We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here while in town for our nephews wedding. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a wonderful breakfast with lots of choices including fresh fruit. The location was great for strolling down Main Street for shopping and plenty of restaurants to choose from. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear hoodla,

Thank you for taking the time write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for comments.

We would love fo you to stay with us again and please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance in the future!

Happy New Year

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    233
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
286
369
37
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I was lucky to stay at this hotel last week during the Christmas holidays - the location is perfect and the hotel staff is really great. Downtown Greenville is a great place, and the hotel is within walking distance of main street, the Reedy River Falls Park, and tons of great restaurants and bars. The hotel team was quick to recommend, provide directions, and offer service. Every person we encountered said hello. The only negative is a confusing parking garage, but it's really no big deal. The breakfast was always well stocked, and they had some additional items not usually seen on Hampton's breakfast - a big bowl of berries every morning, for example. I hope to stay here again next time I am in town!

Room Tip: Ask to face the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear kdt1972,

Thank you for sharing your exeprience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location and we appreciate your wonderful comments.

We would love for you to stay with us again soon should you return to Greenville. Please give us a call if we can be of assistance in making future reservations!

Happy New Year!

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
520 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

Got the top of the line suite with lovely views but really wish there had been a separate living area with comfy chairs. No comfy chairs at all. A very small sleeper sofa enough room for one. Our young adult daughter was with my husband and myself. Nice staff. Small lobby. Super small vanity and bathroom. Not acceptable for a higher end Hampton. Lovely views of the city, Paris mountain, and river from our balcony. Walk to restaurants and shops

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chichiSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear chichisouthcarolina,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how we are doing from the prespective of our guests.

We would love to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to Greenville. Please keep in mind our property does offer different types of suites, so if you need the separate living room area, be sure to book the circular suite! Again, thank you for feedback, it is much appreciated.

Happy New Year!

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I want to thank Brett Barbare for helping make our stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites downtown Greenville a great night! Very, very clean, great service, and perfect location. The staff makes sure every guest feels at home and makes sure you have anything that you need!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear AmyF,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property and glad I was able to help make your stay more enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next trip should you return to Greenville. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

my husband and i stayed at the hampton inn downtown and it is by far the nicest hotel i have stayed at in greenville. the staff was so helpful, the rooms were clean, and the views were amazing. we had a wonderful time and will be returning to the hampton inn on the river everytime we are in greenville.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear BeckyH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace and thank you for your comments.

We would love for you to stay with us again should you return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I want to thank Miguel and the rest of the Hampton staff for helping make a 46 year reunion of high school friends a great success. Our adjoining rooms were wonderful and we loved the location. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and very clean, spacious rooms!! We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear EmilyZ,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for compliments to Miguel and our staff!

We hope to have the opportunity to host your next high school reunion! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn this past weekend and must say that it was an excellent choice! Everything was perfect from the time I walked in the door and was greeted by the friendly staff, to the clean room. The staff made sure that you had everything that you needed, which made for a very pleasant stay. Everyone that I encountered on the staff was very friendly, outgoing, and knowledgable of the area. It is very centrally located, where you can walk to anything downtown. The view was very pretty, as well, of the downtown area and the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmiller922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
MkMiller922,

Thank you for taking the time share your experience with others here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments to our staff and glad you had such an enjoyable experience at our property!

We hope to have you back soon. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Barbare
Guest Service Manager
864-271-8700
b.barbare@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#12 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing