We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Tignall,ga.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

location was on river and park. Loved main street. planning to come back will stay here again. The balcony was too small to put 2 chairs on but it did have a nice view of river and park. The exercise room was small but did have very up to date treadmills. The breakfast staff worked hard to make sure food was fresh and very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Shan52,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! We are delighted you enjoyed our lovely downtown location. Our centralized location is very convenient for our guests to be able to walk to Main St. and enjoy the delicious restaurants along the way. Thank you for your compliments to our breakfast staff. We have a phenomenal team who genuinely enjoy taking great care of our guests, and I am always happy to pass along generous compliments such as these.

We are looking forward to having you back with us soon! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    238
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
295
393
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family of 4 just returned from a week on the road. This was our favorite hotel of the week. The hotel is located in Riverplace, a great newer development of restaurants and galleries in a park-like setting on the river. If you like to walk or jog, you will love the several mile paved trail that passes right by the hotel and follows the river. The hotel is also a very short walk to Greenville's Main Street with all of its shops, cafes, and restaurants.

In terms of the hotel itself, it feels very new. Our room was spotless. The beds are very comfortable and our room was very quiet. The breakfast seating area is nice and sunny. Although breakfast seating looks a little small, there was always at least one open table while we were eating so it seemed adequate. And my kids favorite feature -- there were warm cookies on check-in. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Living_outdoors_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear living_outdoors_,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to Greenville. We are so pleased to hear we were your favorite hotel during your week of traveling! Thank you for mentioning our spotless rooms, our super comfy beds, and of our course our delicious afternoon cookies! We can't wait to have you back with us again soon. Please give us a call if we can assist you in making future reservations. Thanks again for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitaliatyamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here (2 couples) when we went to Greenville 3-24 through 3-26-2014 to experience the FIRST ANNUAL Greenville Small Plates Crawl at 24 participating restaurants in the area. Many were along N. Main and S. Main... or on side streets near Main in the historic downtown development area. The Hampton is in an ideal location for walking and exploring this eclectic area... many shops and restaurants of interest. The scenery along the river and footbridge across it are pleasant and relaxing... good place to take a few quiet moments to stroll, read or just relax. The Hampton is adjacent to an underground parking garage (very convenient) which costs $6 per day with an unlimited access pass charged to the room... or valet parking for $15/day is available as well.

The hotel is undergoing renovation during the daytime hours... it is nearing an end with well over half of the renovation completed. Rooms are CLEAN, quite comfy, & feel almost spacious. In addition to the tv & gaming system, rooms feature a microwave and small refrigerator. Beds are very comfortable. Based on the room I had, I'd guess that the suites are also very well appointed, even if NOT luxurious. After all this is a Hampton, not a Hilton. There was a small fitness room on the 2nd floor... weights, an elliptical, and 2 treadmills. New equipment and well kept.

We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful... responsive to our requests. The morning breakfast offerings were quite sufficient (several EVEN VERY TASTY) & attendantS kept the area clean and well stocked. Chafing dish offerings vary daily(eggs, sausage or bacon, hot biscuits), hot oatmeal, make-your-own waffles (2 good waffle makers), assorted breads & bagels/English muffins (excellent toaster), assorted pastries, cereals, several fruit selections, tomato & orange juices, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, assorted teas & hot chocolate, regular coffee, robust regular coffee, and decaf coffee. THIS COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST is well worth the effort to get up early enough to make a waffle (2 1/2 minutes) and enjoy!

Room service for the Hampton-Riverplace is provided by an adjacent Mediterranean restaurant... The Lazy Goat.

THANK GOODNESS South Carolina officials are not wacko like those in NC where (only a few mile up the interstate in Hendersonville) hotels with a complimentary breakfast MUST SERVE everything prepackaged in sterile tamperproof packages! AND heating the "hot breakfast" is ONLY by using much abused microwaves! YUCK! This RIDICULOUS "NC health" policy may have changed, but my stay there last year was sufficient to drive me to the nearest Cracker Barrel because the complimentary breakfast was not worthy of any compliments!

Overall convenience of this location downtown and amenities offered make this Hampton Inn an ideal choice in downtown Greenville... we will return again and AGAIN. Looking forward to the SECOND ANNUAL Greenville Small Plates Crawl, too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear grantg2,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your detailed review and thank you for all of your wonderful comments regarding our staff, location, breakfast, and amenities. Thank you for mentioning our renovation. We are excited to announce all rooms have been completed and every guest room is updated with brand new mattresses, carpet, paint, decor, etc.!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future or next year for the Small Plates Crawl! Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for your fantastic review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was the only hotel we could find with queen sized beds. A group of us go to Greenville every March for a convention. We always stay here. It's very clean. The staff is accommodating and friendly. It's perfectly located to walk to everything in the beautiful downtown Greenville area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Camilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Camilla P,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to Greenville! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our lovely downtown location. Our centralized location makes it super easy for our guests to walk around the area and enjoy the great things Greenville has to offer; I'm happy to hear that was the case for you!

We can't wait to have you back with us again next year for the March convention. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hopsitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great place to stay. Rooms where comfortable and clean. The location of the hotel is on the river at Falls Park so senic walking to relax is steps away. As well as all the great places to eat on historical Main street just minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Bruce A,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to the area! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized downtown location. Being in the heart of downtown, really makes it easy for our guests to take a nice stroll down the river walk and to enjoy the delicious restaurants. I am pleased to hear you were able to experience that as well!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon! Please give us a call if we can assist you in making future reservations. Thanks for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Room had a king bed, business desk that is worthless, desk chair that is not comfortable, corner chair that also is not comfortable. Typical room that only offers a bed - too expensive ($200/night) for just a bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear John D,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. I am sorry to hear your stay was not fully to your satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning the desk and corner chairs. We are always trying to improve our product and the service we provide to our guests. In doing so, we have recently updated all of our guest rooms with brand new desk and corner chairs, paint, carpet, etc. We hope the next time you are in the area you will be able to check out these brand new features!

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance. Thanks again for your feedback!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

$300.00+ per night for a Hampton, come on. The fitness center is very small, no indoor pool, $6.00 for self parking in a garage. The staff have always acted like they were at a five star hotel, instead of a Hampton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Bruce L,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see how are doing from your perspective. With regards to rate, we have researched our market and are competitively priced with other downtown hotels. Thank you so much for complimenting our hotel staff! It is always our #1 goal to make sure each and every guest has enjoyable experience while with us.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing