We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another reason to love Greenville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another reason to love Greenville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We fell in love with the city of Greenville and the Westin certainly was a big part of a wonderful trip. Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff....love being picked up at the airport in the BMW!!! Everyone from the driver to the restaurant staff was very friendly, professional and offered wonderful tips on enjoying this beautiful city. The hotel is right in the middle of everything. Can not imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geaux1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett! As you discovered we are the only four diamond historic hotel in the middle of a busy, award winning Main Street. Our bellmen are happy to offer complimentary airport transportation every hour throughout the day. In addition, they will gladly take you anywhere within downtown in our 6 seater golf cart. Thank you again for your nice words and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    249
    81
    41
    15
See reviews for
245
377
53
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We checked in for our 30th anniversary stay. The hotel gave us a free upgrade to a Jr. Suite. We were then surprised with a mini champagne bottle and 4 chocolate covered strawberries! The hotel location is great, easy walking distance to lots of good restaurants and the Swamp River Trail. Some may want to see the hotel updated, but I like the charm of an older hotel. The bedding was updated and the bathrooms were clean. Highly recommend staying at the Westin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmccarthync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Congratulations on your 30 years of marriage and thank you so much for choosing to celebrate at the Westin Poinsett! Our staff enjoys making special occasions even more memorable with small personal touches! Our rooms and public space are always undergoing upgrades but do not worry, we will never lose the charm that you and your husband enjoyed so much! Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pentimento is an Italian word for an alteration in a painting, evidenced by traces of previous work, showing that the artist has changed his or her mind as to the composition during the process of painting. I used this word for a recent visit to the Westin Poinsett, as my original review of the property has now been enhanced by yet another stellar stay! Yes, this review is true to the original review: first-rate location, fabulous service, superior attention to the small touches, sublime restaurant and wonderful rooms.

My wife Sydney and I, as well as several family members and friends, stayed at the Westin Poinsett during a birthday celebration I held for my wife. As Sydney and I live in France, we are accustomed to a high level of service and comfort. And that's what you receive at the Westin Poinsett. The staff could not have been more accommodating. General manager Fabian Unterzaucher runs a tight ship but with the mien of a benevolent uncle and the cosmopolitan air of someone trained in Europe, which he was. If you are considering a stay in Greenville, S.C., this should be at the absolute top of your list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mifanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you so much for another wonderful review of our hotel! We are thrilled to be able to offer you and your wife Sydney the level of service you have become accustomed to! As well, I have learned a new word “Pentimento” that seems to describe our hotel perfectly. We very much look forward to seeing you (hopefully soon!) again. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
262 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I would rate this hotel somewhere between a 3 and 4. The location is prime, right in the middle of a great area of Greenville (which if you haven't visited, is a great area...lots of good restaurants, outdoor activities, shopping, etc.). The building is old, but the lobby looks modern and the staff is very friendly.

We had a suite and while it was nice, it could have used updating. The carpeting looked very old, as did the furniture in the living room. It was also a bit dark. The bedroom was nice, the traditional Westin heavenly bed, and the room was clean.

When we walked around the area, we noticed a new Hampton Inn, that actually looked nicer (very modern and new looking, balconies overlooking the water and the band shell). May try that next time.

There is a health club, but it's a bit on the small side (lately it seems like a lot of properties have been upgrading their facilities, this one was minimal). Not sure if they have a pool, didn't see one or a sign.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Scott,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett. We are proud to be Greenville’s only AAA four diamond historic hotel in the middle of a bustling Main Street. We are glad you enjoyed the Heavenly Beds and the cleanliness of the room. We appreciate your comments regarding the décor of the rooms and want to assure you that our maintenance as well as our furniture replacement program is constant. We will evaluate your suggestions. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Greenville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a beautifully maintained historic hotel in a great location in Greenville--a delightful city. We stayed there when going to a play at the Peace Center. We could walk to the theater, shops, restaurants, and downtown. Due to an allergy to down , I had requested a feather free room. They use pillows they say were all synthetic despite their name. There was one down pillow in the room, that was replaced after some confusion between myself and housekeeping. The asst. manager sent a lovely cheese platter and note which was appreciated. The "waterfall" shower head is delightfully wonderful. The hotel was pricey--more than I usually pay--but it was a special occasion, so I went for it. I would recommend the hotel and will look for bargains/deals that make it more affordable when going to Greenville.

Room Tip: sorry--we got a room looking at roofs of other buildings--disappointed when I looked out the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett! We are sorry to hear there was a mix up in your “Heavenly Bed” experience but we are happy to know that everything was finally arranged to your satisfaction. Thank you for thinking about the Westin Poinsett when you chose to make your night out at the Peace Center a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The last time my husband and I were in Greenville, we stayed at the Courtyard Marriott, which was nice. Westin Poinsett is even better. The lobby is old world in style with a piano lounge in the evenings which we really enjoyed. The best of all though is the staff. I was talking with one of the valets, Stefan, and mentioned to him how much we were enjoying our stay, but the only downside was no refrigerator in the room. He called the front desk, and even though it was late in the evening, a refrigerator was delivered to our room in less than 30 minutes. The staff go over and beyond to ensure the guest's stay is everything you'd want in comfort and pampering. We will definitely be staying here whenever we come back to Greenville.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett during your visit! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the classic style of our piano lounge and are even more pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our staff! Stephane was overjoyed to hear your compliments and our entire team strives to make your stay with us most memorable. Thank you so much again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

So,here is the thing - this will be a mixed review.I guess I had higher expectations based on reviews and the price we paid for a town the size of Greenville. On the plus side: historic building,renovated, location in the middle of the Greenville "action",front desk staff very professional and willing to help,everything kept neat (not sparkling clean), bed was reasonably comfortable - amenties in the room were adequate - they have a STARBUCKs coffee maker in the room that was kept clean - but they provided only paper cups....there isa CVS right across the street if you need anything during your stay.....On the downside: rooms beginning to see some wear, white bedding was kind of "grey" but clean, bathroom kept clean but seeing definite wear and tear, TV reception was awful - no matter what I watched - the streaming got regularly interrupted and pixellated, we stayed on the preferred guest floor and we could hear all the noise in the hallway - so if soundproofing is impt - pick your room carefully, no turn down/tidy up service at night, have to change elevators from street lobby to room floor elevators,lobby bar VERY SLOW to serve - would have spent more time there - but it gets old when all you want to do is get a drink and relax and you end up chasing the staff around to order a round of drinks - had to ask if they had some nuts or pretzels while we waited....so, for the money - not sure I would pick it again - but then again - I have experienced worse at a self proclaimed 'luxury' level hotel (this would be at my very low end of a luxury level btw)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett. We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet all of your standards. Your comments about housekeeping and our lounge staffing have been discussed with the proper department heads. Unfortunately, we will not be able to change the layout of the elevators, however, we will make an effort to better explain their location. We are hopeful, that you will return to the Westin Poinsett and allow us to demonstrate to you the quality service that we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing