We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious fast Japanese food!”
Review of Joy of Tokyo

Joy of Tokyo
Ranked #208 of 906 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I would like to review several of their locations. I have recently visited their restaurant at 6220 N. Pleasantbug Dr and their location at 15 Pelham Rd, A.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Delicious fast Japanese food!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have been to walk in Japanese restaurants before but Joy of Tokyo is the best I have ever had! The food is consistent and the service is great. The owner/management are top notch. I highly recommend visiting any of their locations in the Greenville/Simpsonvlle area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolinalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Visited the one in cherrydale”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

my family and I walked in and the guy with black hair and black facial hair just starred at us. He didn't ask us what we wanted to order. The food prices are kinda high I mean jumbo shrimp are supposed to be big right??? Staff was kinda rude and food was average

Helpful?
Thank TheBull8666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Point, IA.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish we had one in our town”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The food is good/very good. The staff is friendly. I had the scallops and shrimp, it was very good and was tasty. The price was reasonable it was around $10. Worth the cost.

This place had a window where you could watch the cook prepare your meal. While we were eating he let down his guard and was eating an apple between orders. Not only was this unappetizing but unsanitary. The cook needs to remember he is on view and conduct himself as such. The dining room, very plain, but clean, is bused readily and ready for service. The customer has to pick up their own utensils in preparation for their "dinner plate" to be delivered to the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DTheiowachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, good portions”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I went for the first time.There was only one other table of customers. It didn't take long to get our food- maybe 10 minutes. The fried dumplings were overcooked, and the sauce was refrigerator cold. Soon the sauce was room temperature though before the appetizer got cold. The hibachi chicken and rice was tasty and plentiful- enough for two people. The tempura vegetables were also plentiful but had too much batter. The vegetables were cooked just right. The white sauce was good and thick, not watery like you see at other Japanese restaurants. I would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mscarol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quick and cheap”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Close to my office, and always very quick in and out service. Prices are the lowest around for decent Japanese food. Self service on the sauces, if you dine in which is nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joy of Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Joy of Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing