We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skid Marks”
Review of Grill Marks

Grill Marks
Ranked #15 of 906 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual, sophisticated dining atmosphere. Great music and an open air feel.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Skid Marks”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friends and I have renamed this restaurant to Skid Marks because you should skid to a stop before you go in there and get disappointed. Thought we would try something different, but it obviously wasn't meant to be. Got seated, drink orders and menus in a prompt manner and that's when the service changed. For 15 minutes we never saw our waitress. We said we would wait 5 more minutes and then "dip". Well, dip we did. No one even cared or said a word that we walked out. It wasn't that they were busy either. there were maybe 3 other tables occupied and it was 12:30pm in the afternoon. BTW, menu prices are very pricey and everything is ala carte. Perhaps it was best no one came back to our table. Doubt this place will last long. Very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BufferdooAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    218
    89
    33
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Right across the street from our hotel, so we stopped in for a burger for lunch. Good call! They offer a good variety of great burgers and serve their fries in a mini fryer basket. On some nights they have half off wine. Service was quite good also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodwinesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Grill Marks, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Not a good first impression!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We did not have a good first impression. Out of silverware, had to eat our appetizer with our fingers. Had to ask for napkins. Instead of dressing for the salad they gave us dip sauce and later realized and brought out ranch. We found a dirty diaper under the table - that the waitress threw away but then did not clean the floor - told us she would clean it when we left.
We will not eat here again. Food quality was okay. Only an apology, that they were sorry and would do better next time. No offer to discount. Staff was friendly but given our wait, price and our experience not impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loisandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, Manager at Grill Marks, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I am very sorry your experience at Grill Marks was not a pleasant one. We have high standards of service that were not met during your visit and will use your feedback to coach our associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just...So-So”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were looking for an outdoor spot to dine for a late lunch on a sunny Wednesday afternoon. Most of the places were closed for that in-between time---well after lunch and too early for dinner. Having read some decent reviews of this place, we decided to give it a try.

While the server was sweet but a little bit forgetful (how many times do we have to say yes, we'd like a drink refill?), the food was nothing to get excited about. We each ordered a burger which, at close to $10 per person, turned out to be just borderline-okay (and came with nothing else). The size of the burgers were pretty small; the plates overwhelmed them and were barren of anything else to even remotely make it look like we were getting something decent for our money. The burgers were a bit on the bland side, even though we'd each ordered cheese (pimento for him, brie for me) and mushrooms on them. The size was kinda puny, and frankly, we believe we grill them better on our own back-deck grill. The additional order of their so-called truffle-parmesan fat fries did nothing to make us like the place any more than we already didn't. The reviewer who previously stated the fat fries looked amazing clearly didn't see them well enough to judge, as ours were so mushy and undercooked they were almost inedible. Our likable female server would disappear for long periods of time, even though it was 3:30 in the afternoon and the place was empty.

Add in two sodas (that were flat), our bill came to a whopping $30 plus tip. In retrospect, maybe we should have just waited for dinnertime and gone someplace else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skelco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, Manager at Grill Marks, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will review your experience with the server and manager on duty to enure that our guests expectations are exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,006 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Really worked with our group”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

In trying to find a place that would take our group of 24 people, all restaurants in town didn't want to make a reservation. Grill Marks was the most amenable to working with us, and they did a super job. Got us all in in a timely manner. Great menu with enough variety to keep ages 5-85 happy. Attentive and friendly service. By all accounts the food was great, and overall an excellent experience. Crowded - but worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, Manager at Grill Marks, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill Marks also viewed

 

Been to Grill Marks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing