We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Auburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

From the courtesy of the staff to the amazingly simple yet luxurious amenities, this downtown luxury hotel delivers in every way possible.

We arrived in "street clothes" and we're greeted and treated as if we had come for a C-Level event.

I've wanted to stay here for years, and my anticipation was rewarded with an even greater amount of satisfaction.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesPMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear James,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett for your vacation! Whether you arrive in “street clothes” or your tuxedo, everyone on our staff is ready to welcome and assist you during your stay. As downtown Greenville’s only historic four diamond hotel we strive to uphold the reputation that is expected from a hotel that opened its doors in 1925 and was once called Carolina’s finest. We are delighted that we were able to fulfill your expectations. Please come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    251
    81
    41
    15
See reviews for
246
378
53
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had Sunday brunch at the Spoonbread Restaurant and had a wonderful experience! All our needs were taken care of by Jose Castano. My husband is wheelchair bound, which poses some logistical problems. Jose intervened with the hostess to find us a much better suited table. Jose was there for all our needs and truly made our dining experience memorable! The food was fantastic and we will definitely visit again! Jose went above and beyond to ensure we were treated like royalty!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Ann,
Thank you so much for visiting with us Sunday morning and enjoying your brunch in our classic Spoonbread Restaurant! Jose is a wonderful server and he takes pride in offering our guests a truly unique and comfortable dining experience. I am very pleased to hear that he took such nice care of you and your husband. Our Sunday Brunch is packed with healthy Superfood menu items as well as a wide selection of Southern breakfast favorites. We look forward to hopefully having you back for Sunday Brunch next weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Arriving by car we were greeted right away at the driveway. For a low daily rate we parked in parking garage just behind the hotel. The hotel is quite large but we felt right at home. We were always greeted with a smile entering or leaving the hotel. We used the small hotel-bar in the lobby a couple of times where we were having a great time. The bar staff is very knowledgeable, friendly, and not intrusive. Room service was great. We had a room with two queen beds which was very nice and large enough to feel very comfortable. It had enough storage and closet space as well as a good sized desk and a comfortable "reading"-chair. There was a coffee/tea-maker which we used a lot and bottled water was offered too. The bathroom was very clean and modern but the sink only offered little space to put anything there. For my husband it was enough but I had to store most of my toiletries in a drawer of the bedroom. This is a problem in most hotels! For one night it would have been enough but we stayed for five wonderful nights. And still - I will come back to this hotel. Did I mention the great breakfast they offer in the hotel restaurant and the very beautiful architectural details of the hotel! Great!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monathefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Westin Poinsett! Our team always appreciates when their work is being recognized, therefore, thank you for highlighting the friendly and knowledgeable service you received. As to our breakfast buffet, our omelet station is always popular as well as our large offer of Westin Superfood items, that are of especially high nutritional value. Since we are the only historic four diamond hotel in downtown Greenville we tried to keep the historical integrity of the public space while providing modern amenities in all of our guest rooms. Basically, we want to offer you the best of both worlds. Thank you again for staying with us and talking so highly of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Who would imagine that one could find so much enjoyment at 'home'...my dear husband and I chose to stay in town for our Anniversary, and chose to spend it at the Westin Poinsett. This was the best choice ever. Everything was was superb, especially the services of the concierge, who took great care to see that all of our needs were met. Ms Smith made the best recommendations for restaurants. The entire staff was so personable and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was well presented, with healthy and delicious choices, and an amazing omelet cook. We know we will "honeymoon" there again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Focuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
First, Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing the Westin Poinsett for your special occasion “staycation”! An endorsement from a local resident is especially important to us, as the historic Westin Poinsett Hotel has played a crucial part in Greenville’s revitalization success. We are so glad our hotel finds your approval. Our concierge Janice was delighted to hear how helpful you found her recommendations! She has been with us since our re-opening 14 years ago and is indeed very knowledgeable. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast in the Spoonbread Restaurant, we are constantly adding new Superfoods to the offer in order to provide you with a wide range of great tasting and healthy options. Don’t wait another year for your next visit; perhaps a show at the Peace Center with dinner and a beverage in our piano Lounge prior, will be “reason” enough to join us again. Just give Janice a call; she will gladly help with the planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After staying the first night of our trip at the Westin, we knew we would return, just not as quick as we did. We ended up spending the last two days in South Carolina, just so we could stay at the Westin, soaking up the luxury and ideal location in the heart of downtown Greenville. All the staff was very helpful, especially Jennifer at the front desk. She made us feel comfortable in a city new to us. The rooms were clean and the furnishings have a nice flair and feel. The bathrooms,large with marble floors, were nicely appointed. We are looking for an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: The only noise we heard was from the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z-FloridaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett (several times!) We were sincerely impressed that you changed your travel plans in order to spend two more days with us. Jennifer was told about your kind remarks and she was so happy to make you feel comfortable in a city that was new to you! We continuously update our guest rooms and we are pleased to hear that you approve of their style as well as condition. Since you became a “Greenville fan”, we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon; no excuse needed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night of our honeymoon to the USA. We were impressed with the hotel from start to finish. The location is amazing for the wonderful amenities of Greenville (which we absolutely loved), the valet parking and check-in were very efficient, and our room was well appointed. We would not hesitate to stay again if we ever return to Greenville (and I very much hope we do).

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Joe,
Congratulations on your marriage and thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Westin Poinsett for your honeymoon! Our bellmen and front desk agents were delighted to hear your nice comments. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our award winning city soon, maybe for your first anniversary? Our very best wishes to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at the fabulous Westin Poinsett in the heart of downtown Greenville. We visited our son and future daughter in-law as we were working on wedding planning for their wedding next September. Mike Graves, new F&B Manager, was our "host" this weekend as he and our son are close friends. He single handedly made sure the weekend was perfect and the entire staff could not have been nicer toward us during our stay. We met with Kelly, the Westin Poinsett Wedding Director, who was also very helpful! We will certainly have a block of rooms for our son's wedding at the Westin during the wedding weekend as we know the staff and hotel are a perfect fit for us, our family and our friends. We could not say enough great things about this hotel, you would not be disappointed if you stay here. Thanks again Mike and Westin team, we look forward to seeing yall again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Carol,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Westin Poinsett! We are so excited our staff has already made you feel like part of our family here! Kelley Moore our wedding Director is ready to help you and your future in-laws plan for a block of rooms during the wedding festivities. Thank you for recognizing Mike Graves, our Food and Beverage Manager for being your caring “host”. Our entire staff will work hard to make sure your stay is perfect from start to finish! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing