We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, old public spaces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Westin is at a prime location in Greenville, close to everything. If you enter the public spaces look old. The rooms are very nice, modern with a old south feel. Beware there is no restaurant in the hotel. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefanl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Westin Poinsett! Since we are located in the middle of an award winning downtown it is hard to not enjoy everything Greenville has to offer! We pride ourselves on being Greenville’s only historic hotel, our doors opened in 1925 and we are proud to combine modern amenities, such as free fiber optic high speed internet, complimentary use of our business center, free transportation in one of our three vehicles and much more with the charm only a historic hotel can offer. We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast, probably in our full service restaurant “Spoonbread”, which, as well, serves lunch and Sunday brunch. Dinner (full menu) and cocktails are served in our Piano Lounge. Some guests take advantage of the more than 60 quality restaurants in walking distance of the hotel when staying with us. We hope next time you travel to Greenville you will stay with us again and try one of our delicious dinner entrees!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is great. The location in downtown Greenville is perfect. walking distance to everything. The hotel give you that feeling of being in a great historic location with lots of charm. Where to park can be a little confusing. Basically you can pull up in front behind the fountain for valet service or continue on down the side of the building for the parking garage. Either option is great. Rooms are well appointed and bed is very comfortable. Getting to the point of needing an update within the next year to year and a half. Only complaint is when sipping out of elevator on 8th floor they had a dehumidifier running. You felt the dampness when exiting the elevator and the room was a bit humid. Not enough to make me switch but noticeable. Few small sugar ants I the room but again not enough to switch my room for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHSfamily29466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Westin Poinsett. Allow me to explain the parking options: We have a covered garage directly behind the hotel with direct access to the hotel where you can self-park for $6 a night or let our bellmen take care of everything and valet for $15 a night. Regarding our rooms product, you will be pleased to hear that we make updates continuously. Our two historic ballrooms just received new carpets and other improvements throughout the hotel are frequent. We agree that we recently experienced a stretch of very hot and muggy weather and had to act accordingly. On a positive note, a new chiller was installed several months ago to provide you with the cooling comfort you expect. We hope to welcome you back again, maybe in the fall when overall the outside temperatures are more agreeable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location was great-within walking distance of the river and lots of great restaurants. The rooms are a little tired (especially the bathrooms and the carpet) but we didn't spend too much time in the room. The farmers market on Saturday was right outside the hotel entrance, which was a nice treat. Unfortunately our room was adjoining a suite and both nights we were there weddings were going on and the wedding party was using that room for the after party. The walls were extremely thin and you could hear everything from the other room. I would certainly request a non-adjoining room if we stayed here again.

Room Tip: Request a non-adjoining room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdubbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Westin Poinsett! Our location in the heart of town makes it easy to access most attractions Greenville has to offer; from Falls Park, to The Peace Center of the Performing Arts, Fluor Field (baseball), and countless shopping and dining choices. Regarding the room choice, we will definitely make a better effort to find a room that is located further away from wedding guests; my apologies for the inconvenience. However, we hope to have an opportunity to welcoming you back for another weekend get away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at the Westin as a guest and I have planned corporate events and a conference at the Westin (all within the last fiscal year) and I can say without a doubt, they never disappoint. I have received high quality service from each individual I worked with (just to name a few: Susie B., Somers M., and Rita F) as well as front desk, culinary, bellhop, etc.

Our corporate special guests and conference attendees always have great experiences with everyone they encounter and no details are overlooked. We will continue to work with the excellent staff at the Westin Poinsett, Greenville, SC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of downtown... facing toward the west end!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Lauren,
Thank you so much for your loyalty towards the Westin Poinsett and your kind review of our hotel and our team. Susie, Somers and Rita were very pleased to hear how supportive you find them while planning your corporate events! Everyone from our Sales staff to our Front Desk and Culinary team sincerely looks forward to working with you and your guests again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at the Westin Poinsett multiple times in the last few weeks. It's a fantastic property, and it's located perfectly in the heart of Greenville. The staff is very friendly, and the service is outstanding. A special shout out to Samp @ the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCisArgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Westin Poinsett! Being located in the middle of an award winning Main Street allows our guests to fully appreciate most of what Greenville has to offer and all that within walking distance from the hotel. Our staff was thrilled to hear how highly you thought of their service, especially Samp, at the bar. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for you business trips and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westin following our wedding last weekend, along with a number of our guests. The Westin was the best hotel downtown to work with on our wedding weekend and since we actually live here I feel I'm qualified to say it has the most 'Greenville character'. It's a very beautiful place and we stayed in a suite that overlooked main street and the fountain out front. We loved it, the room was immaculate.

Room Tip: The suites that overlook main st. are really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndkboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett! We do have a lot of that “Greenville Character” and, as you can imagine, a long and fascinating history; after all, we opened our doors for the first time in 1925. We’re so glad you enjoyed your room and your view of downtown Greenville! We hope you will stay with us again, maybe for your one year anniversary? Our best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff were a pleasure to work with to set up our week long meeting and meals. They were more than willing to work with all of our unique needs. Even during the week we had several changes and they accomodated us each time. Our guests enjoyed their accomodations and commented several times on the quality of the food during their meals and the quality of service they received from the staff. We have done business with Westin Poinsett before, this being my third, and I am already work on another business event (conference) with them to be held next year. They continue to work with us in all unique situations of accomodating different meetings, conferences, site visits, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisjaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Westin Poinsett! Our Sales and Banquet teams try hard to make sure that you and your guests have a pleasant and efficient stay and a productive and enjoyable meeting. Our Executive Chef and Kitchen staff were especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meals prepared throughout the week. Thank you again for your loyalty and we very much look forward to working with you again for your next meeting at the Westin Poinsett!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 63 in Greenville
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#16 of 63 in Greenville
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#14 of 63 in Greenville
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#4 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: £140 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing