We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STEMFest!”

Roper Mountain Science Center
Ranked #33 of 93 things to do in Greenville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Butterfly Adventure - June 13-July 8,Mon-Sat 9am-2pm,last ticket sold at 1pm,(closed July 4 & Sun). Encounter hundreds of butterflies up close and personal as they surround you in our new living Butterfly Adventure habitat. Interact with over a dozen species of butterflies and feed your favorite. See the stages from egg to emergence. Find out how wings work and other natural engineering feats in the Design Challenge. Enjoy creature crafts and games. Check out interactive STEM exhibits. See numerous educational displays. Get your souvenirs and snacks in the Gift Shop. Admission provides access to all featured exhibits and activities, including the Marine Lab with sting rays and sea creatures you can pet, the Ecology Lab with SC's wildlife habitats with live animals from the mountains to the sea, the Living History Farm's authentic buildings and gardens. Wander through the Farm, visit with the animals, feed baby lambs, try churning butter, and learn how our forefathers lived. Visitors may also walk the Nature Trails, enjoy the Arboretum, linger in the Butterfly Garden, or play in the treehouses and Wildwood.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“STEMFest!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The STEMFest second Saturday event was so much fun for the entire family! My children loved the hands on activities that incorporated science, technology, engineering, and math! I highly recommend attending the themed events each month!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LPepper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“An excellent place to visit”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Roper Mountain Science Center is great for a family visit. When my kids were younger they loved interacting with all the animals (snakes, turtles, spiders, plus the touch tank). Now I just come to enjoy the butterfly garden and the visit to the living history farm. Before going you should check out their web site because they usually have some seasonally oriented activities throughout the year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish this had more permanent interactive exhibits”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It can't compare to the exploratorium in San Francisco. But it couldn't hurt to try. Without a lot of people mining this place, it would not run. A true interactive science museum is self guided to encourage the kids to explore and discover mostly on their own.

Still ok for the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank madcap6808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd Saturday was fun!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The 2nd Saturday event was a Blueberry Festival. Even in the rain, we had a blast. My toddler got a ladybug painted on her arm, and enjoyed blueberry lemonade, and got to pet a horse and chinchilla. Fun times, good music, we will be back soon! Friday nights are "Starry Nights" events. Husband and I are thinking of having date night there to learn about the stars together!! Nothing better than inexpensive, romantic science! Ha!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EducatorMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“space adventure”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

After a day trip to Greenville our family decided to spend the evening among the stars. We arrived at Roper Mt around 6 pm. After parking in the lower lot, a bus shuttles the guest to the top of the mountain. The planatarium was very educational about the stars and galaxies. At the end of the film, a motion roller coaster on mars was the highlight of the show.You feel as though you are on the coaster riding in the dips and thrills. Afterwards, we walk over to the observatory and looked at a close up of the moon thru a large refractor telescope. The moon appeared so close, it seemed as though you could reach and grab it. The cost is $5 for adults and $4 for children under 15.What a FUN evening :O)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kuntrykruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roper Mountain Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Roper Mountain Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing