We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bike Path”

GHS Swamp Rabbit Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.99*
and up
Greenville Segway Tour
Ranked #3 of 91 things to do in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Bike Path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I took the two hour drive early on a Sunday morning to Greenville this spring to ride the Swamp Rabbit Trail. We were going to start in Traveler's Rest, but there was a strong northerly wind forecasted that morning, so we decided to start into the wind and return with it. That turned out to be a good decision. We parked at Falls Park, downtown Greenville. This area is very nice, and was already bustling with activity at 9:30 on a cool Sunday morning.

We rode north to Traveler's Rest and returned to Greenville for lunch before returning home. This was about 22 miles. The trail was in great shape, paved the whole way. Trail users were considerate of each other and the traffic cleared out pretty quickly as we got past Furman University. The trail is well marked with 1/2 mile markers and 1/10 mile E911 stencils. Restroom locations are also well marked. We felt safe on the trail at all times, and enjoyed the ride. We are planing a return trip in the next few weeks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    95
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I'm so happy Greenville has the Swamp Rabbit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I run on the Swamp Rabbit weekly. It's a great trail - flat, paved, with .1 mi markers to track your pace. It connects downtown Greenville with Travelers Rest (both great destinations) and there are many cool stops along the way (especially the beautiful campus of Furman University, where a plethora of trails abound). There are also many geocaches located along the trail if you are into that! If you are a runner/biker/walker and visiting Greenville, you oughta check out the Swamp Rabbit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sburgess92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail for hiking or bike riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I love to pack a picnic lunch, load up the bikes and head for the Swamp Rabbit Trail. Sometimes we head towards Cleveland Park which takes you through the part of the artist district and Falls Park. Falls Park has been votes one of the top 10 prettiest park in the US. This section of the trail will be a bit busy but it is so worth it. And Cleveland Park is a quiet place to have your picnic or you can choose one of the dozens of restaurants along the way. There is more to see than you will have time for in one visit.
Or you can head north on the Swam Rabbit Trail and relax at one of several trail side restaurants or have your lunch at a picnic table on the Furman University Campus. The campus features a large lake with black swans. My favorite restaurant on the trail is the Swamp Rabbit Cafe and Grocery and Cafe at Williams Hardware Store. Both have outdoor seating so bring the dog.
You will have no problem finding restroom as the trail is well marked.
Sorry to say on occasion the trail does make the news because of criminal activity. So travel in pairs. There is a good police presents. I usually see them riding the trail on patrol, but stay aware of your surroundings. Don't let anyone engage you in an altercation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, SC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place to walk & Bike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is so nice to have this fabulous walking trail that goes from Falls Park to Travelers Rest. So many families are taking advantage of this city gem. It has added so much to lifestyle of Greenville.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walk, Bike or Skate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful trail, 13 miles one way to Travelers Rest, 9 miles to Furman University, both of which are great destinations! Stop and browse at the Swamp Rabbit Cafe en route, enjoy coffee lakeside at Furman, or go all the way to Travelers Rest and reward yourself with a quite swing by the trail to the Leopard Forest Cafe

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GHS Swamp Rabbit Trail also viewed

 

Been to GHS Swamp Rabbit Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing