We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Theater”
Review of Warehouse Theatre

Warehouse Theatre
Ranked #37 of 93 things to do in Greenville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Warehouse Theatre is a professional theatre dedicated to theatre as a serious art form; to high-quality, diverse and challenging productions; to the training of theatre professionals; to community outreach; and to student education.HISTORY: Established in 1973, The Warehouse Theatre is in its 38th continuous season of Intense, Intimate and Unexpected productions of live theatre. A cornerstone of Greenville's Historic West End District, this award winning converted textile warehouse, is the home of fifteen (sometimes more) productions a year, including our Mainstage and Extras Series, The Upstate Shakespeare Festival at Falls Park, Resident Theatre Companies, Actors in Education program, Improv and MORE!At The Warehouse you can see the sort of theatre you can't see anywhere else in South Carolina's Upstate region...from re-envisioned classics and intense plays everyone knows to some of the most cutting edge new works you can buy tickets to. You'll find the finest mix of emerging talents, local professionals and artists from around the country...all are at the top of their game, and we want you to see their work.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Theater”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Paul Savas, Executive & Artistic Director has done a great job upgrading productions over a few short years. Good mix of standard and cutting edge theater. We like the reserve seating option.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bcancelliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,246 reviews
323 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“We saw "Laughter on the 23rd Floor", it was funny and fun”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I have gone to many of the shows at the Warehouse Theatre and enjoyed them all to different degrees. Let's remember their shows are performed by amateur actors and some are going to be better than others. What's important is we support our local community and attend these shows. Will the reviews be mixed, probably, so what. Enjoy an evening out at the theatre and eat downtown before the show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not very exciting!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I rated this theater as average because one of the performance we saw at Christmas time. Profanity doesn't offend me, but I thought the use of it was "over-the-top"...i.e., more than was necessary. The other performance was very demeaning to Vietnamese people and wasn't really funny. In fact, neither of them were, although I tried to find the humor in them. I was glad we had gotten one ticket free and only paid for one. Parking is very difficult; we had to walk a long way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Left Half way through”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had seen better high school presentations. Left after first act. We would not revisit in the future. Small seating area, but lousy presentation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NaCl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We went to the play "The Christmas that Almost Wasn't". The atmosphere was fun and the staff helpful and courteous. The play itself however was disappointing. Th show was billed as very child friendly and aimed at the younger audience. The whole show was sung in a style of prose though and my children found it hard to follow at times. Luckily it was short at 45 minutes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TTFrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warehouse Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Warehouse Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing