We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FRONT DESK STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT FRONT DESK STAFF”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

STAYED AT THE PROPERTY BACK IN APRIL FOR A LITTLE GET AWAY WITH MY WIFE AND THERE WAS A GREAT GUY AT THE DESK BY THE NAME OF TAMARCUS HE WENT OVER AND BEYOND TO MAKE MY GIRLFRIEND VERY HAPPY. WHEN WE CAME BACK IN AFTER VIEWING THE CITY the young man has a very good head on his shoulder and has alot of potential and loves what he does.. tamarcus is what i like when i come visit hotels because he will make the worst day the best day i will deffentily be coming back to the property and please let tamarcus know we enjoyed his conversation and the great hospitality and we hope to see him again

sincerly MR. Whiteside

Room Tip: Make sure you ask Tamarcus about things to do as couples and the great restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mike W,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! We appreciate your comments to Tamarcus. We are so lucky to have him part of our team and I will be sure to personally pass along your kind words. It is so nice to hear he took great care of you and your girlfriend during your visit.

We can't wait to have you back with us again soon! If I can ever be of assistance, please contact me directly. Thanks for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    231
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
281
361
36
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located in the heart of Greenville, this location along the Reedy River has access to all of the beauty Greenville has to offer. Certain rooms face the river with balconies and at the right time in the warmer months provides a spectacular view of the events along the Riverwalk. Clean, friendly and convenient to local restaurants and venues, multiple experiences await you within walking distance. Book early as their rates can be like no other Hampton you have visited.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimentoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear alimentoD,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to the Greenville area! We are happy you enjoyed our centralized downtown location. Guests really enjoy being able to experience all the great things downtown has to offer, all within walking distance.

We hope to host your next visit should you return to Greenville. Please contact me directly if I ever be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Planning a pleasure trip to Greenville South Carolina?

The Hampton Inn & Suites downtown at Riverplace is the best choice. Within walking distance of everything in downtown and the prices are great.

And yes, there is a catch. If you want the best views of the city, spend the extra money and stay in one of the Suites. It is well worth it!!! And still it is very reasonable.

I'm sure you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites with a balcony. Although beware....you are on the river across from the Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear FlashNJ,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace for your recent trip to Greenville! We are pleased you enjoyed our centralized location and our lovely studio suite overlooking the river. The views are wonderful and they can't be beat.

We hope to have you back with us again should your travels return to the Greenville area. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can assist you in making future reservations.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hampton Inn Downtown Greenville is a perfect place to stay that is located in the heart of it all! We love staying there when visiting because we can walk everywhere, get the complimentary breakfast in the morning, and the complimentary internet access...it's all so convenient! The hotel is extremely clean and very well maintained, with great views of the river and downtown area. The staff there are incredible and will take care any needs/requests that you have...and always greet you with a smile when doing so. Such a charming property that we will always choose to stay at when visiting...it's perfect and always makes our visits to Greenville more enjoyable!

Room Tip: Choose a King Suite Balcony room that overlooks the TD Stage and the river. When they have concerts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ashley V,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer! Our breakfast buffet is so delicious and the free internet is always an added bonus for our guests. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. It is always nice to pass along comments such as these.

We can't wait to host your next trip. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please contact me directly. Thanks again for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville SC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly and helpful staff at all hours, great location within walking distance of excellent restaurants and shops, quiet air conditioner / heater which is great if you're a light sleeper like me, nice complementary breakfast (could use more protein and less carbs), comfortable lobby with printers for boarding passes etc. A little pricey, but worth it when someone else is footing the bill, LOL. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Riverplace! Our entire hotel team is constantly striving to provide you with an excellent hotel experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your time in downtown Greenville.

We are looking forward to serving you again soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance. Thanks for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In real estate, "location, location, location" determines the value of the property. Apparently, this Hampton Inn decided that since they had a prime location, nothing else mattered. It is a very modern, very good-looking hotel - well decorated with comfortable furnishings. But it's like lipstick on a pig - dressing it up to make it look pretty, but providing a substandard experience.

If you read my many other reviews, you will see that I am not only fair and balanced but usually cut properties a lot of slack for items that other reviewers have slammed; I never expect perfection or a "home" experience when travelling, unless I am paying megabucks. This Hampton Inn gets none of that benefit of the doubt.

It went downhill from the moment we saw the hotel from a block away. There is a discreet sign, but no indication of where the front door/lobby is, or where parking may be had, and the area where the sign is fronts what appears to be, from the street, a dead-end courtyard. We drove around the block once and saw a number of pay-for-parking lots, but I couldn't imagine that the hotel didn't provide a parking lot, so we came back around and turned in at the sign. As it turned out, there was an underground parking garage accessible from the courtyard, but absolutely no sign or directional arrows indicating that. As a result, some people in our party parked outside of the hotel and paid for their parking, and dragged their luggage through the streets.

Once we were in the garage, we again could not find any signage pointing to the lobby. We dangerously walked up the ramp we'd just driven down. It turned out that there were elevators, but in a different area of the garage from where we parked. Without wandering around aimlessly, there was nothing to tell us that.

I did complain about this lack of direction/signage at check in and the clerk said she'd "tell the manager" of our concerns. We received our room keys and went upstairs, but they didn't work. A housekeeper let us in.

So now, we've been there 30 minutes and are already frustrated. Then there's the room thermostat, so complicated that they give you printed directions upon check in. We never really got it regulated our entire stay.

The coup de grace, though, was the shower. I have stayed at summer camp in the woods with better water pressure. There literally was not enough water to get the shampoo out of my hair. The shower head had a Waterpik attachment, and no matter what I did to it, the water was a dribble. When you are paying $200/night (after they add all the taxes, a $179 room was $209) you expect, at a minimum, a decent place to sleep and shower. The bed was fine, but the shower at any roadside motel for $49 is better than this.

The management surely knows about this problem; it was not confined to our room. We were there for a wedding and our group had a block of rooms, and every person in our group mentioned how pathetic it was. If they know and are doing nothing, what does that tell you about their concern for their guests?

I had never been to Greenville, and the city is lovely; this hotel's location is prime for enjoying it. But there are a couple others similarly situated, and if I ever go back, you can bet I'm choosing a different one. I think management should refund the stay of everyone in our wedding party who had to try to get ready for a wedding with a non-existent shower. I washed the soap out of my hair in the sink.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel that cares whether the bathrooms are functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uptowngirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptongsm, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear uptowngirl57,

I first would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We pride ourselves in delivering exceptional customer service and that goes for our front line staff and also management. The parking garage at this hotel is operated fully by the City of Greenville, which is true for all the downtown hotels. We have been spending countless hours in working with them to improve signage and their overall operation to ensure customer satisfaction. Our thermostats are state of the art "Green" thermostats that work the same as any other wall thermostat. We received the SC Green Hospitality award from SC DHEC for the convenience, operation, and overall effort to conserve energy while maintaining guest comfort. We try and educate our guests to the best of our ability so they are able to enjoy this amenity. We never received any complaints from anyone with the wedding party during or after their stay, and if so we would address accordingly. I have left you a message on your Trip Advisor account to contact me directly to speak on this matter. This will help me understand more specific details to ensure future guest satisfaction.

Thank you,

Matt Lew
General Manager
m.lew@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in April. We LOVED the location and the view from our balcony was beautiful!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We forgot a few things from home, and called the front desk at 11pm. They brought the items up right away. Our room was very nice and clean too!! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ally H,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace! You are right, our location is great and the views are wonderful. We are very proud of our centralized location as it is very convenient for our guests to easily walk by the Reedy River and enjoy delicious restaurants along the way. It is so nice to hear our staff took great care of you and I will be sure to pass along your compliments.

Thanks for your review! We hope to serve you again soon should your travels return to the Greenville area.

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Address: 171 Riverplace, Greenville, SC 29601-2579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in the heart of downtown's historic Westend District. An unparalleled variety of guestrooms ranging from studio balcony suites overlooking Falls Park to signature circular suites essential for those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown Hotel Greenville
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Greenville
Greenville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing