We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greenville Haywood(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WoodSpring Suites Greenville Central(Greenville)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
858
255
51
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
255
51
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverlazy goatgreat locationriver viewfalls parkriver placefresh berrieswest endwithin walking distancethe swamp rabbit trailmain streetbeautiful parkgreenville downtownrestaurants and shopshotel is locatedthe hotel staffself parking
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are used to a Hampton Inn, you'll find no surprises here.

The parking deck is slightly confusing. As you drive to where the valet is (yes, this Hampton has a valet) the entrance to self parking is just beyond the valet. Enter and head down to the gate. Pull a ticket and you're in the deck. You will need to take the elevator located in the middle of the deck to the top floor where the entrance to the hotel is. Drive around the deck and you will eventually see the Hampton Inn sign pointing to the right elevator. This is a city run garage, hence the confusion. Be aware there are multiple elevators so park near the right one. Or just use valet. I did not try it so I can't comment on the speed. But the valet was always staffed when I went by.

Once on the top floor on the deck elevator you can enter the hotel lobby, Check in was quick. You'll get an extra key to get you in and out of the parking deck. The key needs to be scanned a few times when exiting in order to lift the gate and I never got it to work when re-entering the deck so I just pulled another ticket and tossed it. If you can't get the gate to lift when leaving there is an intercom you can use and just give the person on the other end your last name and room number.

The elevator is fairly quick for a Hampton. We got a room looking onto the river and it was a great view. The room is a standard Hampton quality room. The HVAC noise was average and the room can get very cold on even the hottest days. The TV was high def with real high definition channels. Internet speed was good throughout the day.

The hotel is located next to the main downtown area with lots of shopping and restaurants. There is no need to get back into the car if you are just visiting downtown.

The breakfast is the standard Hampton fair with do-it-yourself waffles, pre-fab omelettes, sausage, fruit mix, yogurt and pastries. The lobby was very cold so bring something warm to wear if you are easily chilled.

You might see some very high prices when you book for this property. In fact, this was the most I've ever paid for a Hampton Inn. It is no different than any other Hampton Inn so don't expect anything nicer or of a high quality. Check out the prices on hotels closer to the downtown area to make sure the price is competitive. The price is my only real gripe with the hotel - besides the meat locker lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank W4ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear W4ATL,

Thank you for your very thorough review of our property! TripAdvisor is a wonderful tool for travelers to be able to gather honest information about a location prior to their arrival. The parking garage can provide difficulties. However, the city will be expanding the garage beginning the end of this month. This will add additional spots as well as upgrading the card readers to help eliminate the problems our guests (and other patrons) have while entering and exiting. I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel up to Hampton standard, as the Hampton Brand has high expectations for all of it's hotels. In regards to the rate, we stay very comparable to the other downtown hotels. Our location is a major part of our rate structure as our central location provides easy access to multiple restaurants and hot spots. Again, thank you for your detailed review our hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip into the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Regardless of your reason for your visit to Greenville, Hampton offers a great stay. The staff is outstanding; the facility is clean and the location is prime. Will be staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Angeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Angeline R,

Thank you for your review! We love taking care of our guests, regardless of their visit into town. Our property is able to accommodate any travel needs, whether for business or pleasure! I am glad that you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip into Greenville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you want to enjoy what downtown Greenville, SC has to offer, you should definitely consider staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites. The staff is very professional, caring, knowledgeable and friendly, and the facility is excellent. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Tom S,

Thank you for your review! Thank you also for the kind words regarding our staff and facility. We pride ourselves in delivering a wonderful experience for our guests as they come to experience our great city of Greenville. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is the most expensive in Downtown Greenville but the location can't be beat. Rooms are nice and clean. Bathroom has a walk in shower (no tub) which I like. Hotel is very clean. Very nice staff and extensive complimentary breakfast served from 6am until 10 am. Valet parking is reasonable. We felt safe walking to restaurants and to Flour Field.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Texas005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGreenville, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Texas005,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are more than happy to deliver top notch service and an outstanding product for our guests as we understand that our rates are different than a typical Hampton Inn. Our downtown location is ideal for walking to many events and restaurants. I am glad you were able to see the wonderful Fluor Field during your trip into Greenville! Thank you again for your comments and we hope to service you for your future ventures into Greenville!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I travel a lot and the location, amazing staff, and beautiful rooms make this absolutely amazing. I can walk pretty much everywhere when I check in, and don't need to miss a workout with the access to one of the best green/run/bike trails I have been able to run on (Swamp Rabbit Trail system). Walk 10 steps or 10 blocks and there are excellent places to eat all over.


They sell out fast, so if you know you are going to be in the area book your room ASAP!

Room Tip: Spring for a balcony on the canal if you can - great views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPTONAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear orreo5859,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites RiverPlace. We are so happy to hear we are one of your favorite Hamptons! Our centralized location is great for our guests to experience all the great things Greenville has to offer. The Swamp Rabbit trail is safe and enjoyable for a jog or a relaxing stroll down to Falls Park. We glad you had wonderful experience and can't wait to have you back with us again soon.

Thank you for your review!

Best Regards,

Brett Flowers
Assistant General Manager
864-271-8700
b.flowers@hospitalityamerica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews