We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in a Fabulous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is right on the Reedy River, in a highly-sought-after location across from the Peace Center for the Performing Arts. With the revitalization of Downtown Greenville, the quality and quantity of restaurants and other venues within walking distance is amazing. The rooms are fine, the bedding is exquisite, and most of the views are inspiring. The staff in this hotel is four- or five-star, even though I'd give the hotel itself three. You could do far worse and pay more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Randy B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work really well as a team to make sure all of our guests have the most enjoyable stay while they are with us, and it is so nice to hear we were able to make your stay wonderful! Again, thank you for you review, and we look forward to having you with us again soon. Have a great evening!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

My second recent time staying here for a night out in downtown Greenville. I live 45 mins away and know there are a handful of great hotels downtown. Our decision to stay here again did not let us down. Being a Diamond member always comes with perks but the staff was very polite and seemed to really enjoy there job. The front desk let us have extra perks and upgraded us to a balcony before I even asked. It is worth the upgrade for balcony, if you enjoy those things. The breakfast was very clean and had a large variety of items. Even though the hotel is south on main st. it's closer to West End, it's walking distance to a variety of amazing things including great food( Lazy Goat, High Cotton, Larkins, Ricks, etc)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank My2Cents40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear My2Cents40,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Our staff works very hard as a team to make sure each guest has the most enjoyable stay possible. One thing that draws majority of our guests to our hotel is our location. We are right on the river, close to the river walk and also walking distance to all of the restaurants and shops downtown. It is nice for guests to not have to drive most places when they are here. Again, we appreciate your review, and we look forward to having you back with us again soon. Have a great day!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed there our wedding night and then again this past weekend for our 1 year anniversary. Brett Barbare was very helpful to us as well. Thank you Brett for your hospitality and going far beyond my expectations to make our stay perfect. --K. Penland

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatiePenland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear KatiePenland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for your wedding and anniversary! We love to hear that guests continue to return to our hotel because of our accommodations and our staff. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you with us again soon. Have a great day!

Best regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I love this Hampton Inn. It is on the Reedy River, close to the park and falls, and within walking distance to our favorite restaurants. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. On our recent visit we especially enjoyed the fresh berries for breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Chrisynda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us while in Greenville. Many people love the fact that we are located right on the Reedy River because it is so convenient to walk to, especially guests who like to walk or run a lot. It is also a great view, especially if you stay in one of our riverview rooms. We have a few options of rooms where you will have a great view of the river! Also, I will have to agree with you that the berries for breakfast are the best! They are very fresh and always tasty. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write about our hotel, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I've stayed here several times on business and pleasure trips because it's just across the street from my local office. It is convenient to Greenville's fantastic downtown, including the Peace Center and both of Rick Erwin's fabulous restaurants. There are others, too, like High Cotton, Larkins on the River, Soby's, and Smoke on the Water. This has to be one of the franchise's best locations. It's well-built and well-maintained and the staff was friendly. The lobby is a little small but it's location on the Reedy River makes up for that entirely. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but it's also challenged by the nearby Marriott Courtyard of the same caliber.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Tommy L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is really nice to be located in the center of downtown near so many restaurants, shops and other attractions. The Reedy River is a great place to go walking or running, especially in the warmer months. Although we are a Hilton property, we still work very closely with the Courtyard Marriott Downtown as we are owned by the same hotel management company. Also, a lovely hotel! Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our hotel, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Have a wonderful evening!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

the hotel room was very comfortable. There are
so many good restaurants within walking distance
Roxanne and Betty were so kind and helpful at the breakfast bar.
Miguel was very helpful at the check in desk.
Manolo was so kind to deliver a pack and play for my granddaughter to use while they visited from Atlanta

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cec1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Cec1055,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay at during your visit to Greenville! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very closely as a team to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and feel at home while they are here. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

No complaints. Service, room, and stay were excellent.Greenville is a wonderful City. We will be back enjoyed the breakfast as well. Watch the UVa game on ESPN. Go wahoos! Glad is was available. Very easy access to downtown which was nice. The walking district is wonderful.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt_lew-GM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Cheri M,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to be so close to all the restaurants and shops in the downtown area as well as the river walk. Our guests really seem to enjoy that they can walk anywhere downtown. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We look forward to you staying with us again soon! Have a great evening!

Best Regards,
Kristin Graham
Front Desk Supervisor
k.graham@hospitalityamerica.com
(864) 271-8700

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#10 of 64 in Greenville
632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: £126 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing