We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional culinary tour”

Greenville History Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our selection of tours includes: $45pp At the Chef's Table culinary tour (3 hrs); walking; 5 restaurants $39pp Greenville BBQ Trail tour (2.25 hrs); driving; 3 restaurants $15pp Downtown Driving Tour (1 hr) $20pp Historic Neighborhoods & Architecture tour (1.5 hrs); driving $12 West End Walking tour (1 hr); walking $39 Greenville Breakfast tour (2 hrs); driving; 3 restaurants (coming summer 2017)
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional culinary tour”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We moved to Greenville early 2011 from France and this is the very first tour we did to discover Southern cuisine.
We thoroughly enjoyed it and were very impressed by it.
We loved the food and it was so interesting to be able to interact with the chefs themselves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Altea69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this Culinary Tour!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a wonderful food adventure.... from the history we learned, to meeting the chefs, to eating so much food that we were happy to be walking! There were six ladies in our group. The staff at each restaurant were ready and waiting for us. We spent about 1/2 hour in each restaurant. This was a very fun experience that I would highly recommend. Our guide was Sharon and she was fantastic!

I will definitely go back to these restaurants and try more dishes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CPA4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellent! Loved the information provided about the history of Greenville. Food was fantastic! Servings were larger than expected. I'd advise you not eat 24 hours before the tour because you are provided a lot of food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmgrossepointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, TN
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Another great tour by GHT!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Sharon: thank you! You guided us on a wonderful tour on a beautiful Spring day in Greenville. The food was amazing, the history lessons were interesting - what was incredible was that several of the restaurants weren't even open for business yet (we took the mid-day tour) yet they served us as if we were their favorite private party. We had a 12 year old with us and he cleaned his plate at every stop - surprising that we could get a kid to eat the diversity of foods on this tour but it was all so delicious.

We've taken food tours in other cities (two in Chicago) that were good, but this tour outdoes them all for the quality and quantity of the food and the personal friendly touch that our guide brought to the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so much fun!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the culinary tour! The food was delicious and John was a great guide. I learned so many new things about the history of Greenville that I had never heard even though I grew up there. I definitely recommend this tour to Greenville natives and tourists alike!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenville History Tours also viewed

 

Been to Greenville History Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing