of the few full service hotels that offer 100 meg high speed internet access at no charge in addition to many other complimentary services. Thank you for your gracious words and we hope you will return to Greenville in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing