We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Friendly Staff, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Friendly Staff, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for one night in May on a short road trip from Atlanta. We had been through Greenville once before, but had always wanted to come back and experience downtown on a nice spring day.

This hotel definitely was the right choice. The room was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly on arrival. They also gave us a quick call shortly after we got to our room to check and make sure we settled in OK and our room met our expectations.

The location was excellent! We were able to walk to several shops and restaurants. Downtown was easily accessible and was right next to the city's river walk.

I would stay here again and would recommend this to anyone looking for a quick getaway to experience downtown Greenville, South Carolina.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear ReviewerDave,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your quick family trip to Greenville! We are so happy you chose us and that you enjoyed our lovely centralized location. Being in the heart of downtown, is great for our guests to easily walk around the city and enjoy all the great things Greenville has to offer. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the shops and restaurants.

We can't wait to have you back with us again soon! Please reach out to me if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    245
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
298
402
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The entire experience from beginning to end was EXCELLENT!!!The staff in all capacities were friendly, knowledgeable and went the extra yard to make sure that our stay was an exceptional experience!!! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back when I am in Greenville, SC again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ella R,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! We are so delighted to hear you had an excellent experience during your recent trip to Greenville. Our entire staff takes great pride in what they do and are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure guest satisfaction. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our team.

Thanks again for your review. We can't wait to have you back soon!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is the most incredibly amazing place ever. The views are out of this world and the rooms are neat and clean. The staff were all very nice and helpful. It is in a very convenient location to downtown. It is even walking distance to the baseball stadium and West End restuartants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Angela T,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially the wonderful views. We appreciate your compliments to our staff. Our team does an excellent job in making sure our guests have the best experience possible.

We hope to have you back with us again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever assist you in the future. Thanks for your review!

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location, excellent staff, breakfast and clean. Beware the ice machine versus room location - NOISY - even if located 8-10 rooms away since the machine is not located behind closed door. Used all hours of the night. Otherwise an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mark L,

Thank for sharing your experience on the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff, cleanliness, and wonderful breakfast buffet! Our entire team takes great pride in making sure our guests have the best experience possible. With that being said, on behalf of the entire team, we sincerely apologize for the noise coming from the ice machine. If there is anything we can do to make this up to you, please contact me directly. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you should you return to Greenville. Thanks for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianola, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went there for business in the Greenville area. Really enjoyed the downtown area and culture. Understand the room should demand a premium rate for the location but is no way worth the prices they want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Cody M,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. We are pleased you enjoyed our centralized location. Being in the heart of downtown is great for our guests to easily walk around and enjoy all the great things Greenville has to offer.

Thank you for your feedback regarding rates. Due to our downtown location being in such close proximity to a myriad of event venues, our rates fluctuate depending upon what’s occurring in the city and we are comparable to other downtown hotels.

We hope if you are ever traveling back to Greenville, you will consider us for any of your lodging needs. Thanks again for staying with us and if I can be of assistance in the future, please contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great stay during our business trip. Staff is exceptionally nice and helpful. Would prefer glass ware rather than paper cups for coffee in the room. Also, breakfast would be better if served in glass and not paper plates with plastic cutlery., The balcony room with view of the river was a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear ebee1,

Thank you for writing a review on the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! We are delighted you enjoyed our king studio suite with balcony overlooking the Reedy River; the views are spectacular! We appreciate your feedback regarding glassware. We would love to be able to offer glassware in the rooms and in the breakfast area, however, we are unable to do so since this is against Hilton brand standards.

Again, thank you for your feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future, should your travels return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel and was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and professionalism of the staff. The cleaning staff went out of their way to ensure satisfaction with the room (the staff knocked on my door to confirm that I was satisfied with the room and to see if I needed anything). The front desk representative also contacted me by phone to ensure I was comfortable in the room. The staff that puts out fresh coffee and breakfast did a great job and really cared about the presentation, etc. The gentlemen that stood outside for valet were so friendly and helpful when asked directions and insight into good restaurants. Really impressed with the hotel. Will definitely come back next month when I return for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear DarlaTo,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful compliments to our entire hotel staff. As a team, we are always striving to ensure our guests have the best experience possible. I am always happy to pass along comments to our staff such as yours. We can't wait to have you back with us again on your next business trip! If i can assist you in making future reservations, please contact me directly.

Thanks for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing