We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Romantic”
Review of Coal Fired Bistro - CLOSED

Coal Fired Bistro
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 14
Description: Coal Fired Bistro is committed to providing fresh, local ingredients that are grown naturally and ecologically sound. We believe in the traditional Italian way of cooking, where one lets the flavor of the seasons shine through by simplicity of recipes but perfection in technique.
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love this place. They have the best wine selection and 1/2 price wines selection daily during the week. I call it my wine tasting experience. Everything is made from scratch and taste divine. I go here every chance I get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petite0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushton S, Manager at Coal Fired Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

petite0107, it's always a pleasure to welcome you! Thank you for sharing some kind words about us on TripAdvisor and for making every effort to join us often. Whenever you're craving another wine tasting, we hope you'll stop by!

Best wishes,
Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

My friend and I visited Coal Fired for a taste of their menu offerings. We were taken with the elegant atmosphere. Red roses on each table pop against the white table clothes and dark walls - very romantic! Wine drinkers will be impressed with their selection of offerings by the glass or bottle, and if you're up for a tasting adventure, grab a card from the bar and take advantage of the Enomatic machines that dispense a wide selection of reds and whites by the ounce. The dinner portions at Coal Fired are tremendous! We tried small bites of Linguine Cardinale (with rose lobster sauce and spinach), Scallops in sherry cream sauce with mushroom risotto, and the Veal Saltimbocca. They were all phenomenal dishes, cooked to perfection and packed with flavor. Their light and fluffy tiramisu and pistachio cheesecake shouldn't be missed. If you're looking for an attentive, delicious and blissful dining experience, make your reservations now!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GapCreekGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushton S, Manager at Coal Fired Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

dnslive, you certainly came to the right place for elegance! Thank you for joining us and exploring all we have to offer; it's clear you and your friend had a very enjoyable evening, and I'm happy to hear it. Whether you're enjoying a quiet romantic evening or celebrating a special occasion, we're the place to dine. I hope you'll keep us in mind for the next time you're dining out! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes,
Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were here for a nursing society meeting. They really went all out. We had an amazing antipasto! And our meal was delicious. The service was a bit slower, but that is sometimes to be expected with large parties (I believe we had almost 50) and I think they had another large group that same night. It was worth the wait!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushton S, Manager at Coal Fired Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Going all out is what we do best, Stephanie. Thank you and your group for dining with us! It was a pleasure to host you all. It's true that serving a larger group may cause some delays, but I hope it wasn't too much of an issue for you. It sounds like everything else was perfect, and I couldn't be happier to hear it. We'd love to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,
Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went here for dinner after hearing rave reviews about the new chef. Boy were the reviews right! From the house specialty meatballs, to the Seafood Bisque, to the catch of the day, our table could not have been more satisfied. Not to mention the specialty cocktails and the extremely knowledgeable staff. We can not wait to return to Coal Fired Bistro!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ads a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushton S, Manager at Coal Fired Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

What a pleasure to hear we exceeded your expectations! When everyone at your table is thrilled with their meal, we know we hit the mark. Thank you for making a point to stop by and give Chef Cribbin's menu a try. Stay tuned for seasonal menus and new additions throughout the year. Join us again soon and let us know what you think next time!

Best wishes,
Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have passed by this restaurant hundreds of time since we have moved to the area this summer and always said we needed to try it. This weekend we headed there to just have a drink and some appetizers. They have a very good wine selection by the glass and happy hour on Saturday was until 7 pm…..all wines by the glass were half off. We had the calamari, meatballs and carpaccio appetizers and they were all very good…..especially the carpaccio. Service was excellent and quick. They had a small jazz band playing which was nice and not to loud. The bar area has a few TVs so it is a good place to watch some sports and have a nice meal. The dining area looked beautiful and would be a good place to bring clients instead of going downtown. The menu includes pasta, fish, veal, chicken and steaks so there is a good variety of meals to pick from. I am excited to have finally visited this restaurant and look forward to having many more meals there. One last note, reservations are a good idea if you want to eat in the dining room. Some people at the bar wanted to get a table and the restaurant was fully booked. You can eat a full meal at the bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monica041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushton S, Manager at Coal Fired Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Monica041, it was our pleasure to welcome you. Thanks for making a point to stop in and see what we're all about! You picked a great time to join us and take advantage of our happy hour wine special and enjoy some live jazz too. We do our best to ensure our bar patrons get the same excellent service, but we'd love to hear what you think of our dining room. Join us again soon, and let us know what you think!

All the best,

Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coal Fired Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing